We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #327 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Ogmore-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

Great 4 night Easter break with my 66 year old mother!

Location: Excellent. Right on 7th Avenue in the heart of everything. Less than 10 mins walk to Times Square, Central Park, Broadway, museum of modern art and virtually next door to Canegie Hall. Shopping and restaurants galore.

Facilities: Good. Although busy it was quick and easy to check in at reception. A comfortable waiting area just off the main foyer equipped with sofas, large open fire, handy tables, reading materials etc. Helpful information desk, porters and doormen. Nice restaurant, gift shop, lifts. Friendly staff and good service.

Room: Good sized room, 2 comfortable double beds, warm, plenty of storage and well furnished. Clean on-suite with excellent power shower. Usual facilities including tea/coffee maker, internet access, phone, TV, hairdryer, iron etc. The decor was a little old fashioned but fitted with the hotel overall and gave a welcoming feel.

Overall: Excellent value for money. Very welcoming and a good base to explore New York City.

  • Liked — Location and welcoming feel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    2,737
    1,656
    585
    374
See reviews for
1,646
2,351
324
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (953)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

The Wellington Hotel was a very wonderful stay for my husband and me and also for my friend and her mother. It was a very first time to NYC for three of us and everything ran very smoothly.

We were extremely happy with the friendliness of the hotel staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the courtesies extended to us during our three-day stay. Our room was upgraded to a Queen Room at no additional charge, and the housekeeping service was exceptional in the fact that they responded to our needs very timely.

The front lobby staff were very attentive to our daily "how do we get there from here?" questions and very knowledgeable about the same and how to get around NYC.

The Hotel is located in a perfect place to walk to literally everything. Times Square and Central Park are just minutes from the Hotel.

We highly recommend a stay at the Wellington - we were all pleasantly surprised on our first shot at NYC!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy_4839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

We loved this hotel - perhaps we were lucky but I'd definately recommend it and already have!
Check in was quick and easy - just us and 3 staff. A young American girl checked us in and I asked for a suite if any were available - I told her i'd read reviews on here which described the suites ( we had our 2 kids with us). She was lovely and looked at lots of rooms on the computer for us, reading out descriptions of views and facilities. We'd paid $1000 for 4 nights for the 4 of us.
We got a suite - room 923 over looking 7th Ave.
We had a small kitchenette with a large fridge freezer, hob and microwave, kettle and cupboards- only used fridge and kettle but these were very useful. Our room had a king size bed - the comfiest bed we have ever slept in - the mattress label was Jan 08. We also had a built in wardrobe next to the bathroom, a sofa, coffee table, dining table and 3 chairs, tv in unit with 2 deep drawers, dressing table and mirror. Our kids room had a double and single bed - no arguments at night and kicking contests!! They also very large dressing table / drawer unit and wardrobe and own TV - they couldn't belive their luck.
The bathroom was fine with a very powerful shower over the bath.
The decor was not great - very beige and the furniture poor quality but the space was amazing for NY, I would rather have space than posh bedspreads. If they did this place up they could charge a lot more.
All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was also clean and house keeping efficient, sending up 4 more pillows when we rang them.
We didn't hear any pipes or have a.c. problems as some people have mentioned.
One worrying thing was the fact that the windows opened fully and you could lean right out, or jump if you wanted to!
Check out was 12pm but our daughter was ill on our last day so we asked if we could have a bit longer and the manager let us have the room until 2pm for no charge.
We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on food but we got stamps and a few bits from the little shop and the stamps were cheaper for the UK than the machines.
The lifts were small but only took ages when our own children were racing us downstairs and had pressed all the buttons so they could beat us - sorry if you shared the lift with us on that occasion!
We would definatley stay there again - and ask for this room if we could get it.

  • Liked — The kids had their own beds in their own room.
  • Disliked — The windows opened too far on the 9th floor.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal
Level Contributor
118 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

When we originally booked with Dial a Flight in June 2007, we
informed them that that this was a special holiday to
celebrate our two children aged 23 and 21 graduating
from uni this year. We specifically booked two twin
rooms due to the ages of the children and the idea was
for the two males to share one room and the two
females the other. I had e-mailed the hotel myself the
week before our departure to ensure that we had twin
adjoining rooms as booked. When we arrived at check
in, extremely tired from travelling, the reception
staff snatched our booking voucher and informed us
that we had two rooms each containing one double bed.
Luckily I had kept a copy of the pre-booking vouchers
and pointed out that we had booked two twin rooms and thiswas clearly shown on the booking voucher. The
reception staff continued to argue that the twin rooms
were only a request and not a booking. After
approximately half an hour of arguing, we were given
two twin rooms although these were on separate floors
and one was a smoking room. Seeing as my son is
asthmatic, my daughter and I took the smoking room.
The blind in our room would not shut and the curtains
were nailed open to the wall. Due to the fact that we
had buildings directly opposite our window we had to
keep the blind shut by weighing it down with a book.
The rooms were extremely hot and the windows did not
open. The air conditioning was so noisy that we could
not keep it on at night and therefore had interupted
nights sleep as we were constantly over heated and
thirsty. We requested alternative rooms but were told
that the hotel was full.
The room could have done with a refurbishment and the carpet was stained and the paintwork flaking.
On the plus side,the bell staff and porters were really friendly and we did not have a problem with the lifts.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank AlanandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

Good hotel depending on which room you get. Big difference between the old section and the new part. Excellent location.

I have seen the worst - I hope - and one of the best, rooms in this hotel. Our 1st room was in the old part of this very big hotel. It was small (to be expected on our budget), but also grubby with dirty drawers. This I would have put up with, but not the banging heating pipes that woke us up every half hour between 11pm and 6.30am.

Next morning the Assistant Front Office Manager explained that they were upgrading the pipes by lagging them, but they hadn't reached that floor. Yet, they had put us in that room for 7 nights.

Whilst complaining, I mentioned that I intended to review this hotel on Trip Advisor (because I had read the reviews here before I booked and I wasn't put off) and I'm sure that's why we were moved to a King room in the new part of the hotel. It was a corner room, twice the size of the first and luxurious. The side window looked down to the lights of Times Square and as we were on the 26th floor we never closed the blind, we had this fantasic light show 24/7.

If you are on a budget you may have to put up with grubby and small. I couldn't have afforded the better room. Be prepared to complain, perhaps we Brits are not expected to. There is an advert on tv just now in New York, for a different internet review site, featuring an actor being carried to his room. The point being, that hotels do pay attention to what review sites have to say.

  • Liked — Excellent location for Broadway shows, Central Park and Times Square
  • Disliked — Noisy heating pipes in old rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty-kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#270 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,592 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,066 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#214 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,642 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,127 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#154 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): $153 - $532
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing