We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #162 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We just returned from a six night stay at this hotel and we were very happy that we chose it. While I agree that it is not ultra posh, it is clean and modern and the rooms are large. Linens were top notch and the bed very comfortable. We were on the tenth floor facing Eighth Avenue and we loved being able to open the window a little to hear the city noises. It was quiet with the window closed. We booked early and took advantage of the Trip Advisor special rate. We usually ate breakfast early, but got later and later as time went on and we never had a problem finding a table and didn't have to wait in a long line. We were pleasantly surprised by the variety and quality of the breakfast offerings. One morning a staff person was walking around with a basket offering people cookies and granola bars. While it is busy, people don't linger and are eager to move on and get out to explore fabulous New York City. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family. We loved the area. Close to Times Square and theatres, but it had more of a residential feel. We were pleased to find a safe in the closet. We would have liked a mini fridge, but maybe you can ask for one. It wasn't essential, but would be handy to keep drinks cold.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,170 - 3,174 of 5,503 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

I travel to NYC usually once a year for work and my family accompanies me. This is close enough for my business on 6th but close enough to everything else to keep my family entertained. We love all of the restaurants on 9th just behind the hotel.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
3  Thank KellyTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Book early to get good rates. Location is excellent. Walking distance to broadway shows, times square, hop-on and hop-off bus stops, circle line sightseeing cruise. Staff are very helpful, adviced us to take the yellow cab instead of the airport shuttle to the airport (since there were four of us). Turns out to be cheaper and faster. They have a counter near the front desk that can help you out with almost everything, got them to book us Jersey Boys tickets whilst we are out sightseeing, great seats too.
Breakfast is free, but the breakfast area tend to be overly crowded at certain times. Not much choices compared to holiday inn express. Rooms are large and bed is comfortable. No complaints there. Overall, a good value for money especially if you book early.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I cannot say enough about the high quality of customer service that I recieved on a May 2012 visit. At the front desk Melissa was a god-send in working through a difficult situation and provided clear, direct and compassionate assistance. In the breakfast area, Steven went beyond the pale to ensure that every morsel of food that was served was hot, fresh and delicious. Housekeeping was invaluable in promptly locating a lost iPhone, credit cards and DL. Superior housekeeping services with genuine hospitality was delivered by Virgin. Everyone of these beautiful people saved my NYC expierence. Moreover, the location, access, and neighborhood make this an excellent choice for visitors. I agree with Stefanie T that these are moderate and not deluxe accommodations but with all other factors in mind, you would be hard pressed to find any better deal in mid-town (n) New York City.

Room Tip: The westside (back) of the hotel is quieter. It's NYC so get a low floor if possible. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Service was great! Hotel staff was always very friendly. They tell you right up front about the breakfast issues. I went down at 6:15A each morning and almost had the place to myself. After 7:30A it gets very busy in the breakfast area.
As always in NYC parking is an issue. However they have a parking garage as part of the hotel with Valet parking. Pull into it just before the hotel entrance on 8th Ave. Be sure to get your ticket validated before leaving the hotel to pick up your car.
Great job to the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoellaCumberbatch, Director of Guest Services at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Craig H,

Wow! We have already printed your review and shared it with everyone here. We are all smiles after reading your review. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are overjoyed that you were especially pleased with our service and Valet parking. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests are completely satisfied with their stay. We do hope to welcome you back on your next trip to New York City. We love having you here!

Warm regards,

Joella Cumberbatch
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,249 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#186 of 469 in New York City
8,141 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#251 of 469 in New York City
2,452 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 469 in New York City
9,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $201 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing