We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall decent hotel, some specific issues that might not be a big deal to everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #336 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 25 August 2017

As other reviewers noted, the price I paid on a week night was reasonable, and the hotel is in a pretty good location for most activities. I was on a work trip, so booked on location for my meeting, not attractions.

Room was clean and decor was updated throughout hotel. But that was part of what I found annoying...they boasted about having updated rooms with the latest technology, but there was not a single USB port in the whole room! I have stayed at plenty of less expensive hotels which have USB ports installed in desks, lamps, walls, etc. why do a remodel without including a few of those, especially if catering to an international crowd??

My biggest disappointment was the smell in the room. It smelled like housekeeping had spilled a bottle of Febreze in the room. I think Fbreze smells way too perfume-y and nauseating, so it was nasty to me, but when I sat in the chair next to the AC unit I realized that the smell was coming from the act unit, which also smelled strongly of mildew. I think maybe the air freshener was intentionally used to mask the old AC smell.

It was busy with tourists but I did not experience slow elevators or other service issues, and the room was typically sized (I had a king bed, standard room) for a NYC hotel.

Overall- decor is updated, technology is not, location is above average, AC was below average, room seemed musty, room was clean to my satisfaction, room door was way below standard as it had no buffer and slammed shut hard making extremely loud noises(they all seemed to based on what I could hear). Staff was friendly.

As a business traveler I probably would not stay here again, but as a vacation traveler, it's probably a decent deal for the price depending on day of week and time of year.

Room Tip: End rooms. But I think they are all about the same size in square footage. End rooms are far from el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dsb0980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycdtdt, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback. Although we’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service and unbeatable location, it’s disappointing to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. It's unfortunate you had issues with odor and noise. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service and a comfortable environment to our guests at all times so please know that your concerns will be addressed to the appropriate members of our team moving forward.

We do hope you allow us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 190 of 5,009 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

14 of us stayed here as our base for a 40th birthday get together - mainly couples. The rooms were of various standards ranging from large to small and one door rotting at the bottom but our room was very good - spacious, excellent housekeeping, large comfortable bed. The downs were definitely the lifts which were slow even when not busy, the opening times of the bar and lack of tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. The good points - good location, friendly and helpful staff. I would go back but would ask for a large room on lower floors so the stairs could be used instead of the lifts.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Georgina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycdtdt, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thanks for the review, Georgina!

We are glad you had a great experience with us! We are disappointed to see some of your concerns, and we will let our team know about them. We always work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. We look forward to hosting you again for an even better experience.

Thanks again, and have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Located close to subway access points is a plus for this hotel for business travelers that have meetings in the local area and that are coming In from JFK or la guardia.

The hotel rooms are fair and include nothing special.

A clean space with a desk gets the job done.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sherlock-usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycdtdt, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback. We strive to offer our guests quality service and comfort. However, it's unfortunate that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. We'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team.

We'd love to see you again in the future to share a more positive experience with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Very well located in east midtown only a mile from ES building.
Excellent subway access with 3 station on your doorstep.
Fairly small room with water damage to bathroom door & no tea making facilities.
Very helpful "Bag Boys" not a fair description of a team of porters who were very helpful & friendly at all times ( particularly Ronnie).
Great food & drink available close by.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycdtdt, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thanks for your review, Rob!

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're happy that you loved our location and friendly service. However, we'll address your concerns for our rooms with our team moving forward so we may improve for the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We'd love to share a more positive experience with you next time. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Lots of foreign people there prob because it's cheap. There is no parking there is a bar. I don't know if there's a pool I don't know if there's a workout room. Someone tried opening up my door while I was there.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank J5424XGsamuelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycdtdt, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit this feedback.

We are always working as hard as we can to provide the best stays for our guests. We regret to hear about your experience. We will share all of your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope you plan on staying with us again soon. We'd love to improve your opinion of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 470 in New York City
5,012 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#215 of 470 in New York City
4,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,815 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,920 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#210 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $170 - $745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing