We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #133 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Americana hotel and was relieved when I arrived and the hotel was so nice inside, outside does not do it justice. Check in was easy and the staff were nice. My only moan about the whole stay was the size of the room i have never seen such a small room in my life!! It literally fit the bed and that was it. No where to hang any clothes and a mirror leant against a wall which took up unneccesary space. The metal corners of the bed came out further than the bed and I swear the first night I thought I had broke my toe as I caught it about 10 times not good for a week of walking about in new York! We also couldnt get round the side of bed to the safe as there was no room so had to lie on the bed and hang down to get into it. But the bathroom was big and shower was amazing. The bed was so comfy too and loved how we got so many pillows. After the first day after I learned to wear shoes in the room to avoid a broken foot and managed to manoeuvre round our 2 suitcases which had to stay packed for a week as there was simply no room to take anything out. The room was cleaned everyday and although we didn't come in contact with many staff the cleaners were friendly in passing and the couple of questions I asked the reception staff about new York they were happy to help. The location was amazing, 2 min walk from times square and about 10 mins from port authority bus station or subway. Would definatly stay again but would really hope for a room big enough to allow me to unpack.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucylou27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Lucylou27, thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it .We sincerely apologize if your room was on the smaller end. We have many room types that vary in size and depending on availability some rooms are not available when our guests check-in, but always offer room changes to any guest who wants a room move. Please do not let this discourage you from returning and in fact when you do return, we will offer you a complimentary upgrade, just contact us in advance to ensure this. We would be honored by your return, and look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,491
    1,892
    499
    117
    65
See reviews for
1,272
2,036
238
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have stayed at the Ameritania on 2 occassions and both have been great. Rooms with private bathrooms, not all in New York have them. Convenient to Times Square and Central Park. Its in Times Squsre and about 6 blocks to Central Park.
The rooms are great and clean. They are not large but you are in Manhattan.
The hotel is very classy and in the greatest part of the city.
The cruise ship ports are about 1/4 -1/2 mile away.
Great places to eat nearby: Pie Face on 52 and Broadway (different pies pot pies etc and baked goods) and Johns Pizza on 44th and 8th were my favorites.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Cory S, thank you so much for your feedback. Our location is indeed great and perfect for anyone visiting New York. There are many restaurants, attractions, and landmarks all within walking distance and since we are so central, many parts of the city are easily accessible via public transportation as well. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again. Please contact us directly to ensure optimal service.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This hotel is in a great location...on Broadway and 54th. It's a short walk from Times Square, Rockefellar, 5th Avenue, and Central Park. The rooms were on the small side but it was perfect for my anniversary get-away with my husband. It was very clean and the staff was nice and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToGo629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Lovetogo629, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear you had such a “great” stay, and appreciate you recommending our hotel. We would be honored by your return. Please contact us directly on your next visit so we can provide you with the best possible service.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Great rooms..comfortable sized
Great door men..especially Julian,..always helpful
Front desk staff extremely helpful to us and to others while we were waiting..their interactions were amazing..
Great value..great location..I have stayed in NYC numerous times..this has to be one of the best kept secrets in New York...
Amazing stay..
thanks so much

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Mike, thank YOU so much! Our staff genuinely enjoys helping people, and it’s wonderful to hear you had such a great experience with us. We would honored by your return! Please contact us directly to ensure optimal service.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Pros:
- It is a ten minute walk from Times Square
- The parking was cheaper than most other hotels I looked into. It was 25$ per night on a weekday and $30 on a weekend.
- It was recently renovated for everything was very neat and clean

Cons:
- The wireless internet is a separate charge of $10 per day
- The AC was quite loud

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphin2185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Dolphin2185, thank you so much for your concise and direct review. Your feedback is crucial for us to improve and we really appreciate you telling us the pros and cons of your stay. We plead you return and promise to make your next stay a con-free stay. Please contact us directly on your next visit to make good on that promise.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#74 of 467 in New York City
1,804 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,093 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#112 of 467 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 467 in New York City
4,541 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
6,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $191 - $489
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing