We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teeny tiny!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #70 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel and that was plenty. It's in an excellent location and is very nicely decorated. The bedding was very comfortable. But, the room we had was a deluxe queen bed room. It was TINY. The shower/sink area was in the room with a curtain that could be pulled around for privacy. The toilet was behind a door but it was freezing cold there. We happened to look at the room across the hall and it was even smaller so it must have been a standard room.

The lobby was very small and congested as well. The entire hotel is very dark inside with no natural light coming in. It's dark wood with red accents. It felt claustrophobic.

The breakfast was very good and reasonably priced. The rooftop bar/restaurant was also lovely.

The staff was great! The hotel has a lot of positives but it's just too small for me.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 4,139 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017

We were so impressed with this lovely hotel. The staff is kind, welcoming and extremely professional. The hotel has an incredible bar on its rooftop which has a wonderful view an amazing drink and food selection. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL! We loved our stay and couldn't say enough great things.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drlanzil75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We had a lovely stay this week in this hotel, the location was brilliant very close to all the amenities. The staff were very helpful expecially the lady on the conciege desk. The bedroom was on the small size for two double beds. The breakfast was a total shambles, we had a buffet breakfast on the first day, not problem we knew it was basic but good and complimentary, with scrambled eggs sausage and bacon with danishes fruit and yoghurts! Then it changed the following day with staff everywhere but total chaos with a change to no buffet but pay for things that were hot and you could have a contiental plate with danishes pastries, toast (which was just bread) and one banana! We waited for this plate which arrived, after complaining about the toast, we were then given scrambled egg!!! Totally confused!!! We were told they had changed to this new system to give more variety, which you have to pay for!!! Why didn't they just carry on with the normal buffet like the first day and then offered other choices to pay for if you wanted more variety!! We felt it was more wasteful with food being given when you probably didnt want 3 pastries!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Although I've been more than a few times now, we stayed for 7 nights in this amazing boutique hotel, just off times square.The staff is what made it, the doormen Sevan, Lenny & Patrick assisted to every request on where to go & to do..that I had not done or gone before. The hotel restaurant served top steaks & wine! the ambience was cool & casual. Would highly recommend for anyone visiting for a few nights, who want to be close to all the action & stay in an relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: Modern Decadent Luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank byronblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Decided to stay in this hotel due to its good location. Is near the subway, is walking distance to the broadway and has lots of restaurants nearby.
The room is clean and the Wifi works well.
The breakfast is probably the only thing that needs to be improved upon. Not much varieties and is disappointing that the egg dishes are chargable and every one is only entitled to a banana (extra is chargeable).

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dodolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#82 of 471 in New York City
3,316 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#26 of 471 in New York City
2,453 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#105 of 471 in New York City
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 471 in New York City
3,306 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $216 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing