We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful lobby, tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #375 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Charlotte
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautiful lobby, tiny room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here over Presidents'Day weekend as part of a USAir packaged trip. My wife and I have stayed here several times before and always found their "cozy room" small but adequate.Perhaps it was because of the package deal, but this room was absolutely tiny.
We still enjoyed the rest of the hotel, particularly the bar/lobby area, and you can't beat the location. But be advised if you book a package deal. Also, at check-in they insisted we present a voucher (although we were clearly in their computer). As it turns out, we had a copy of the voucher, but I don't know what would have happened if we didn't.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerandPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your review. Our lobby bar is the best place to get a quick bite to eat or a cocktail before venturing out into the city. While some rooms can be very cozy, you cant beat our central location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,550
    3,049
    1,992
    1,048
    714
See reviews for
2,340
2,491
325
1,090
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We recently stayed at The Roosevelt Hotel for a quick 4-night visit to NYC. The first (Supreme King) room we were placed in was VERY small and did not even have a bureau in which to put our clothes. We immediately requested a different room and were moved to a much better option...nothing fancy, but clean and more spacious than many boutique hotels in the city... (must add, front desk "Alfredo" was very quick to move our room and do anything to insure we were very pleased with the second room.) All in all, a good location, beautiful lobby and decent (recently renovated) room. Drawbacks include small and dated bathroom, no in-room internet, tiny and out-of-date business center, and sub par concierge services. We booked this room for about $175 per night and feel that (compared to many NYC hotels) it was a nice hotel for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneecx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. Yes, Alfredo is a treasure and just one of our many helpful associates. We look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here for my brother-in-law's wedding. The venue is beautiful and the ambiance in the lobby brings you back to another time (in a good way). The hotel room was small (closet in the bathroom was a little weird) but nice and clean. The hallways need some updating but it seems that they are in the process of doing so now. My in-laws were staying in a one bedroom suite which was way bigger and much nicer. If you can afford it, try to stay in the presidential suite. It is amazing! This is where my sister-in-law was staying and where we were getting ready for the wedding. It has 2 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms! A kitchen, a dining room, a living room, and a service entrance! The room is impeccable! Service could have been better. I forgot my toothpaste and it took them almost an hour to bring some up to my room. Same for the following day when we asked them to bring a steamer up to the bride's room. In general I'd say the pros outweighed the cons. It's in a great central location and very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellablu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. So happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasiiia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our last trip to New York we found a good rate (Wifi and Breakfast included) at Roosevelt. The early check in was not possible due a sold out period. The room was 18th and I understood all complaints about the hot temperature and think I found an issue, the air conditioning machine work well, but there's a problem with the curtains just below the air ducts. I just repositioned the curtains and problem solved. The best of this Hotel is the location and the staff that's is wonderful. The Full Breakfast was very good. The only one complain is about the in room safe not wall mounted.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marciobrasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel back in January. Supposedly the hotel is under renovation. I stayed in a room that wasn't renovated, was quite dated in fact. The smell in the room was musty, the gym was ancient. Overall the hotel does not deserve at 4 star rating. The location, however is excellent. I stay in New York every 2 weeks at 4 star hotels and I can tell you that this one does not compare favorably.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. The Roosevelt Hotel room renovations are on schedule to be finished by March 1, 2012. Again, thank you and hope you will consider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,464 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,831 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#314 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,230 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,805 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $261 - $579
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing