We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fun Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BeachHorses

BeachHorses
Ranked #3 of 29 Tours in Bradenton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is one of the few place in Florida where you can legally ride your horse on a beach. The calm waters and flat sandy bottom of Palma Sola Bay make it possible to ride on a horse that is swimming. This is the birthplace of Horse Surfing™. Horseback riding on the beach, swimming with horses, and Horse Skiing™ . Reservations required.
Dade City, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Everyone has a guide. One guide to each horse and rider. They are with you at all times. Since I am an experienced rider, my guide did not lead me. The best part was in the water. I loved the Horse Surfing!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank heidimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    28
    5
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Real Sea Horses!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

If you want to have fun in the water with a horse, this event is for you. We had a great time. There is one guide for each rider. The guides enter the water with you and help with the horse skiing and horse surfing. It's great fun being on the horse while he is swimming. The horses really seem to enjoy themselves. All the water events seem very safe. The rides are correlated with low tide in the bay. We saw a dolphin in the water and a lot of small crabs scattering about in the sand. Guides were all very helpful and very nice. Bring your camera.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank FlyTahiti27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The horse surfing was amazing best bit was when the horses were racing in the water with us on their backs. Went with my 3 children (16,10,8) none of whom have a lot of horse riding experience , and my husband who has none but we were all fine and the guides were great with the children. Never heard of doing this anywhere else so if you are in the area go!

Helpful?
Thank Katy071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everyone single person in your family regardless of age will love this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We visited the crew at Beachhorses.com on Friday July 29th. Six of us were together in our family, with children aged 6, 9, 13 and 15. Every person had a guide that was both patient, informative and also let you go at your own pace on the horse. The little kids had their horses walk, while the teenagers had their horses canter. After the 1 mile ride, we all went out into the inlet where the horses walked until they were up to their chests! The kids couldn't believe it! Then it was time for horse surfing (standing on the horse while it walks through the water - very hard and you will crack up trying to do this!) and also horse skiing (hanging onto the thickest part of the horse tail and going for a ride while it canters in the deep water). The last exciting event was riding on the horses while they swam (their feet are NOT touching the ground) -- what a rush!! Our guides were fun, full of energy, helpful and friendly. Safety was their number one concern, as well as ensuring we had lots of great memories to share. You will want to plan this as part of your vacation -- my family will be talking about it for years to come! We brought $20 cash for each of the guides to give as a tip -- they deserved that and more for the work they did on our behalf.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MerBearTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

It was absolutely amazing BUT - the horses were very thin and ribby. Looked like they needed some more grain & hay...

Helpful?
Thank gymverb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BeachHorses also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to BeachHorses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing