We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very cool, clean hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #51 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cool, clean hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Highly recommend. Friendly staff, clean updated room. A little pricy and a slim breakfast offering, but it is included in the room along with wifi.

Great location also! Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for writing a review about us on tripadvisor.

Most guests such as yourself, would agree that they find great value in our complimentary breakfast, wifi and access to Equinox gym. These are amenities that most hotels charge for. We appreciate feedback from all guests, and we utilize it as a tool to understand what we are doing right and what we can improve upon.

We hope that your next visit with us will be just as good.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,455
    1,007
    216
    62
    21
See reviews for
585
1,928
131
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumberland, maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed here and had a wonderful time. We felt very special and pampered, entering the oasis-like calm and dark from the tourist-bustle of Times Square. Staff were helpful and nice. Our room had some burned out lightbulbs and they changed at least some at our request while we were out.

The lobby, bar, and rooms are newly renovated and chic. We enjoyed the lounge music and the Marilyn Monroe movie playing in the bar. Our room (a standard queen) was small but elegant and well-designed, like a ship's cabin. I'd recommend they add a second mirror, though, perhaps over the desk. With the small vanity it was impossible for us two girls to get ready at the same time. We liked the bathroom area open to the room (pull across a curtain for privacy when showering) and the swanky glass-and-marble shower and vanity. The bed was very comfortable and the linens fine and crisp.

With the small, cozy room size, this would be great for a couple.

We enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast, as well, which included mini bagels, croissants and pastry, cereals, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. I especially enjoyed the warm boiled eggs.

Unfortunately the TV was out because of construction, but they comped us one pay-per-view movie as compensation. The heating/cooling unit was quite loud and despite tinkering it turned on/off all night which was not terribly restful. Without it on, the room was too hot. But because the room is so small, it flipped back and forth quickly between heat/cool mode to keep at the desired temp. Not sure how that could be helped...

All in all, we definitely enjoyed our stay. Without spending a huge amount, we felt pampered and special. Thanks, Sanctuary!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel this month and the lobby is dark with constant throbbing music. The room was small with no storage. The hotel was clean, the desk staff were helpful, although not always knowledgeable. The bedding was comfortable. The view out of our room was of a fire escape and concrete wall. The hallways and stairs are dark, lit by strange red lights. The location was really good for seeing shows, Times Square and other sites in mid-town. We walked to the NBC studios and the MOMA. The breakfast was of good quality. The coffee they served was really good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank techgirlNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I'd like to apologize that your experience at our unique hotel was not what you expected.. We have a very distinctive contemporary style . As you see from most of our reviews, our guests appreciate a cozy, warm, and clean atmosphere that we strive to create at the Sanctuary Hotel. We make every effort to present our visitors with a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city, creating a "home away from home" feel, with a touch of glamour. The goal with the design is to create a tranquil and warm environment that would be representative of the Sanctuary Hotel name (not to mention the genuine and attentive services provided by our staff).

I'm happy that you took the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and it seems from your review that you enjoyed your time with us overall.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, we hope that you think of the Sanctuary and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for reservations.

ot to mention our very kind and helpful staff. To some degree, it is hard to truly appreciate all the extras we offer with just a one night stay. Did you have the opportunity to join us for our complimentary evening wine and cheese reception or perhaps our signature continental breakfast? We wish the Casablanca could be the perfect choice for everyone but we know that many travelers have different needs and preferences; however, we do feel very strongly about authenticity and full disclosure so I am particularly concerned if you felt that the website was not representative of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I arrived back from NYC on 13 April 2012. We spent 4 nights in the Sanctuary Hotel West 47th Street one block off of Times Square. The hotel is in a fantastic position and within walking distance of all tourist sites, shops and restaurants. We were on the 9th floor, the room was lovely, a huge bed (very comfy) and a huge shower which I was really impressed with. The staff were excellent so friendly and willing to help you with anything. A big thank you must go out to Jacob (S.T.A.R) who organised transport back to JFK for us during rush hour!!! Thank you Jacob!. The reception staff were also very helpful and friendly, thank you. A continental breakfast is provided in the mornings until 10.30 on weekdays and until 11am on weekends. There is a good selection of cereals, pastries, bagels, toast and fruit with tea, coffee and orange juice, this is just what we needed to set us up for a busy day. I would definately return to this hotel, the location is perfect. The hotel has a relaxing atmosphere and its just what you need after walking for miles through NYC! Thank you again to all of the staff at Sanctuary Hotel for making our stay fabulous.

Room Tip: Well we were on the 9th floor (top floor) and there were no issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your 4 night visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.

Many reviewers would agree that here at the Sanctuary Hotel, we make every effort to provide all our guests with a unique and memorable stay. The goal is to create a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city, while still being steps away from the excitement of Times Square.

As for our complimentary continental-style breakfast, we try and offer a good variety and are constantly adding to the selection instead of just the basics.

We appreciate the great feedback and hope to have you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We're staying at the hotel for our honeymoon and when we arrived we were warmly welcome by the reception staff. Beautiful chocolates and a note inviting us for complimentary cocktails, to celebrate, had been left in our room.

The rooms are indeed on the small side but spacious enough for a couple. Don't be put off by the bathroom, the shower can be shielded by a curtain and the loo is separated by a door.

We're glad that breakfast is included and there's a large selection of pastries, cereal, bread and fruit.

Each time we go out or arrive back, the staff are enthusiastic and keen to advise us about where to go and what to see. The service is second to none!

Fantastic location- 2 minute walk to Times Square. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are so glad that you decided to choose the Sanctuary Hotel as the place to celebrate your honeymoon.

Knowing that you felt our "service was second to none", puts a smile on all our faces.

Should you plan a future trip back to NYC, we hope that you think of the Sanctuary. We would love to have you back.

Warm Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#41 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#50 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): $289 - $753
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing