We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great value for money, great place to stay in New York!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
781 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Great location, great value for money, great place to stay in New York!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Located in Midtown, this hotel is perfectly situated to some of New York's most important landmarks. Just a few minutes walk from the Empire State Building, Macy's and Times Square.
The hotel is well appointed and has very decently furnished rooms for prices that are half that of comparable places in Manhatten.
The reception and house-keeping staff are exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The 17th Floor Suites have pretty good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear James B,

Thank you very much for sharing with us how much you enjoyed your stay at the Avalon. We are delighted that our location made it possible for you to enjoy New York to its fullest and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and experience with the staff. We’d very much like to have you again, so please contact my office directly if you decide to return to New York so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    595
    142
    13
    11
See reviews for
447
592
44
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Nice hotel, good value. I had problems with internet in my room but they fixed it. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grzegorz1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Grzegorz1983,

We really appreciate that you chose the Avalon for your visit, and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and your experience with the staff. Thank you for letting us know about your visit—we are currently in the process of upgrading the internet service so that it will be faster and more reliable. Please contact my office directly if you plan to return to New York, as I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coruña
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great hotel for walking around Midtown and close to Times Sq. By Empire State Building.
Close to subway.
The area is know as Korean and so are many of the restaurants in the area. Great for noodles and sushi!
Complimentary coffe
Helpfull staff

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracielas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Gracielas,

We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us all about your stay at the Avalon and letting us know what made it a great one. We are very happy that our location made it possible for you to explore New York and that you enjoyed your experience with the staff and the nearby destinations. Upon your next visit to New York, please contact my office directly so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay an even better one.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Huge room (especially coming from Ramada New Yorker closet sized room), wood floors instead of carpet was nice, good pillows and bedding. Slight downside was water pressure in the shower although the bathroom was very nice and spacious. Decor is slightly dated, but had a nice not too formal feel to it. Really enjoyed the area, had a great walk down to Eataly on Madison Square Park - very nice spot. Hotel was very quiet, and right near Heartland Brewery - had a great dinner there - amazing service and reasonable prices. Make sure to go up Empire State building at night it was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoaFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear LoaFinn,

Thank you very much for letting us know what you thought of your stay at the Avalon. We are so happy that you enjoyed our location, and that it gave you the chance to really explore the city. We very much appreciate that you chose the Avalon, and hope that you will return upon your next visit to New York-- please contact my office directly if you do so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We are a group of 4 college friends who spent MLK weekend at the Avalon. My sister and I shared a Queen suite and we were very appreciative to have the extra room. The extra space in the suite had a desk, sofa and chairs. We had some more friends visiting the city and the staff brought up extra chairs and ice. We especially want to thank Curtis, who was so very nice to us. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The location of the hotel was central to everything.

Room Tip: Book well in advance as the rooms go fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casamurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear casamurph,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay at the Avalon. We are very glad that you found your room to be spacious and that you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate that you chose the Avalon, and hope that you'll return very soon. If you do plan another visit, please contact my office directly as I would like to provide a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,210 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $332 - $714
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing