We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for ex-NewYorkers to spend a little family time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for ex-NewYorkers to spend a little family time”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great suite for a group of 4 to stay.
Perfect area for walking to and fro.
Went to adjacent restaurant( Bread and Tulip) on very rainy Friday night and were very pleased for the experience.Food was of very high quality and imagination and the dining room is very comfortable and warm.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG2648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,012
    583
    82
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,102
1,453
184
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

From the pre-stay welcome email to the departing taxi, we cannot really fault the Giraffe. We stayed in the Terrace Suite for a week, which had a separate sitting area with sofa bed for our teenage daughter. The beds were comfortable, the sheets of good quality, and the nightly chocolate a treat. The breakfast was so much more than hard boiled eggs and pastries, but also yoghurt, muesli/cereal, fresh fruit salad, bagels, variety of toasts, juice, and not bad coffee (comparatively speaking). To sit with an evening wine, cheeses, nuts and olives, was a pleasure after a hard day sightseeing. Walk across Madison Park to Eataly for dinner, or any other nearby dining. Finally, all staff were pleasant, helpful and thoroughly professional. We would certainly choose the Giraffe again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay with our 2 kids. We stayed in a room with 2 double beds. It was very clean and tidy, but the beds were hard. It is a bit out of the way ( we thought it was closer to Union Square ) but it is next to Eataly and Madison Park has a charming playground and the Shake Shack. I only gave it a 3 because the staff just didn't seem to know much about anything. We arrived late ( 11 a.m.) and needed dinner but the hotel staff didn't have one take out menu!!! They also didn't seem to know hoe to get tickets to a Knicks game, or much of anything else. Luckily, we have been to NYC many times so we can figure things out, but it's hard to imagine that front desk staff can be so unhelpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lggirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

we stayed here this time in NYC to be in walking distance to our daughter's apartment. Usually we stay in a Hilton chain concept as I am a gold member. I am used to their beds. This hotel caters to Europeans apparently as the beds were VERY firm/hard and I did not sleep well. My husband prefers this bed so he did well. It is nice to have breakfast in the lobby although other than hard boiled eggs it is standard continental fare, not the european breakfast of meat/cheese type - even so you save a lot of money that way. Happy hour with wine/cheese was nice at night and pianist was a nice touch - this is only during week though which is odd. One elevator was out during our stay for 3 days, and all we got was an apology- no room discount offered or anything - overall a 3, but not better than that

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingvolleyballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Hotel Giraffe is large enough to have ample amenitites and small enough to have an intimate ambiance. The king room is sizeable and well appointed with a balcony overlooking Park. Over the weekend there were two excelllent concierges who did not fail in securing us some fantastic restaurant recommendations. The complimentary breakfast and afternoon happy hour had a little something for everyone. One elevator was out of service and the other was temperamental, which were the only drawbacks to our experience. We plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,377 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $361 - $701
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing