We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Impressive Building!!

There is no entry fee. Unfortunately we visited on a weekend and tours of the school interior were... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Ron T
,
The Villages, Florida
A great historical experience

This US Park Service site commemorates one of the most inspiring -- and also desolating -- moments... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
E3697LFrobertl
Read all 1,061 reviews
  
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveller rating
802
213
36
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
802
213
36
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street visitor center the national park service civil rights gas station national guard american students historic place piece of history history lesson small museum beautiful building guided tour integration ranger courage visitors
Filter
Updating list...
1,002 - 1,007 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

While we lived through this period of history from afar, this display gave us incredible insight and information. The visual display is very good, but there is power in the audio. There are several audio stations where you sit and listen to the Little Rock Nine and others talk about their experiences at the time. Powerful stuff. This is not your normal Visitor Center. We were also able to go into Central High School. This 85 year old school is a beautiful building and a real monument for the history that played out there in the late '50's. A must see if you are in the area.

Date of experience: March 2012
2  Thank zimms4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was a teen living in N. Little Rock when the governor of Arkansas called in the National Guard. The city was in a turmoil. Some really ugly events took place but we grew from the experience. I took my son and his family to the Central High school and we walked the halls and visited the nearby museum. They live in the NE and only knew what they had read in text books. The experience brought it to life. Every person of every race could benefit from learning more about the "Central High Crisis" and the nine courageous young black teenagers who entered the school that fall of 1959.

Date of experience: August 2011
1  Thank CJanB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We just thought we'd drive by the historic high school, snap a pic and be off. But then we noticed the visitor's center catty corner across the street from the high school. It was well worth a visit. We stayed about an hour. The gift shop was well stocked too. The National Parks Service person on duty was excellent and gave us lots of interesting information about the era and this historic site.

Date of experience: March 2012
Thank Travelingal63126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This site does a remarkable job of interpreting the events and lasting significance of a local crisis and national turning point. Do not miss this chance to visit this well-done site. Having closed the place down one afternoon, we went back the next to learn more. I wish we had taken the guided tour of the school, too.

Thanks to a thorough oral history project, the voices of the Little Rock Nine narrate their own stories. I left with a palpable understanding of who these students were and what they and their families risked to have equal educational opportunities, the community members and organizations that both supported and opposed their convictions, and the century-old (at that time) tension between state and federal laws and customs that set up such a stalemate. I am moved to ponder, would I have been so brave as these students, their parents, and their supporters? What am I willing to fight for now? Any museum that can do that has masterfully bridged the past to the future in an extremely relevant way. Bravo, National Park Service.

Thank Cowsonarockyhillside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The visitor center is small, but the interpretation of the site is excellent. They have a lot of multimedia presentations that emphasize interaction, and the video and other media presentations are especially effective. I like how this visitor center fits the site. You learn about history in the center, and then you look out the window, walk the grounds, and see the school. It clearly creates a strong sense of connection between the past and the present -- that connection is more poignant when you visit the beautiful reflecting pool at Central High. And see that this school is an important part of Little Rock's contemporary educational system.

Thank Hansen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews