We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice for NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #70 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My girlfriend and I spent three nights at the Sanctuary after choosing it via TripAdvisor. The room was ready early (around noon), which is always a plus. The room was small but clean and inviting. Everyone there was always friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were great, and the atmosphere was very . . . hip (can't think of a different description). It was a shame that the windows in the room only faced an open shaft, so there were no views and very little natural light coming into the room. Oh well, no big deal. It was clean, quiet, and right in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrlandoPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

It's great to hear when guest of ours have a great experience when they stay at the Sanctuary Hotel.

We are not perfect, but we certainly do try to make every effort in making our guests happy and we learn from our mistakes. Nothing matters more to us than having our guests leave the hotel with a overwhelming experience of service satisfaction, and with the eagerness to return soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,400 - 3,404 of 4,143 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

Decidedly not a cheap place to stay, but worth every cent. Great location only a few steps from all the Broadway shows, yet super quiet. Small rooms but great decor, good beds, spacious rainfall showers and very clean.

One small drawback is that the hotel bar closes at 11pm and the breakfast buffet wasn't always sufficiently stacked. Also we would have preferred breakfast longer than 10am.

A huge compliment goes to the concierge service, in particular Brandon who went above and beyond in organizing a flight home for us after ours had been cancelled. We enjoyed another full day in NYC while he took care of the details. Thanks again!!

We definately will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Thank you for posting a great review of us on tripadvisor.com.

Guest feedback is always important to us and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please let me know when you plan to stay with us again and I will personally make sure that you will have a later breakfast and that the bar will stay open longer.

Brandon will be happy to know about your comments.

Hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Arrived on a Monday morning for a one night stay. My room was ready at 11:00am which was a pleasant surprise and great beginning to my day. Before I went up to my room, the Concierge, Brandon, spent about 30 minutes with me giving me taxi tips, subway directions, making dinner reservations, and mapping out the locations of the clothing stores I wanted to visit. Brandon was helpful, patient, kind and thoughtful. I felt like he would help me out during my visit, day or night, if I needed it. This was important to me since I was traveling alone and I think he understood that. Many, many thanks to you Brandon for providing exceptional customer service! Then there is Michael to thank. Michael helped me navigate back to the hotel late afternoon when I called to get directions. He stayed on the phone with me until I found the hotel and he was so happy to meet me. Michael and I talked for nearly 45 minutes. He told me about his experience growing up in Rhode Island and what brought him to NYC. Michael is another grand example of providing outstanding customer service to his guests. Thank you, Michael, for helping to make my stay at The Sanctuary an outstanding experience. By the way, the bed and pillows were ultra comfortable and the room was extremely clean. I couldn't have been happier or slept better. When I asked Michael for an iced tea, one of the hotel staff ran across the street to get me a cup. Who does that these days? Bravo to the hotelier who hired Brandon and Michael. Both gentlemen should be recognized in a meaningful way for the special way they treat their guests. They are just the kind of representatives of your hotel that you want them to be. I will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: I was on the 9th floor, room 906, and the room had a window facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyd20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

Thank you for expressing such great feedback regarding your stay at the Sanctuary Hotel.

Michael and Brandon will be so happy to read about your comments. They (as well as the rest of the staff) really put forth great effort in providing our guests with the best experience possible. The goal is to always provide our guests with S.T.A.R. (Service Tailored to Any Request) service.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Knowing how hard it is to find an affordable place to stay in New York City that seems worth the money, I turned to Tripadvisor for suggestions. While The Sanctuary didn't have perfect reviews, the majority were positive (and I'm well aware some people are never happy regardless of circumstances). Overall, my fiance and I had a great experience staying on a Tuesday through Thursday during the week. The room we stayed in was a bit small (I wasn't surprised by New York standards though), but very well arranged and had everything we needed. Not much of a view from our room, but I don't expect to stare out the window much when I'm in New York. For only being a half a block away from Times Square, we were impressed with how quiet it was. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, even helping us with rather last minute arrangements for transportation back to the airport. As some other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast was simple, but I was impressed by the fact that there was breakfast and it wasn't an additional charge (I've stayed at several really nice hotels where they don't offer anything other than maybe a restaurant or direct you to the local Starbucks). The food was good and the coffee was hot, which meets my morning standards. Free Wi-Fi in the rooms too, which is always a plus. Convenient location to Times Square and Broadway shows while not being too far of a cab ride or subway transit to other locations. Overall, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kermit753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

We truly appreciate when guest take the time to write about their experience with us. Thank you for giving us such great feedback.

Our staff takes great pride in providing the best service possible for our guests and they will be happy to hear about your comments. Many guests such as yourself have made great remarks about the fact that we offer complimentary breakfast, wi-fi, and gym passes to some of the best gyms in NYC (Equinox and Sports Club LA).

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This hotel is tastefully decorated and well situated for a visit to Manhattan. It is within walking distance of all the attractions in the upper district and a short metro or taxi ride to lower Manhattan. The staff are excellent, very helpfull with advice and well mannered. The location on 47 street is very close to Times square but at the same time quiet so sleep was not a problem. The rooms are clean and modern. I would use this hotel again no problem.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Sanctuary Hotel.

We appreciate feedback from our guests as it gives us an opportunity to continually enhance the experience here.

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#83 of 471 in New York City
3,320 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#26 of 471 in New York City
2,455 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#107 of 471 in New York City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 471 in New York City
3,309 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $213 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing