We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carlton Hotel, NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #365 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carlton Hotel, NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Carlton Hotel in NYC is a classic hotel that has been updated. While the rooms are small, they are elegant and the hallways are quiet and nice. The lounge is a wonderful place for a drink. The lobby is charming. When you enter the hotel, you are surprised to see stairs leading down to the check in desk, but there is an elevator to the right that you can use. It seems many people miss that. The hotel is in a good location for either midtown or the village. Staff work hard to accommodate guest needs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    804
    375
    185
    121
See reviews for
321
765
145
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dtw
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I would have given this hotel a poor review if I were anywhere else besides New York. The rooms are small which is to be expected but the walls are paper thin. I've stayed at the Renaissance Hotel 57 in Midtown and it had more ambience. The Marriott Marquis has larger rooms with less noise above the 30th floor. But the Renaissance Times Square is my favorite! I checked in at 3am and I wasn't offered a platinum arrival gift. I'd have forgiven the desk clerk if the other people in my party were also forgotten, but I was the only one. There was a half filled glass on my desk and an ice bucket full of water. The shower had an open bottle of hair conditioner and a used bar of soap. One robe was neatly tied but the other was thrown over the bathroom hook like it'd been worn. I would have switched rooms but I was tired from traveling. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leondrataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised.....the hotel was a convenience choice being close to the office that I visited, but no regrets for that choice. I checked in at 8am with the expectation that they'd offer to store my bag, but instead they made a real effort to find an available room and upgraded me to an available Executive Room. Everything in my room and hallway seemed well maintained and working, traditional with some modern twists here and there.
My room was very quiet towards the back with windows at two walls, the bed was very comfortable and it's an absolute bonus that this property offer free wifi as standard amenity for all. I will certainly come back to this hotel and can recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOZBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The staff is very good and sweet while still being very professional. breakast huge and super delicious. old style luxury but i found bit heavy in style for new york and some placees needs better maintnance e.g. wallpaper peeling, humidity on the bathroom wall etc.

The bed was queen size and very confortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel is very classy and stylish. The lobby area is very nice and welcoming. The hotel staff were pleasant and responsive. I stayed in a superior queen room. It was not huge but larger than I expected. The fixtures are elegant and add a nice touch. There were a few very minor issues with my room (wallpaper peeling a little, small leak in bathroom ceiling in the corner, and toilet paper holder a bit loose). But despite these maintenance issues, the room was very nice. There is a very nice old fashioned cabinet in the bathroom. The leather headboards are different and very nice. Plus, there are neat reading lights (in addition to the lamp) at the bed headboard. The beds are very comfortable. The room was very clean and felt spacious even though it wasn't a very large room. I found out there are larger rooms and suites that I would consider for my next visit. I would definitely stay here again if I needed to be in the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#296 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Green Hotel in New York City
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#211 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $310 - $691
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A midtown Manhattan luxury boutique hotel located near the Empire State Building, Union Square and other New York City attractions. Offers vacation packages and special offers, as well as meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Marriott, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel New York City
Carlton Madison Avenue
Carlton On Madison Avenue Hotel
New York Carlton
Carlton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing