We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
piggy91
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best hotel ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

i love this hotel. i loved the wine and cheese at 5. we went there during the blizzard in 2010. so when we came in and they got us dinner.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,833
    569
    80
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,027
1,375
179
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alva, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I had been to NYC on two different occasions and was looking for a place to stay on my honeymoon. I looked and looked with no luck when my travel agent suggested the Hotel Giraffe. So I decided to book this great little hotel for six nights and was not disappointed. My wife and I teach school for a living and are by no means wealthy, but for six nights we were treated like royalty. The people at this hotel were WONDERFUL!!!! I have NEVER stayed in a hotel that treated me as well as the folks at Hotel Giraffe. But the positives do not stop there. The rooms were very very clean. The rose petals on the bed and the wine and strawberries were a nice touch for this honeymoon couple. The only concern I had going in was there was not a hot breakfast, but the breakfast proved to be very very good, and I really enjoyed the free papers available to read at breakfast. The staff at breakfast was very nice as was all the staff, the cleaning crew, the maintenance crew ( I put my key by a credit card and couldn't get in my room the maintenance gentlemen went with me to the front desk to make sure I got another key) and the gentlemen working the door treat you like you are a kind. The view from my room, 907 was wonderful, I enjoyed the big french doors and the view they offered. This hotel needs to be rated number one in my book.

Room Tip: I asked for one on a higher floor with a view and got it. The view from the balcony was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HommerSpec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Hotel Giraffe is a very classy modern New York boutique hotel done in a French style. The interior is elegant and spotlessly clean. I like the location on West 26th Street and Park Avenue South because you are able to look out over a boulevard but enjoy peace and quiet in a somewhat residential area. (Madison Square Park is just a block away.) Also, the location is convenient if you wish to go further downtown but also if you wish to go to the theatre district or midtown. The staff is professional and unobtrusive. I thought the hotel rates were reasonable.

In short, I highly recommend this hotel as giving the perfect New York experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We just stayed here for the first time on 1/29/12. The hotel was in a good location but enough out of the way that there was not much noise or hustle and bustle so it was very relaxing. Check in/out was quick and easy. The room was beautiful. It was my birthday and the hotel gave us a free bottle of wine. The staff was very accommodating. There is a beautiful lobby with free refreshments and in the morning there was a complimentary breakfast. Our experience was very positive and I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again. And the price was reasonable for a nice hotel in NYC as well.

Room Tip: Balcony room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Hotel Giraffe was rated #5 of 432 hotels on Trip Advisor when we visited. And now I know why. The service: impeccable. The rooms: more spacious than most NYC hotel rooms, superbly clean, uniquely furnished and all the amenities you need. The beds: counting sheep not required. The location: perfectly set in between the north and south ends of Manhattan so you can quickly get to Soho or Times Square. The extras: free wifi, free breakfast and a concierge that makes magic happen. We called very late the evening before our departure and asked if it was at all possible to have a cab or car pick us up at 5:45 the next morning. They have partnered with a car service and not only was a vehicle waiting it was a full service limo - taxes, tip and tolls included for less than $80 to JFK. Highly highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaZeiher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $438 - $741
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing