We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time”
Review of Lake Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Casitas
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great time”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

ive been goin to casitas for 8 years and have never had a bad experience. i usually stay in "f" section but have also stayed in "e" and "b" sections. i have noticed that the negative comments come from people who stayed in the sections located more toward the back of the campground. i have driven by those and would not stay there either. pay a little more and stay in "a" through "f" and you'll have a great time

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cooter37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    26
    3
    10
    17
See reviews for
46
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chatsworth CA usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We just got back from camping here it was a good trip. It was fun for the kids at the water park. We also rent a 3 wheeler bike that was fun riding all around the campground. Our campsite was b 4 it was little small compair to all the other b and b site is right next to the water park which was good for the kids. you should bring spary for spider and other bugs.The bathrooms were gross but the the joy of camping I would just shower my son at the waterpark showers. other wise it was a fun trip I would go back here. The first night we were there the campsite next to us they stay up till 5 in the morning with loud music it did not bug us but it bug other people. Ranger did not do anything.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soccergirl105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Our family visited Lake Casitas for the first time for a two-night camping trip and we loved it. We had a large, shady site. When we arrived there was no picnic table but a Ranger was able to have one delivered ASAP. We spent a full day at the Water Adventure and loved every minute of it. It was exceptionally clean and well-maintained. The lifeguards and staff were as friendly and professional as can be and it was a good crowd. The park DOES sell out and I would reccomend buying tickets in advance and if not lining up 2 hours before the park opens to get tickets. Best $12 we've spent in a long time. Camping was good, the store was well-wtocked for any last minute needs and the Marina Cafe was reasonable priced and a good selection. The chemical toilets were about what you;d expect. We didn;t find them neglected at all and the campgrounds were at capacity. We were thrilled with our first experience. The one negative thing I can say is that there is NO enforcement of any noise rules at all and that was a big negative. We were up quite late the first night with techno music blaring and another night with drunk loud mouths who enjoyed hearing their voices. This could be easily remedied if the park wanted to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DFamily525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

On my third trip to Casitas I enjoyed my camping trip with seven other neighbors and their families. We all reserved a few months in advance and purposely picked dates during the week to avoid the masses. Other than the general store being closed we all had a great experience at Casitas. Our camp host at Fox was great and look forward to our next trip. JV

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samandelyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We made reservations 2 months in advance for one of the best grassy sites on the water in the park for Mother's Day weekend. When we arrived, we found our reserved site occupied by another RV. When my wife approached to inquire nicely to the people in our site, she was met by a drunken, tattooed man with an unleashed pit bull and a beer in his hand. He not only vulgarly abused her, but he also physically threatened her. The camp host who overheard the whole encounter and watched as this man and his pit bull chased us down the road as we were trying to leave did NOTHING! When we reported this abuse to the Park Ranger, again, NOTHING was done to fix the situation, and the abusive camper was allowed to stay in our reserved campsite, while we ended up in a dusty campsite, where we feared for our safety and the possibility of running into this crazy man again during the remainder of our stay, as well as not being assured we would even get a refund for the difference in site fees. We will never stay at Lake Casitas again, nor will we recommend it to any of our many RV friends.

Room Tip: Don't go to Lake Casitas Campground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Grasshopper2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
16.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
4.2 km away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
75 reviews
17.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
642 reviews
16.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
16.1 km away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Casitas

Property: Lake Casitas
Address: 11311 Santa Ana Rd, Ventura, CA 93001-9769
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ventura
Number of rooms: 415
Also Known As:
Lake Casitas Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing