We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York stay”
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #208 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
lexington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New York stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The online pictures of this hotel are decieving, not what the rooms really look like, older and in need of some updates. My friends and I stayed at the Belvedere on July 4-July 8, 2012. The rooms only had window air conditioners which were installed in the windows with the bare wood showing, tacky for a hotel, yes I did say window air conditioner that would only cool to 64 degrees, not cool when you are in NY on days when the temps are over 100 degrees and the sun shining fully into your room, the room was barely cooling which means that bathroom wasn't cooling at all, no ventilation either, so you were already soaked in sweat before you could dry off from the shower, also, bathrooms are very small no room to hang your clothes and no place to sit you toiletries. There were 4 ladies sharing a room, the first morning we were there we were preparing for our day, two of us were trying to dry our hair one in the bathroom and one in the bedroom, the power goes off, we called the front desk they sent maintenance to check it out, the maintenance man said that the building was only wired to use the hotel hair dryer which was provided and you could only use it in the bathroom outlet (never had this issue before), after a few times of this nonsense they moved us to another room a bit larger but still could only dry hair in bathroom with their dryer and the window airconditioner still didn't cool the room. The only cool part of this building was the lobby, it was also the prettiest part of the building. The hotel manager did give us a complimentary breakfast in the restuarant which was buffet style, the breakfast was so so, it normally runs $14-$15 per person, glad I didn't pay for it. Hotel was very convenient to the sights and walking distance to lots, all in all it was okay, but it could have been cooler and updated. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Hotel location was quiet and close to time square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear saspin,
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Belvedere Hotel. I’m sorry you feel the online pictures are deceiving. We have 5 basic room types in the hotel and the pictures on our website accurately represent each of our room types. When booking a room, the correct picture is shown for the room type selected.
The Belvedere Hotel is an old building like many hotels in New York City. As many reviewers have pointed out, this also adds to the charm of the hotel. Unfortunately, old buildings make it difficult to incorporate modern conveniences such as central air conditioning. We have begun addressing this issue by replacing the window units with Packaged Terminal Air Conditioners (PTACs. We have completed about 35% of the guestrooms and are continuing this project throughout the hotel. We are also upgrading the electric service in each guestroom to address the increase in demand on extremely hot days when there is a strain on electric use. I apologize for any inconvenience and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,008
    2,374
    605
    210
    119
See reviews for
1,759
1,412
140
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broussard, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We just got back from a 5 day trip to NYC staying at the Belvedere. What a great suprise we found in the heart of everything. From the moment we walked out ot the cab to the front doorman and the check in clerks we could not have asked for better service!! We traveled with myself my wife and our two boys 15,13. The hotel was great, with a nice gift shop on site and restaurant it was all very good. We got an executive room which we were told had been redone lately and boy was it nice, clean, first class. The hotel was within walking distance to Times Square, theater district etc.. We even walked to Central park. The entire staff was excellent even the maintnance men were friendly. GREAT PLACE TO STAY WILL BE BACK!!

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My best friend from high school stayed at the Belvedere in June for a girl's getaway. I have previously stayed in the heart of the Time Square madness, and this was a breath of fresh air. On a quiet street, but close to all the theaters, restaurants, etc. Easy walk to subway station and Central Park and Time Square. The staff were very friendly, our room was clean, spacious and well appointed, and there were no bedbugs!!! Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the executive not the standard. Big difference -- The exec rooms have built in ac units with a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Close to Times Square, Theater District, Central Park and tons of restaurants. Walkable to Fox Studios and NBC as well. Hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant. Typical sized room. Bathrooms a little small. Only 2 elevators that were fairly slow. Area for coffee and refrigerator and sink.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripvisor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Travelled to New York on business and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of this little gem on 48th St West. The staff were so pleasant all of the time - and actually helpful. Wonderful breakfast buffet which goes on till 11 a.m. so you do not need to rush to eat breakfast. They organized cabs when none seemed to be available and just went out of their way to assist.
I would not hesitate to pay them another visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,064 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,006 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 466 in New York City
5,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 466 in New York City
9,445 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 466 in New York City
9,483 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 466 in New York City
18,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1331
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#166 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $224 - $589
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing