We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,488)
Filter reviews
4,488 results
Traveller rating
2,355
1,656
339
80
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,355
1,656
339
80
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemetro grillbagelsthe empire state buildingtea and coffeepremier queen roomfree wine tastingnew yorkgreat hoteltimes squarecontinental breakfastfamily suiteset you up for the dayherald squarepenn stationthe penthousefresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 4,488 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

This is a very good hotel and very well priced. It's best feature is its location. Just a couple of hundred yards from Macy's and the Empire State building. It's a short walk to the theatres of Broadway and just a short walk on from that is Times Square. You can access the best of midtown easily from this hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated and ours was a good size with good facilities. Breakfast is continental, so no bacon and eggs, but they do have gluten free bread and cereals, should you need them. Staff are efficient but not the happy, smiley types you'll find in Florida. But most New Yorkers seemed to be like that. My big issue came upon leaving. I did my usual check under the beds for any dropped items and found quite a mess left from previous guests. So, note to housekeeping, clean what you can't see as well as what you can. The hotel is being refurbished in 2018, so that will give them chance to have a good clean up. The refurb made no difference to our stay, so is very wel managed. All in all a good hotel in a great location.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank svman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetroNYC, The Team at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello svman1000,
On behalf of the team, thank you for staying with us at Hotel Metro and for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we have taken notes on your comments. We are sorry that you did not find your entire room to be up to our usual high standards of cleanliness and appreciate you bringing it to our attention so that it can be fixed immediately. It's lovely to know you liked our continental breakfast. While what is offered varies from time to time, breakfast always has hot beverage, juice and breakfast breads; inclusion of the breakfast depends on the package and room type reserved, so we encourage guests to contact us to see if it qualifies. Thank you taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We only stayed one night as we were trying to save money and this was one of the cheaper hotels close to Times Square. We found the hotel after going to the wrong one with almost the same name around the corner. The lady on the desk was really nice no wait either, we were given our keys and told what time breakfast was (its free) bonus ! Plus we were told there was free wine if we gave a small tip to the person serving. We sat and had one glass before going to our room. We didn't have the best views only a brick wall but it didn't make any difference to us as we didn't go to the big apple to stay in a hotel room ! the beds were comfy and the room was really clean and warm it was February and freeing outside so very welcoming. The room also has a free safe so we felt happy we could lock our money and passports away while we were out. The bathroom was big enough with nice toiletries if you have forgotten to pack some. Breakfast was just enough to start the day, hot drinks, real orange juice, cereal, toast, bagels, cakes and some fruit. I would defo stay in this hotel again the second night of our stay we stayed in a nicer hotel but the Hotel Metro was closer to all the sites and I cannot see the point of wasting money when you spend so very little time in your room. The Hotel also has a gym and great views of the Empire State building on the roof terrace.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on flash hotels read reviews on here before you book.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank samantha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetroNYC, The Team at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello samantha b,
Thanks for taking the time to review your short stay with us. Our nightly wine reception continues to be offered through mid-April and is a completely complimentary amenity for all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 7 days at the beginning of March and it was fantastic. Free breakfast every morning with a great selection. The rooms were lovely with big comfy beds, and were cleaned daily to a high standard. The location is the best part, you're right in the centre of NYC so getting anywhere is a breeze (subway station less than a minutes walk away). Id definitely come back to stay here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank SliceOfAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetroNYC, The Team at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello SliceOfAlice,
Thank you for your kind words and review of your stay with us at Hotel Metro. We are delighted that you loved your comfy bed and our great location. Inclusion of our simple continental breakfast depends on the package and room type reserved, so we encourage guests to contact us to see if it qualifies - we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again with us soon. Thanks for the awesome review and recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Loved this Hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in value for money hotel. Great location, friendly staff. Breakfast included and wine tasting in the evening all make for a welcoming stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Navigator588971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetroNYC, The Team at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks for the amazing review and recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I felt welcome from the moment I walked into the reception. I was also lucky enough to arrive in time for the daily complimentary wine tasting, very nice. Oh, and on the subject of welcoming and complimentary, the soft drinks found in my fridge were both!

The room was decently sized for NYC and the bed was very comfortable. On the top floor there's a nice rooftop terrace, it was nice in the sun even if the weather was rather cold.

Breakfast was the typical - cereals, bagels, muffins, coffee/tea and juice. It was served in the lounge, so it didn't feel as crowded as some hotel breakfast rooms might feel.

Located on 35th Street it's close to everything (at least for me) and enough far away from the noisier area around Times Square. I didn't notice any noise at all from the street (could be I was on one of the higher floors).

I will definitely make this my first choice of hotel for my next trip to NYC!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anders W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetroNYC, The Team at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Anders W,
How lovely to hear that you felt so welcomed, our wonderful team works hard and your praise lets us know we're doing our job well! We are glad you like the rooftop and our location was close to everything that was important to you. The wine reception has been quite popular, and we plan to continue it through mid-April; we are happy you enjoyed it. Thanks for the nice review and we hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews