We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Banh Mi”

Banh Mi Saigon Bakery
Ranked #249 of 530 Quick Bites in New York City
Price range: USD 5 - USD 10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighbourhood: Little Italy
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Little Italy
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Went (twice!) for a quick lunch stop in while in New York. The Pork Banh Mi was delicious, huge and a bargain by NYC standards. As good as anything I've had in Vietnam.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Reevesie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Top notch bahn mi in Chinatown/LES. Loved the bahn mi Saigon (with grilled pork). Also enjoyed the cold shrimp roll. Prices are incredibly good. Service super fast. And great vibe, with many locals. A must

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Comandante-of-Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

If there is a better deal for lunch in NY these days then I don't know about it. Where else can you get a freshly made sandwich on freshly baked bread, with fresh ingredients, made right before your eyes? I recommend the BBQ pork or classic Saigon banh mi, as well as the shrimp or vegetarian summer rolls. The 3 summer rolls are filling and healthy! Service is fast, and they keep the shop sparkling clean, no matter how busy. And they hustle to serve you. You have to love that. At around $6.00 or less per item, this is a great deal.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DiGama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

I was not expecting much, but the bbq pork banh mi was amazing. The banh mi was huge (I had to save the other half for dinner), the mayo was tasty and there was a decent amount of pork. The pickled veggies were tasty, not overpowering. I just wished there was more cilantro...

As a snack I bought one fried shrimp, it tasted fresh and was very crispy. Overall the tastiest sandwich I had in nyc. I will be back for more.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank atlantism2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

I had intended to visit the Bahn Mi Saigon Bakery on previous visits to New York but had never made it.

This time, I finally got to try what has been described as New York’s Best Asian Sandwich. Located at 198 Grand Street in Chinatown, this small eatery has established a strong reputation for excellent Vietnamese sandwiches.

I opted for the ‘Bahn Mi Ga Nuong’ – a grilled spicy chicken sandwich. The chicken is stuffed into a crispy baguette along with crunchy vegetables and some cilantro. It was delicious and I can see why the sandwiches gets rave reviews.

If you are looking for an inexpensive and tasty lunch - get a Banh Mi sandwich.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banh Mi Saigon Bakery also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Banh Mi Saigon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing