We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good located hotel”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #128 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very good located hotel”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed at Avalon for three nights in March. The hotel is excellent located. The Empire State Bld is in the close neighbourhood and you can easily walk to Times Square, Union Station, Penn Station etc. When we checked in they would give us a room with one king bed, with the explanation that that was according to our reservation. The personnell at the desk were at first not willing to accept that we had ordered a room with two beds, even if we showed them the voucher stating it clearly. They offered to make up the sofa-bed in the room and try to move us to another room the day after, if available. We were not willing to accept that, and after checking the booking system once again, a room with two beds was available after all! The room was on the 5th floor facing the back-yard, and surprisingly quiet to be situated in the middle of NYC. The room was spacious with two flat-screen TVs and the bathroom was ok, but both were in need of a refurbishment. Dark wallpaper and brown curtains made it very dark and the lightning was not sufficient. Our reservation was for a deluxe suite. I am sure our room was not in that category, but we did not bother to further argumentation. Plus for wooden floor in the room and for an extra fridge, since the mini-bar was was of the automatic type, in which you cannot move anything withoug being charged for it. Comfortable beds, a spacious wardrobe and a safe were also a plus. All-in-all we enjoyed staying at this hotel and will definitely consider to stay there again later.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190479Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear 190479Ann,

We are very sorry that your visit was not up to par with your expectations, or ours and that you did not have the room you had wanted. Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Avalon-- we are always aiming to improve our service and customer experience, and this will help us greatly. Please contact my office directly if you return to New York so that I can oversee your accommodations personally and provide a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    615
    143
    15
    12
See reviews for
466
617
46
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Dont quite understand a recent reviewer saying that the location of this hotel was not good?? About 60 yards east of 5th Avenue and about a 4 minute walk to Empire State building? Anyway.......stayed here in February 2012 for a 4 night break with my wife. My first time in New York and I loved every second of it!

Hotel was difficult to see when we were dropped off, but they now have a canopy fitted outside, so should be much easier to find. The hotel is really nice inside.......we asked for a high floor and we got this. Our room (1209) was a junior suite overlooking the rear of the hotel......not much to see on the streets below but a nice view at night through the gaps of the buildings opposite. Room had 2 double beds, which we would have normally pushed together to create a super king size, but a pole in the middle of the beds prevented this. Room had 2 flatscreen TV's on the wall and the room was huge (17 paces from room door to far window). Bathroom was a good size and shower and bath worked perfectly.

There was a mini bar (very expensive) in the room and also a small fridge, which didnt get very cool, but did the job. The down side of the hotel was that there was no communal bar area downstairs. Apparently it is under new management (and changed names from 'Vincci Avalon' to 'Avalon') so that might be the reason why. Interior decor of the hotel is very nice, especially on the higher floors - rooms are clean and spacious. All staff, especially door staff, (Wilson in particular) are very friendly and helpful. Free computers to use in a private area, near reception, is a nice touch.

In summary we really liked this hotel. IF they can keep the prices to what we paid this time, then there is no doubt that we would stay here again. Loved New York, and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigcraigScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear bigcraigScotland,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay at the Avalon. We are very glad that you and your wife enjoyed our location, and hope that you had the opportunity to explore all of the New York sights you had hoped to as a result. We will let Wilson know that he helped to make your stay a special one and hope that you'll return very soon! If you do plan another visit, please contact my office directly so that I can provide a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Tremendously beat up rooms, paint chipping everywhere, looking over a fire escape (perhaps a typical NYC hotel view), no hotel restaurant or bar, A/C does not get turned kn until legally required in Manahttan, so in 80 dgree weather last week heat only was available, indifferent staff, overall a real wast of money in a poor location.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear traveltoomuchToronto,

We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I value your comments and share this feedback with my associates. I regret you found so many issues lacking and I have looked into these matters personally. Please be assured this is not the level of service nor the standard of accommodation we are striving to deliver. I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.

Should your plans include a return to New York City, we would be honored if you consider the Avalon, and if you contact my office directly I would be happy to extend a complimentary upgrade.

With kind regards,

Michael Rawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#131 of 468 in New York City
3,306 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#151 of 468 in New York City
2,492 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#159 of 468 in New York City
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 468 in New York City
889 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#148 of 468 in New York City
993 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $270 - $706
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing