We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great hospitality and very clean!”
Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Stanford
Ranked #308 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This may be the best deal in all of NYC! Located right between Macy's and the Empire State Building in midtown, the Hotel Stanford is a true gem. My parents are still raving to everyone in Texas about their awesome stay at the perfectly located Hotel Stanford last fall. Excellent service, rooms much bigger than the NYC standard, breakfast being included, cleanliness standards above and beyond the call of duty, in addition to the ideal location, all combine to make the Hotel Stanford my favorite hotel in NYC!

Room Tip: We were on a lower floor which was nice so we could take the stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sonhomeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Stanford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 550 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Perfectly located in hectic Midtown (and with 2 blocks from the Bolt Bus stop from DC). The staff is very friendly. There's one slow elevator. The breakfast is included in the lobby cafe but it can get crowded and you'll have to wait. Basic continental offerings but much needed in pricy NYC. Room has no view but with mini fridge, safe, iron and large clean bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank McCandlessBus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The hotel location is its biggest advantage. Located in the Garment District near Herald Square is where you wanna go for shopping and/or be in the center of everything. Times Square is 10 blocks away (a ten-minute walk) and there is a subway station less than 20 meters away (34th street - Herald Square) which is a main subway station with several trains running. The hotel itself is pretty basic but clean, comfortable with a friendly staff who are willing to help in any means possible. I was in the city for shopping and I had lots of stuff, they helped us with a vaccum cleaner to use for our space bags for several days. The rooms are a bit larger than those i stayed in other hotels in NYC. The bathroom toiletries are from Bed Bath & Beyond (i loved that!)The breakfast is pretty basic but so is that of all the hotels. Overall, i would recommend for anyone who wants to stay in a decent clean hotel in a great location but on a smaller budget than that of 5* hotels!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ETW_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The most valuable point is the perfect position, near Macy and the the Empire State Building, at walking distance from Times Square, beside two metro stops with different directions. We occupied a quadruple room that resulted very spatious and clean. The breakfast room is obtained in the cake-shop of the hotel, so the food resulted only based on bakery products and it may be not suitable for babies, however breakfast included in the price is a value in cental Manhattan. We confirm that the only lift may be not sufficient in some rush hours for an 11-floors bluiding.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bologna60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed at Hotel Stanford in December 2011 with 3 friends. We booked into the Delux Suite which sleeps 4 people comfortably.

Overall, I was extremely impressed with the hotel and it's facilities and found it to be very good value for money.

The hotel was easy to find and the staff were extremely polite and efficient on arrival. We were taken straight to our room on the 3rd floor. The room / suite was extremely spacious, with a seperate lounge area with sofas, a sleeping area with 2 extremely comfortable double beds and built in wardrobe and a spacious bathroom. The room was extremely clean and tidy, with a large flat screen television. My only criticism would be that the fridge did not seem to work, so it wasn't possible to keep anything cold or make ice cubes. Also, there wasn't a great deal of storage space for clothes etc and only a few coat hangers in the wardrobe, but this wasn't the end of the world. The bathroom was also very clean, with a bath and shower (combined), towels and toiletteries changed on a daily basis. Although I did not see the maid, the maid service was very good and we left a generous tip.

Being on the 3rd floor, meant that we did not have to use the lift, which was quite small but perfectly adequate. The reception area was pleasant and well maintained and door staff were very helpful.

The bar on the second floor was also very nice and decorated to a modern standard. It would've been nice if hotel guests had been able to eat breakfast in the bar area, but this wasn't possible. It was a nice place to go and chill out, with free WiFi, and tea and coffee during the afternoon. I didn't have a drink there in the evening, but I believe the drinks were a little bit expensive.

The breakfast area was a little on the small side, but we only had to queue on our first day and the wait wasn't too long. The breakfast is a bit limited, but it was included in the price and meant that we weren't having to look for somewhere to eat every morning and to be honest it was enough to keep us going until lunch time. They serve a selection of cakes, e.g. donuts and muffins, bagels and a limited selection of fruit (usually apples). Drinks included tea, coffee, fruit juice or ice water. It is all self service but you can help yourself to as much or as little as you like. You can't take food up to your rooms (there is an extra charge for this) so you have to sit at one of the tables to eat there.

The location itself is excellent as it is pretty much central to all the main attractions, with the Empire State Building literally a 2 minute walk around the corner. It's also very near to some of the main shops including Macy's 34th Street store and many of the main high street stores. There is a subway station on the corner which takes you pretty much anywhere you need to go, uptown or downtown and the 7 day subway passes are extremely reasonsable if you plan to use the subway a lot.

As for places to eat, there are plenty of places near by. I would definitely recommend Hartlands Brewery underneath the Empire State Building for a traditional American Grill experience. And if you're on a real tight budget, there are a lot of places where you can buy a slice of pizza on the go, or McDonalds, KFC and Subway all within walking distance. Being in the Koreon District there are also a number of Eastern European restaurants nearby. Dwayne Read (Convenience Store) is just a round the corner and is extremely useful for any bits you might need on your stay, from cosmetics to nibbles!

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and New York in general. Staying in a suite was probably better than staying in a standard room, which might be on the small side, but you should definitely give this hotel a go if you're looking for somewhere in a central location, reasonably priced and well maintained! It's not the Plaza, but I would certainly recommend it and would definitely go there again if I revisit New York!

Room Tip: If you want a spacious room go for one of the suites.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KTReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#291 of 468 in New York City
2,572 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#190 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#241 of 468 in New York City
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#267 of 468 in New York City
1,261 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
#298 of 468 in New York City
1,070 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3805
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $166 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stanford NYC is a boutique urban retreat offering 124 cozy rooms and suites. Each one is beautifully equipped to meet the needs of Manhattan business and leisure travelers with plush, premium bedding, Bath & Body Works amenities and 42-inch plasma televisions with cable channels. Designed with the idea that today’s guest seeks out authentic connections to the cities they visit, Hotel Stanford offers warm, friendly pied-à-terre moments from New York City’s most famous attractions, restaurants and shopping, including the Empire State Building, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Theatre and Garment Districts and Times Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing