We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worked for me”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #382 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worked for me”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Franklin was ideal for my needs. I was a single traveler staying for three nights - I didn't have a lot of luggage and I didn't need much space. My room had a modern look, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and worked well, and the AC kept the room cool (though it was a bit loud). A few really nice features: free use of the NY Sports Club one block away, great espresso/cappuccino maker always available, free wifi in the room, complimentary breakfast, plus wine and cheese offered in the early evening. I also liked the location. The 4-5-6 train was one block away and it was very simple to catch the 86 bus across the park when I wanted to get to the west side. Plus, there were plenty of good restaurants on 2nd Ave a couple blocks away. It was a good place for exploring the city, especially if you are interested in the museums. As others have mentioned, rooms are small. Not sure if they have larger rooms to accommodate larger parties. Depending on your needs the Franklin might be a good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    256
    118
    50
    55
See reviews for
106
272
99
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

Last night I was in room 54, about as big as a closet looking at a brick wall only a few feet away. They kindly moved me. Tonight I'm in room 62, slightly bigger and looking out onto 87th street. But, the air conditioner is rattling and grinding and wheezing so loud. How am I going to sleep. The staff here is excellent. But, I wish I could leave right now!

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ARuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Been in many small hotels in NYC
Never had a small room like in this
The hotel rated 3.5 stars I think that 2.5 stars would have been more like it .
The plus side it's clean , near subway
And the room is ok if you ignore the size and the fact that u get a noise not just from the street but also from your window mounted air condition . there are better values in this city .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tildor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is moderately priced. It's in a good location, just two blocks from Central Park and less than ten blocks from the Metropolitan Museum.. The continental breakfast was quite good with cereal, yogurt, juices, bread and sweet rolls, coffee etc.. The room was quite clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from street would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dadorron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

If your NYC visit centers on Museum Mile and environs, this hotel is a great choice. It's walking distance to all the big-name art museums. If you are a first-time NYC visitor, I would not recommend this location because you will have to navigate multiple mass transit options to reach the major tourist attractions.
The hotel is small and has Old World charm, such as a nice, small breakfast room with complimentary continental breakfast. The rooms are small. If room size is a concern, this is not a good choice for you. We have stayed in a few other NYC hotels in the past and understand that rooms in this city are small, but The Franklin was the smallest room we have yet encountered.

Although clean, the hotel is threadbare in spots. The desk in our room was scuffed and scratched, although it had a lovely ceramic chandelier. The window air conditioner, while welcome because of the outdoor temperature was as noisy as a jet plane. The neighborhood is residential, but lively. You are not "in the heart" of Manhattan, but you are in a nice place. So choose this hotel if it meets your itinerary and inclination.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silasroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#259 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#246 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128-2206
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $262 - $511
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing