We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 7 nights for our trip to New York last week. We were a bit early, but we wanted to dump our bags at the hotel so we could enjoy the city before checking in time. They took our bags no problem and when we came to check in they offered us a free upgrade to a suite on the 7th floor which was lovely! All the staff took great care of us and were very polite. My only complaints are that the hotel does look very dated - very oldy worldy decor and rusty vents in our bathroom. We also didn't have a safe in our room (the hotel does offer safety deposit boxes, but we didn't want to carry our passports and all our cash on us all the time / have to keep queuing at reception every time we wanted to get them).

However, this is a small price to pay for the amazing location of the hotel. We paid £800 in total for 8 days (I doubt you'd find better value in the same location as the Wellington.) Times Square is about 3 blocks down (5 minute walk at max), Central Park and 5th Avenue is also about a 5 - 10 minute walk away. There are so many things to do near by and more restaurants and bars than I can count in perfect walking distance.

I honestly can't recommend this hotel enough. The location is ideal, it's very clean and the staff are lovely. A great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amandamandypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    2,819
    1,694
    600
    381
See reviews for
1,710
2,410
335
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband, son, and I was looking forward to our trip to NYC. We only had 2 days. Upon arriving at the Wellington Hotel the manager Jim tried to over charge us on taxes which was already included in our package. Then he tried to charge us for our breakfast that was included in our "Great rate Great Discount breakfast included package". Then the manager Jim tried to tell us that my son was not included with the breakfast that would be $28.00 more. Since I told Jim I wasn't happy because this was supposed to be included in our package. Jim told us if we didn't like it, we could find another hotel. Not knowing a sole in NYC and being 8:30 pm where was I going to find a hotel. We told him to just give us the room and we were only going to pay what was originally quoted. Our travel agent was able to get a hold of another manager the next day that was kind enough to give us the 2 additional coupons for my son to have breakfast with us. We were notified by our agent at 12:30 that he had taken care of the matter for us.
The room was nice. The beds had plenty of room to get around them. We had a couch, coffee table, tv, walk in closet, a microwave and a refrigerator. The refrigerator had left over food in it from the people before us. I called the front desk to ask them to please clean the refrigarator for us. Which they did take care of. The bathroom was small, but we weren't expecting anything really fancy either. The price was an awesome price. The hotel was in a great location to see many attractions. We loved the room, but the service Jim gave us wasn't good, it was terrible. Then when we went to check out there was $60.00 added onto our room for breakfast which was included in our package. Luckily we had a different manager that fixed the problem and told us it was a computer glich. We really liked the hotel, but you definately have to make sure that if you go here that you bring your confirmation slip (just like us) with any documentation from your agent and make sure that you are not overcharged.

This put a damper on our trip to NYC. The only thing is that we did meet a lot of wonderful people in NYC that were helpful and courteous! You must go to the Empire State Building, even if there is zero visiblity we still had a wonderful time. The men up at the top are very nice to talk to and they point out special areas. I hope that you have a completely wonderful trip if you go to NYC. P.S. the subway was safer than I thought. Wonderful people there to help assist through out the city. If you get a chance go to 810 Deli on 7th avenue. They had the best lemon and wine chicken over rice that I have ever had. You got a big portion for a great price!! I would go back to that deli in a heart beat!!

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor. the room was very hot (Feb. 29 - March 1) so we had to have the staff sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bostonian646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

W. Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed there with some colleagues while at a conference and it worked perfectly. It is a great location with an easy walk to Central Park and Times Square. Lots of cheap breakfast spots nearby.

Room Tip: If you call the hotel directly, ask for the gold tower rooms, which are a bit more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

What an excellent place! We arrived on a wednesday night after a long days travelling from london. We had booked a transfer to the hotel via the gift shop advertised on the website for about £15 per person each way. The driver was prompt and friendly and it took us about 1hr20 from JFK to the hotel having dropped some other people off at other hotels around the city. The first thing I noticed as we neared the hotel was its excellent location, just a couple of blocks from Times square, Broadway, 5th Avenue and Central park, we couldnt have asked for better. Looking at the 4 or so other hotels we dropped people off at en route, it was by far the best location of the lot! When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a smiley and friendly doorman who welcomed us and carried our bags through to reception for us to check in. The girls on the front desk were delightful and very willing to help when we ask directions to a diner for dinner (AppleJack Diner is a must try is staying at the wellington!).

Once we had checked in and found out we were on floor 21 (a high floor as requested) we continued up to our room. The twin room we had booked was superb. Although it wasnt huge it was all we expected for the location and price we paid (just £250 each for 2 of us for 5 nights at the start of march!). The beds were a decent size, with plenty of space to move around. There was a large mirror on the wall, a big tv, chest of drawers and decent wardrobe all is the room as well as a phone and desk. Our room had a view up to times square which was amazing and the bathroom was of a decent size with complimentary toiletries and hairdryer.

Through out our visit the doormen and receptionists were lovely and welcoming and helped us look up any directions or opening times of places we want to visit during our stay, They also were able to store our luggage after we checked out and before our transfer.

My friend and I both agree we couldn't have asked for better and would definitely stay again should we visit NYC in the future!

Room Tip: Definitely go a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

we travelled to new york for my 30th birthday and eventhough we had been before we had never stayed in the city so i was anxious that our hotel would have a good location. boy did we choose right. the wellington is on 57th and 7th ave so from times square it is 15 blocks,, about 10 - 15 mins walk. its about 3 blocks from central park and has a subway station for the N, Q, R line right underneath it. It was the perfect base for a perfect trip.

When we arrived the reception was ful of people but the bellboy asked were we checkingin andto go to reception as our room might be ready. when we did our room was ready, i askedd for a up grade as it was my birthday and we got a lovely corner room on the 20th floor ( photos to follow). from our bed you could loook out the window and see the lights of times square.

The room itself was small, clean but comfortable. the bathroom was tiny but served its needs. we had a small wardrobe for clothes with enough space to put our 2 suitcases in to keep them off the floor. the temp of the room was a bit hot especially at night. There was a heater in the room which on the first night frightened the life outve me as it made these lould banging noises and i thought someone was outside the window. after that i just got used to it.

Overall i found all the staff very pleasant and courtious. we never ate in the hotel so i cant make comment on the food.

would i recommend this hotel again? defo would i stay again? most definiatley.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurah385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,971 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,016 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,856 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#306 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,218 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): $198 - $524
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing