We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #201 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The location of this hotel is great - close to Central Park and Times Square and I felt safe walking back to the hotel on my own. The room was a good size, was clean and the shower was powerful.

Bad points - we were in the room 1 minute (we hadn't even found the light switch yet!) and we received a call trying to sell us timeshare. Despite politely explaining we were not interested, the same thing happened the next day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Lotusflower123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, General Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

When staying in NYC, staying in a centrally located hotel is extremely beneficial. The Manhattan Club is located at 200 West 56th Street between Broadway and Seventh Avenue in one of New York City’s most desirable locations and neighbors upon Central Park, Carnegie Hall, Rockefeller Center, the Broadway theater district and the worlds’ most desired shopping areas, Madison & Fifth Avenues. Please accept our apologies if a second call was made to your room regarding the time share tour, it is not our policy to make repeated requests to our guests to attend any presentation. We hope that the next time you are visiting the city, you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 797 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

We have stayed at the Manhattan Club on a number of occasions while visiting NYC. Although it is some type of timeshare is available we were just regular guests.

The big selling point is undoubtedly the location. A short walk to Times Square in one direction or Central Park in another direction. The metro is within a short walk also. There are plenty of food outlets and stores around the hotel area.

Rooms are not large but they are adequate for most visitors requiring a comfortable and safe location to visit the city. The room includes a small kitchenette with dining area suitable for light meals but nothing lavish. Beds were comfortable and cable TV is included. The bathroom is again small but ample for visitors.

The public rooms are nice and comfortable although there are more than enough bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Times Square and Central Park are just two of the many sites within walking distance of our hotel in New York City. The Manhattan Club is conveniently located in the heart of Manhattan, making access to all NYC's great attractions easy; we're thrilled you enjoyed this benefit. The next time you are in the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We went there due to a phone call with a very inviting offer. Our room apparently was one of the
Newer rooms but not the nicest room by no means. Our rooms had the windows covered partially which made the room dark. If you opened the shades any further, people could see in our room. We had a window air conditioner blowing on us which was located in the window right next to the bed. Loud and air blowing on us all night unless we wanted to take the 90 degree weather. The bedsheets were old and dingy. Elevators are sooooo slow!!!! Went to the sales pitch and after we told them we were to in a position to buy right now the broker just stood up abruptly and said come with me.....there was no hand shake, no Thanks, NOTHING....just very rude. Glad we did not buy into the place....appreciated the discounted room package and the dinner coupon though! It made up for their rudeness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyLora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

While we never like to read that one of our guests has encountered anything other than friendly hotel personnel, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers and supervisors. It truly disappoints us to know that your overall impressions were less than favorable and hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My stay was an RCI exchange. The room/suite was small but more than adaquate. There are 2 baths and one bedroom. The units sleeps 4. There is a small kitchen, but not really designed to cook anything. The kitchen is part of the livingroom/dining area.

The great thing was the location was close to lots of Midtown sites- Central Park, Theaters, Shows, bus tours, restaurants. You can walk to lots of these and take a subway, bus, or cab to anyplace else.

This is a high rise building. The elevators can be slow. The views can be less than appealing (brick walls). The lobby is small and tends to be crowded.

The check-in, bell sevice, and concerige were very helpful and courteous.

There is daily housekeeping services for the unit which I would have preferred not to have. I like things clean, but to stay where I put them. I felt a little invaded and over managed.

The unit offers robes, toiletries, thick towels, comfortable bed, 2 flat screen TVs, marble shower, hair dryer, and a refrigerator for the leftover/carryout food. The internet service worked once in awhile.

I would definitely stay here again. I would pack differently. A second pair of walking shoes, no toiletries (shampoo, etc), no hair dryer, no robe. I would not bring the laptop, there is a business center.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UStravelmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

The Manhattan Club's location is really convenient for seeing many of the major sites in Manhattan and we’re glad you had an opportunity to enjoy the city and all its uniqueness! Thank you for mentioning many of the amenities you benefited from and found attractive such as our Business Center. Our complimentary Business Center gives guests the tools they need to stay in contact while away on business or pleasure. We hope that your next visit will be soon as it will be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Manhattan club is two blocks south of probably the most wonderful place in Manhattan: Central Park. We went rowing for an hour in the lake and it only cost $12.00: I high recommend that excursion but be careful as very few of the rowers actually know how to control the boat (I am a crew rower and sculler) and I ended up dodging lots of boats, especially right near the bridge.

Take a trip to the UN if you have an afternoon to spare: It was really neat seeing diplomats, flags, languages and embassies from countries around the world and there is a tour you can take for a fairly nominal price ($16.00 if I recall correctly). If you have never taken the hop-on hop-off bus tour or the Circle Line cruise I highly recommend them: they are pretty information packed about the history and characteristics of New York City. There are 5 Burroughs in New York City: Manhattan, Staten Island , Queens , Brooklyn and the Bronx.

Some interesting factoid that I learned on the Circle line (this was in 2005):

1)There is only one detached house in Manhattan and that is Gracie Mansion, the mayor's residence.
2)66% of all major investment banking transactions happen in Manhattan (true as of 2004)

56th and 7th (MC location) is not quite as touristy as actually being in Times Square and the theater district, but it is close enough that all the attractions are close. Carnegie hall is across the street and the Carnegie deli is just a short one block walk south on 7th avenue. Subways are just a few blocks away: Buy the 7 day pass ($29.00) if you will be there more than 5 days (you'll go broke if you take taxis): There is a very convenient station at Columbus circle just on the South West edge of Central Park at 59th and 8th avenue. If you take a taxi and you are traveling very far it is generally much faster to take the outside avenues rather than the Central avenues. The Would trade Center is at the end of the “E” line subway (a.k.a 8th Avenue Local).

It is actually less expensive to buy prepared food at the local diners and deli's than it is to buy food and prepare it: Groceries in Manhattan tend to be very expensive ($1.89 for a cucumber on sale verses typically $0.50 - $0.33 in other places in the country). You will generally get better deals on prepared food if you look away from the more central avenues --- and western avenues (10+) are less expensive than east.

The Manhattan club is a beautiful place: It is actually a timeshare that is in very high demand but I got the week after 4th of July week on a “request first” trade via Interval International and a traded a November week at the Westin Kierland (also high demand) for my Manhattan club week: I consider myself fortunate to have traded for MC as it is very hard to trade into due to high demand for it. Our suite was exquisite: two bathrooms: One that was very large and perfect for my wife and a small one I used and could mess up with her nagging me. I would definitely go return if I am fortunate enough to trade in again.

Room Tip: There was no room service or pool that I am aware of. There is both a west and East terrace from whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris_schene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We're delighted that you were able to trade your week in November for a week in July at The Manhattan Club. Your many suggestions and recommendations will most definitely be helpful to all those reading your review; thank you for including them. We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our location and hope that you can return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
4,997 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#328 of 471 in New York City
7,140 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#129 of 471 in New York City
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 471 in New York City
4,517 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 471 in New York City
7,460 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#120 of 471 in New York City
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $270 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing