We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Franklin
Nearby Hotels
Novotel New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 260*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 189*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 239*
USD 211*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
USD 220*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 216*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
USD 199*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Beacon(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 572*
USD 401*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 381*
USD 250*
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 266*
USD 122*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 301*
USD 253*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
213
274
138
58
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
274
138
58
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper east sidewine and cheeserooms are smallcentral parkmetropolitan museum of artyogurtnew yorkcontinental breakfastboutique hotelevery eveningaround the cornerwhole foodswine hourshort staygreat boutiquecoffee machinebed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 758 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Last night I was in room 54, about as big as a closet looking at a brick wall only a few feet away. They kindly moved me. Tonight I'm in room 62, slightly bigger and looking out onto 87th street. But, the air conditioner is rattling and grinding and wheezing so loud. How am I going to sleep. The staff here is excellent. But, I wish I could leave right now!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank ARuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Been in many small hotels in NYC
Never had a small room like in this
The hotel rated 3.5 stars I think that 2.5 stars would have been more like it .
The plus side it's clean , near subway
And the room is ok if you ignore the size and the fact that u get a noise not just from the street but also from your window mounted air condition . there are better values in this city .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tildor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is moderately priced. It's in a good location, just two blocks from Central Park and less than ten blocks from the Metropolitan Museum.. The continental breakfast was quite good with cereal, yogurt, juices, bread and sweet rolls, coffee etc.. The room was quite clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from street would be better.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dadorron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

If your NYC visit centers on Museum Mile and environs, this hotel is a great choice. It's walking distance to all the big-name art museums. If you are a first-time NYC visitor, I would not recommend this location because you will have to navigate multiple mass transit options to reach the major tourist attractions.
The hotel is small and has Old World charm, such as a nice, small breakfast room with complimentary continental breakfast. The rooms are small. If room size is a concern, this is not a good choice for you. We have stayed in a few other NYC hotels in the past and understand that rooms in this city are small, but The Franklin was the smallest room we have yet encountered.

Although clean, the hotel is threadbare in spots. The desk in our room was scuffed and scratched, although it had a lovely ceramic chandelier. The window air conditioner, while welcome because of the outdoor temperature was as noisy as a jet plane. The neighborhood is residential, but lively. You are not "in the heart" of Manhattan, but you are in a nice place. So choose this hotel if it meets your itinerary and inclination.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silasroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at the Franklin after reading reviews here on trip advisor.

The whole stay exceeded expectation. Check in was painless and the staff are very courteous and friendly.

The room amenities were good, modern furniture, comfy bed, shower gel and shampoo. The only downside was the room size. We understood it would be small , and yes NY hotels are small but our 2 suitcases took up the whole floor space and we struggled to move about the room.

We paid a little extra upon booking to get a slightly bigger room, but we didn’t see any difference looking at the floor plans on the wall.

The little extras were nice, like wine in the afternoon and breakfast was really good.

Location was really good, just across from Central park and a tub station around the corner.

Free wifi was much appreciated.

Overall, very good and would consider again.

Room Tip: Make sure you be realistic about what size to expect
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeNSazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. We try our best to make sure that all our guests feel at home. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Shonda Colbourne
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews