We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the middle of it all!”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #198 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed there 14 nights from September 10 to September 24 2011.

This was our fourth visit to New York City, and we chose this accommodation for its great location; we were 4 adults in an executive studio unit.
The Manhattan Club is a great place to stay as it is right in the middle of it all: 2 blocks from Central Park, a 10-minute walk to Times Square, it’s right in the center of the Theater district and several subway lines minutes away (N, Q, R right around the corner and 1, 2, 3 at Colombus Circle, a couple blocks away).
The check-in went very smoothly and we got the unit we had specifically requested a week prior to our arrival. We were on the 20th floor, which was great.
Our unit was just as expected: very spacious. We had no view whatsoever (a huge brick wall), but the good thing about it is that it was extremely quiet. We were never woken up by those city sounds and we really appreciated that. The bed and pillows are very comfortable and so was the sofa bed. We tried both because we were 4 adults and thought it was only fair to switch every now and then. The kitchenette is practical for drinks and snacks but there is no cooktop or regular oven. I guess you can heat up some soup in the micro-wave but we didn’t. Housekeeping gives you popcorn and ground coffee every day, so you won’t need to buy coffee. If you are a Starbucks addict, there’s one just around the corner. The décor was fine, nothing really special. The bathroom was “new york small” and lacked storage space. We had to have all our beauty products on the floor and the hallway console became our make- up/hair drying area. Housekeeping did a great job; unlike other timeshare properties, they refresh your unit every day.
The hotel is well kept: after a day in the filthy new york subway, it’s very pleasant to come “home” to a very clean and neat hotel. Apparently there’s a gym but we never used it. On the 26th floor, there’s a guest lounge with very comfy sofas and chairs. From 2 to 4pm (or maybe 12 to 4) they provide complimentary Starbucks coffee and cookies. I had read many complaints about the elevators. Most of the time we didn’t have to wait that long. The only time we did was check-out mornings because if the elevator has reached a certain weight before getting to your floor, it won’t stop at your floor. So we decided to call the elevator going up, we’d go up to the 26th and back down to the lobby and it was way quicker this way. Keep that in mind on Friday and Saturday mornings!
We liked the Manhattan Club very much for its location and its cleanliness, so we will definitely stay there again when we go back to NY.

Some extra practical info:
- Groceries: there’s a Morton Williams a block away (225 West 57th Street). It’s small but has everything you need: we stocked up on watered bottles, juice, milk, fruit and veggies for salads.
- Wi-fi: it’s free at the Manhattan Club, so bring your laptop it’s great to help plan your day.
- Laundry: if you stay a while (we stayed 2 weeks) you may need to do some laundry at some point. We went to a Laundromat on W. 50th between 9th and 10th avenue. It’s very clean and the lady running the place is very helpful. It’s $4.50 for a large washer and $0.25 per 7 minutes of drying. You have plenty of eateries in the area to have dinner while your laundry is being done.
- Concierge: the person at the concierge desk is very helpful. If you need a map of Central Park you can get one there as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Najebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

We are elated that you decided to spend your two week vacation in NYC with us at the Manhattan Club. It is without a doubt that your detailed account of your New York excursion that included so many tips, will be of a great help to many others. Our guest's comfort and satisfaction is a top priority for us so we are happy that everyone found the pillow top mattresses in the room to be comfortable and that the members of our staff were able to assist you when needed. We hope that on your next trip to New York City we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Manhattan Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 886 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

Having never been to Manhattan, choosing this hotel was a shot in the dark. And having just spent 5 nights there - we would stay there again anytime and recommend it to all my friends. The location is excellent - within walking distance to so many of the midtown sites, all the theaters, Times Square, Carnegie Hall, Rockefeller Centre & excellent shopping (both on a budget & not!). Also, the hotel is within blocks of the hop-on/hop-off tour bus locations (which we strongly recommend!), great dining (again, both on a budget & not!). Best deli "Carnegie" just around the corner and too many more to mention. The hotel rooms have kitchenettes - great for morning coffee, drinks and snacks! The hotel and rooms are a little tired (wallpaper peeling, smalls carpet stains) - but who cares! The rooms are clean, beds comfortable (though no king size available - queen only!) and price is right. Internet is available in the rooms and free.

Staff are helpful getting cabs, directions and dining suggestions! There is a gym, fitness center and lounge/bar - no restaurant (thus the kitchenettes!). They offer a continental breakfast, though we never tried it....way to many other great options for dining near the hotel!
Highly recommend the Manhattan Club!!

Room Tip: Some rooms you can't see the TV from the bed - so we asked for a different room which they did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VancouverDolce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

Thank you for your high recommendation of the Manhattan Club. We most certainly love to receive feedback from our guests and reading your review made us smile. It's terrific to hear that you enjoyed the comfort, the service and the convenient location of the Manhattan Club. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We spent 4 nights in a very nice large, studio unit on the 19th floor of the Manhattan Club. There was daily maid service, daily coffee refills in the room, and daily popcorn which was a treat. In a studio, there is a $15 daily fee for maid and concierge service, (and in a one bedroom there is a $25 daily fee) which can't be eliminated except for a $45 credit if you take a timeshare presentation. However, you also get complimentary coffee and cookies from noon to four in the 26th floor lounge. The staff is super nice and helpful. The location is unbeatable, walking distance to Times Square, Fifth Ave, etc., and the subway is one block away. In fact we took the subway and the M60 bus from Astoria to Laguardia and it took about an hour from the Manhattan Club.

We took CitysightsNY tours which the concierge booked for us ( You can save $5 if you book it yourself on line.). It was a two day hop on, hop off tour bus that took us all around downtown Manhattan, uptown, Brooklyn, night touring, cruising on the harbor to the Statue of Liberty and other sites, and even gave us a museum to see on the uptown tour. The guides seemed knowledgable and friendly.

We would not hesitate to return to the Manhattan Club. I had one minor complaint about a drape that didn't close properly, and it was repaired immediately. The unit has a half refrig., a microwave, and even a dishwasher.

It was an excellent vacation. NYC was clean, and the walking areas were a real treat. Central Park is two blocks away, and again, a treat to stroll in.

Room Tip: We were in 1909 and liked it a lot. There was no view of the Park, but lots of bldgs. and you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tennisplayerbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

We are delighted to hear that your NYC vacation was so enjoyable and that the Manhattan Club played a role in helping to make your stay pleasing. It sounds like you were able to see and explore many of the major attractions that encompass the area surrounding our hotel. We are thrilled that our concierge was able to assist you in booking your tour; our staff is committed to ensuring that our guest's needs are taken care of and providing the best service possible. We hope that you will visit New York City and the Manhattan Club again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

A little concerned when we contacted the hotel before arrival to establish what the kitchenette consisted off and were told we would not be allowed to cook in it!! We were on the 2nd floor so no view but the room was of a very good size and just as depicted on there web site.Bed was comfortable, shower good(but a bath would have been great New York is very hard on the feet) and all was clean, we did get the expected time share call but they were not pushy and accepted my firm but polite no. Free internet on the 26th floor was great as was the morning coffee available on the same floor. So yes we would recommend this hotel and we only used the kitchenette for breakfast and to "cook" the free popcorn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Del&Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Thank you for your kind recommendation of The Manhattan Club. We are delighted that you found the pillow-top mattress in your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the complimentary high speed internet service. The kitchenette provides a refrigerator, sink, dishwasher in most units, microwave and coffee/tea maker which is most convenient for quick meals. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This accomodation was clean, friendly and conveniently located. We are great walkers and did a ton of walking right from the front door. Great location to Central Park and short walk to Time Square. It was far enough away from the hussle and bussle of Time Square but it only took a few minutes to be in the middle of it. Our room faced the courtyard but could still see the street from our window. The windows are single pane so it was a bit loud. But the traffic was not bad so it was ok. Housekeeping was excellent but they need to be a bit more quiet with slamming doors. We were early risers but felt for those who were hoping to sleep in. Beds very comfortable. We were in a studio and only missed a toaster. But that might be due to fire regulations. Elevators are REALLY slow so don't hesitate to use the service elevator. No biggy though. Blue Line hop on - hop off is right around the corner. It was well worth the money. We took a two day pass and loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BraveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

It's wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of The Manhattan Club's convenient location by walking to both Central Park and Times Square. New York City has so things to do and see that the Hop-on Hop-off was a perfect choice to make the most of your visit. We do apologize for the noise that you encountered; we will share this information with our housekeeping staff in a continuous effort to improve our guest's experiences. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,926 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,396 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#130 of 470 in New York City
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#330 of 470 in New York City
7,073 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#120 of 470 in New York City
1,852 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $287 - $796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing