We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous location: trees, birds, bats and wonderful pies”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hereford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fabulous location: trees, birds, bats and wonderful pies”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We had stayed here twice previously in winter. Winter has its charm (crisp days and nights, snow on one occasion, fires in the great room), but summer was wonderful. This is a premier wildlife viewing area. The hostess puts out over a dozen hummingbird feeders and also many seed or suet feeders. One lounges under the large, shady, beamed porch, and views the frenetic activity at about a dozen feeders at a time. Take a half-mile stroll through the adjacent Nature Conservancy property, containing more feeders, exhibits, wetland reconstruction and historic cabins. Get your heart racing when you climb the switch-backs into the extensive trail system of the Miller Wilderness Area. You have just earned your piece of fresh pie made daily on the premises all from scratch by your pie-award-winning hostess. We also liked to have a glass of wine out on our private balcony overlooking the stream, more feeders, a huge California Redwood, and a peach tree (which contributed its fruit to our latest pie treat). The hummingbird feeders are usually covered by bags nightly to prevent the liquid from being consumed by bats, but we wanted to see the bats, so our hosts left them off. On that night, we were amazed to watch the bats flocking to the feeder just outside the dining room window. We took photos from only a few feet away (see below). Then we toddled off to our very quiet, comfortable room. The wildlife is wonderful, but so was our host. We plan on coming back again and again. We cannot get enough.

Room Tip: Two rooms in the main house have private balconies. Ours (eastern) was larger and had better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mathew_brady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    18
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
70
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Yes, I would stay there again, although the key lime pie was a little disappointing. I had hoped for something a little more homemade tasting. The half and half for the afternoon tea was curdled. Breakfast was ok, but could have had a little something extra like a muffin. Really the reason to stay here is the chance for Berylline and White-eared Hummingbirds. If you are planning to visit Ramsey Canyon Preserve right next door, be sure to find out when the Preserve is closed. We got there on a Tuesday hoping to stroll in the Preserve, and alas it was closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays now.
Sitting on the porch in the evening and listening to the Northern Pygmy Owl was great!

Room Tip: We got the lowest priced room which was very pleasant but a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birdwatcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed three days at RCI. The rooms are comfortable, quiet, well maintained, and the breakfasts are "over the top" good. Baked pie every PM helped also.
There are plenty of outdoor activities available in Ramsey Canyon, and other attractions are just a short drive away. Hummingbirds and other birds are plentiful.
We are already planning another trip.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tecolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2010

My husband and I spent our 20th anniversary at Ramsey Canyon Inn, it is a magical place. The rooms are exquisite, the breakfast is amazing and the pies, well, I don't think there is a word to describe the pies. If you think your mom or grandma made the best pies wait until you try Shirlene's pies. We loved the canyon with all of the wildlife, especially the hummingbirds. There is a feeder on the window at the breakfast table and Shirlene calls off the hummers visiting the feeder while you are eating a superb breakfast. I read one of the earlier reviews and I have to say the Inn is in excellent shape, it is almost like brand new, there is plenty of lighting in the front of the B & B and Shirlene is the perfect hostess.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mound, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

My fiancee Michelle and I stayed in one of the cross-creek duplexes, where we cannot (unless by invite) partake of the breakfasts but can still sample those yummy pies. I absolutely recommend the duplexes, as we "did our own thing" with no thought as to time or place. We just relaxed, hiked, ate, napped and repeated for 8 luxurious days. Yes, the duplexes might come across as a tad spartan, but I am quite acceptable of the comfort and privacy available at the bed and breakfast. Contrary to any poster who has said the hosts were "rude," I have always found them cheery, helpful and eager to please. If I only knew more about the B+B business and had the available funds, I would buy this place in a heartbeat. Absolutely worth the trip, and can't wait until Michelle and I can make the trip again! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hereford
11.9 km away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
11.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 22 in Sierra Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
11.7 km away
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
#13 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
11.9 km away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
10.4 km away
Windemere Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 29 E Ramsey Canyon Rd, Hereford, AZ 85615-9613
Region: United States > Arizona > Hereford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price range (per night): $181 - $202
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For 28 years this nationally-acclaimed inn has been offering guest comfort & hospitality in a world-class setting. The Arizona Republic proclaimed Ramsey Canyon Inn to be one of the "Top 10 Bed & Breakfasts in Arizona" Bird watchers, hikers, athletes, nature lovers, history buffs and the romantic at heart, herald the inn as an upscale but inviting inn. At an elevation of 5500 feet in the Huachuca Mountains, Ramsey Canyon Inn is nestled in the world famous Ramsey Canyon birding area, just 80 miles southeast of Tucson.Ramsey Canyon Inn offers a peaceful retreat for those seeking to enjoy the wonders of nature right at their finger tips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ramsey Canyon Inn b&b
Ramsey Canyon Hotel Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing