We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,809)
Filter reviews
1,809 results
Traveller rating
1,089
464
149
44
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,089
464
149
44
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgin parlournew yorkbeautiful hotelbritish airwaysclassic hotelthe club loungegrand central stationmini barpark avenuetimes squarerockefeller centeran upgradecoffee machinehousekeeping stafflobby areafifth avenueupon check
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 1,809 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel! We stayed here for five nights on vacation to NYC and cannot say enough about the lovely room, the attentive staff, and the prime location. Clearly the hotel has been recently updated and the details are perfect. From the classic, but meticulous tile work in the bathroom to the incredibly comfortable bed (five nights and still no back pain!), the room was well appointed in every way. The lobby, the bar, and the common spaces of the hotel are spacious, open, and stylish in a way that aligns with the hotel's history. The staff were helpful and attentive. When we had an issue with the temperature control in our room, an engineer was sent up within minutes and we were comped breakfast as well as drinks for our trouble. The location is ideal--out of the way from the Times Square ridiculousness, but within walking distance of theatres and other attractions. It also sits right on the subway line for Lexington Ave. and is a short walk to Grand Central. Keep in mind that if you're looking for a hotel that will give you a view, this isn't the one (only 15 floors), but the rich history, classic and comfortable decor, and intimate feel far outweigh the view (which is hard to come by in New York anyway).

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Nice railroad style mid town hotel in a great location. You can get great prices if you hunt around early enough. Nice lobby and bar area and helpful staff. Rooms a little pocky though and the hotel has no restaurant to speak of, which lets it down a little.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We were excited to stay at the barlclay intercontinental as we normally stay at the Times Square location. Our checkin process was very pleasant was upgraded to the next level room as an abassador. The room was adequate, free water which was nice and two bar vouchers which were unexpected. After the first night we realized even at the 65 degree setting our room didn’t get below 72. Next morning on our way out to breakfast I informed the receptionist of our issue she said she would inform maintenance.we didn’t not receive a note or a voicemail so assumed our issue was resolved, it wasn’t. NYC was low 30’s outside so we cracked a window and still room was hovering at 75 degrees with the cool set to 65. Had we been informed nobody checked it out or they couldn’t fix we would have asked to change rooms. Housekeeping: I like to tip every morning on the pillow as a courtesy to the staff and to ensure we get our coffee refilled and towels replenished. First day service was great, after second night all they did was make our bed which turn-down service may have done? We had no coffee pods for the next morning and no washcloths in the bathroom. Very disappointed! The lobby was beautiful, the bar was great but we will be staying at the time square location going forward.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stacey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New York Barclay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hello Richard289,

Thanks for taking time to write your review about our hotel. I am glad to see a post from our valued IHG Rewards Club Ambassador member. I am glad to see that you have regarded our rooms to be nice. On the downside, I am sorry if we failed to provide the excellent accommodation and level of staff service that you expect and deserve from our housekeeping staff and the issues with the air conditioning unit. I know how important it is to have the comfort of being home away from home and I am sorry that this did not happen during your stay.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Again, thank you for your review. If you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

Dianne L.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for five nights and it was the most amazing experience. Rooms were clean and beds made neatly everyday. Double deluxe room had a huge TV, the bathroom was clean and posh. About enough room, could’ve done with a it more for 2 adults 1 teenager in double deluxe room (2 small-ish double beds)(if 2 stay in the same bed) and inter connecting rooms are available. We interconnected to a deluxe king room which was equally as lovely! Overall, a wonderful experience, in a perfect location for getting to well-known places with close proximity to Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building and Times Square!! NOTE: do not touch any of the things in the room minibar unless you are willing to pay high prices (around $9 for can of Coca Cola and $8 for a bag of M&Ms), as the cabinet has sensors that will charge your account after 60 seconds once the item is removed from its place.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank looba_183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I’ve been staying here for well over 10 years. My recent stay was over the Easter weekend. The staff is hospitable and provides excellent service. I can especially recognize Annmara at the Ambassador Desk, Gregory at the Front Desk and Joseph and Freddy in the lobby restaurant and our room attendant (I didn’t get her name). The hotel has an excellent location close to Grand Central Station, 42nd St., Rockefeller Center, Saks 5th Ave., Barney’s, Bergdorf Goodman and Bloomingdale’s and reopened in 2016 after a multimillion dollar massive renovation project. The rooms are beautifully appointed and artwork abounds in the rooms and elevator lobbies. The breakfast buffet is very good and offers an excellent variety in a beautiful setting. The hotel is proactive in assuring its guests satisfaction by reaching out to you online during your stay to see how everything is going.

Room Tip: Join the Ambassador Loyalty Program for great benefits.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank AJP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews