We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,065)
Filter reviews
2,065 results
Traveller rating
1,497
324
137
64
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,497
324
137
64
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cafe boulud upper east side central park bar pleiades grand deluxe salon relais chateaux madison avenue rooftop garden new york room service in room dining luxury hotel favorite hotel bottle of champagne wonderful hotel turn down service rooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
1,605 - 1,610 of 2,065 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I can't tell you the amount of times we have stayed here and each and every time the service from the moment you enter the lobby to the time you depart your stay is beyond your expectations! We have stayed in numerous suites and sometimes the same and each bed is so comfortable that I have a hard time wanting to get up. It's such a relaxing hotel that my husband and I forget that there are other guests there as well. We're in love with the rooftop lounge as it is as beautiful in the summer months as in the winter. The bar is a must visit!!! The location is the best Manhattan has to offer! Wouldn't stay at any other hotel in the City!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myblkvette99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being such a loyal advocate of The Surrey. We were truly delighted to learn that we have become your favorite New York hotel.

We are thrilled that we continue to exceed your expectations time and time again. It is always harder to raise the bar and I am humbled that my team continues to do so.

It is indeed the gracious and warm service extended by our colleagues that we pride ourselves in and we are so pleased to learn that we are successful in touching your heart and soul each and every time.

Once again, thank you for your amazing feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back home soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed for 7 nights at the Surrey Hotel late October 2011. It was our first time at this hotel, which was chosen after reading reviews on tripadvisor and looking at the hotel website and other reviews. I have stayed in many NYC hotels over the last few years, but none higher than 57th and so was looking for a different experience in a new neighborhood - ie the upper east side. It was our second honeymoon and so received a welcome upgrade to a suite on the 5th floor, together with champagne on arrival - which was a really great touch. The room had no view, but no complaints as the size and style was first class. It was situated near the airconditioning plant, but the noise was almost imperceptible.

Overall, I can't say enough about why you would choose this hotel over so many others in the city, but here are some:

1/ LOCATION - The location is great - the lexington subway line is close, as are some great museums and galleries. It may not seem as convenient as other better known hotels further downtown, but the extra minute or so seems like nothing when you walk into the serene sophistication of this neighborhood. It is an instant passport into a world away from the predictable noise of the touristy buzz of the usual areas. Priceless.

2/ STYLE - From the lobby, to the bar, to the rooms, this hotel has style in spades where so many lack it in substance. The beds are duxiana, the amenities are Jo Malone, the interiors are all outstanding. The Relais & Chateaux badge is well deserved and those in the know, act on their knowledge. We did not have to be in the lift or lobby very long, before seeing a number of very well known faces, who appeared to be very comfortable in the understated environment.

3/ VALUE - We stayed at the Intercontinental the week before (and East Hampton in between). We paid no more per night for those experiences, but felt like we had stepped through the curtains into first class at the Surrey. This is hard to describe, but there is an ambience and understanding in this hotel (and area) which pervades the space - you would pay for this, but the point is that if you do it right, you need not pay any more. Priceless.

4/ OPTIONS - Although the area does not shout options, in terms of dining and food, they are here to be found. For a start, the inroom dining is Cafe Boulud food - where you have to book in advance to get a table - it is michelin star food and worth staying just for that. Similarly, the bar snacks in Bar Pleiades is also Boulud originated - the risotto snack is to die for and incredibly well priced. If you are after a light dinner snack - this a great place with super sophisticated ambience. The Whitney Museum is just around the corner - downstairs is a cafe which has a fantastic all day breakfast, really good coffee (I am a coffee nut), really simple and great cafe food and a funky museum atmosphere. We went there daily. Next street up is the Mark Hotel - which has another super sophisticated bar - the locals go there - and the Mark restaurant - which has some quite brilliant food.

5/ BRICKBATS Every hotel has them, but fortunately they are few at the Surrey. The only major one is the guest service when using the phone from the room. (Face to face service was brilliant.) We made around 5 calls over 7 days - asking for dinner reservations, an ironing board, asking if a parcel had been delivered etc. Either they are understaffed on this area, or they prioritised their service in a way that relegated those who weren't face to face with them. It often took several calls to spur a response. This was a small blot on an otherwise perfect page, but once you lose the trust of guests in that area it has the potential to undermine the whole experience. I see from other reviewers that similar experiences to ours have occurred, so I would encourage the management to invest some time here.

As I said above, this is a genuinely outstanding hotel in a city full of competition, and so has few peers. A 7 day stay usually reveals I would stay here again, without hesitation and would look forward to it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawyerfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us. We were pleased to learn that you have become such a fan of our Upper East Side gem.

We were thrilled that our close proximity to Museum Mile and famed Madison Avenue shopping, innovative Lauren Rottet design, tastefully appointed guest accommodations, featuring our custom Duxiana bedding and In-Room Dining curated by Café Boulud all exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing exceptional levels of personalized service and we are delighted that our team members were successful in making you feel warm and welcome and ensuring that you had a most memorable second honeymoon celebration.

I have shared your constructive feedback with Mr Michael Dunbar, Director of Front Office in respect to our timeliness of response to service requests. Rest assured that we are working diligently to improve our consistency in this area.

Thank you for trusting the word of mouth provided by our guests via Trip Advisor and we are truly pleased that you have become a fan. We look forward to welcoming you back soon; and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I have the pleasure of staying at The Surrey on several occasions and routinely find it to be one of the better hotels in New York. It may sound unusual to say this about a hotel on the upper east side - but I find The Surrey to be a great value. For prices that consistently on par - or lower than other hotels of comparable quality in NYC, The Surrey provides a far better experience. The rooms are larger than most NY hotels and are nicely designed and very comfortable. The service is consistently excellent - and by NY standards - friendly and courteous. The restaurant and room service provide unique, seasonal options that are nicely prepared... and if you happen to be staying when the weather is warm - the rooftop garden is a sanctuary - a hidden gem that is now one of my favorite spots in the city. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Datablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being such a loyal advocate of our Upper East Side gem; we are truly delighted that you consider us to be one of New York’s finest hotels.

We were pleased to learn that you found us to be superior because of our tastefully appointed accommodations featuring custom Duxiana bedding, our unique private Roof Garden, superior levels of service and innovative culinary offerings at Café Boulud.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed on 12/1 for a 1 night business trip. Great location on the upper East Side one block from the park. Some rooms have park views but mine did not. Had a standard room which was fairly large for a NYC hotel. Lucky to be assigned to a corner room (914) which provided for a very bright room due to the extra windows. Check-in was quick and pleasant. Bed linens and towels were of high quality. Bed was comfortable - soft but supportive. Bathroom was good size with plenty of room for toiletries on the counter. Fitness center is small but the equipment is of high quality.

Would highly recommend this hotel for someone looking for a high quality boutique hotel (not a Times Square chain hotel) In a great neighborhood with high-end shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melchib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and that our central location, tastefully appointed and spacious guest accommodations, featuring our custom Duxiana bedding and Sferra linens exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We recently stayed four nights at The Surrey and loved everything about our visit. The location is great. Walking distance to the Whitney Museum, Central Park, great restaurants and lots of shopping. I love shopping in this area of NYC because it is much less crowded than other areas. Everyone at the hotel was very professional and pleasant. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The complimentary water and nightly cookies were a nice touch. Complimentary internet would have been appreciated. Don't miss the opportunity to eat at Cafe Boulud. This is Daniel Boulud's restaurant and definitely meets the expectations of quality and taste you expect from him. Great dining experience. I enjoyed an afternoon at the spa and recommend it highly. It is small but very quaint and relaxing. I nearly fell asleep during the massage. Very relaxing experience. Overall, wonderful stay and will definitely go back to The Surrey when we return to NYC.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that our superior levels of service, tastefully appointed accommodations and luxurious Spa made for a most relaxing and memorable experience. I have shared your positive comments regarding your dining experience with Mr Dominique Paulin, General Manager of Café Boulud. Rest assured that we will certainly take your feedback on internet charges into consideration as we periodically review our pricing strategy for all services.

Your recommendation of The Surrey is very important to us and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews