We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #186 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

First time in New York City. Wanted to experience the tourist items since we were there for only 4 nights. After reading reviews and looking at locations of different hotels, we decided on the Renaissance. Couldn't have made a better choice. Located in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is within easy walking distance to other tourist attractions: Empire State Building, Central Park, Grand Central Station, shopping on Fifth Avenue, Rockefeller Center, Ed Sullivan Theater as well as all the Broadway Theaters. The staff at the hotel were wonderful from the front desk to the concierge staff to the staff in the RLounge.

The rooms were nice. Other reviews talk about them being small but compared with other big city hotels, the rooms are more we expected. Hotel is very modern. We did not notice any area that was in ill-repair. The RLounge is fabulous. Had cocktails there every night prior to heading out to dinner or a play. We highly recommend this hotel. When we return to New York, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vodka_Tonic_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,481 of 2,411 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

Fantastic location with a staff eager and willing to serve. The rooms are nicely appointed, but do not expect your typical Marriott affair. The decor is nouveau, electronica music in the lobby and elevators, and overall, the place over-reaches a bit to be hip. However, by Midtown Manhattan standards, the rooms are a little larger than average and nicely appointed with relatively new furnishing consistent with the property, but not quite so in your face. While I'm not one for hotel bars, the R Lounge is worth the room price alone (I'm spending $220/night in February on a special offer) as it looks straight down Broadway and 7th Ave from 47th St - you won't find a better view of Times Square. I wish I had the coin to spend New Year's Eve here... All major theaters are within easy walking distance and the restaurant selection is typical touristy Times Square (go down to the Bowery or Flat Iron districts for great food at reasonable prices). The 49th St subway station for the N, Q, and R line is no more than 50 steps from the front door and from there, one can easily reach most anywhere in Manhattan in under 20 minutes and access to/from Grand Central and Penn stations is a breeze. I stayed in an upper floor room at the south end of the building and would recommend that guests avoid this as the building narrows and while my room is of equal size to others, it is turned 90 degrees from the normal arrangement. Thus the sound buffer provided by a short hallway from the door past the bathroom is absent and hallway noises are quite noticeable. Bottom line - if you can book it for less than $260/night then "book it".

Room Tip: Take advantage of the concierge/"Navigator" for tips about things to do and especially for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easystreets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Special thanks to Melisa at the front desk. She was very courteous and helpful, always had a smile for us.
Will definitely go back to this Hotel because of location, but overall because of the service we got at our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed here for work and it was a good experience. The location is fantastic, with most rooms having a view of Times Square. The hotel lobby has a very modern appeal and the rooms are nice. I thought they were a good size and didn't lack anything. The only problem I had was spending $17 a day for Internet access. I recommend grabbing a drink at the lounge overlooking Times Square.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoser_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

As a family we just love New York City having been a few times (pleasure and business) and for the first time we stayed on Times Square - literally! This hotel was central to everything. The hotel is contemporary and very clean and, as usual, the staff were so friendly and helpful. The concierge even managed to get us tickets to see Duran Duran at MSG at 24 hours notice which was brilliant! The room was a little basic for a 4*+ residence but to be honest we didn't spend much time there. The truly outstanding feature was the bar which was a few floors above ground level and overlooked Times Square and the fantastic buzz that it generates - it was also open to the public which meant it got a bit busy from time to time but in a good way. The only niggle was that the prices were a bit heavy but I guess it is Times Square, NY, NY!! If you're thinking of making a trip - go on and treat yourself - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Times Square or 7th Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#267 of 469 in New York City
4,313 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#171 of 469 in New York City
11,231 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,248 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#172 of 469 in New York City
2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $341 - $937 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing