We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,086)
Filter reviews
10,086 results
Traveller rating
3,035
3,385
2,063
947
656
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,035
3,385
2,063
947
656
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand central station great location new york chrysler building club level times square large hotel busy hotel bryant park hotel lobby king room late check nyc hotel big apple few blocks subway manhattan
Filter
Updating list...
6,095 - 6,100 of 10,086 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This summer we decided to take the family to New York. It was totally overwhelming trying to figure out the right hotel to take our 4 children. We did some reasearch and based on recommends from friends, we selected the Grand Hyatt, New York. This was a great choice for the family. The Grand Hyatt is located at Grand Central Station, and can't be anymore centrally located to this famous subway station. It was a perfect place for us to take the subway all over the city. The hotel has recently gone a major remodel. The lobby is the hub for being a tourist. There is a small market, and a restaurant in the main lobby. Our children are ages 13,12,10, & 6, and they were able to walk and get to everything that we wanted to see during our 5 day stay. This was a great base in a famous area. We walked to Times Square, Rockeller Center, Empire State Building, etc. Make sure that you inquire about the roof top patio on the 16/17 floor. We discovered it ourselves. Best views of the city are the top floors. As far as the family was concerned, the Grand Hyatt is in a great location with remodeled rooms. We didn't hang out at the hotel. The breakfast place across the street is fantastic. Go there for breakfast. Also, make sure that you go to Five Napkin Burger when you go to New York. It is worth it. If you need anyother ideas for a family stay, we did Statue of Liberty, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Plaza, Central Park, World Trade Center, Wall Street, American Girl Doll store, Lego store, M & M store, Nintendo store, Times Square- day and night, a Broadway Show, riding the subway, and walking everywhere. Bring your walking shoes. Also, Grand Central next door to the hotel is amazing. The energy and the hustle and bustle of New York was the best part of it all.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have remodeled larger bathrooms and others don't. The higher the floor, the better chance of a view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeaCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with convenient location attached to Grand Central Station. Walking distance to many things and subway is steps away to get everywhere.
The concierge has sources for tickets and entry passes to all the events.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JFenwickAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Aside from the title the rooms were cramped and my view is the side of a building. Plus who wants to go downstairs and be in the middle of grand central station. This is probably the most overpriced and over rated hotel in New York.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBISTUART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Let me start off on a positive note and say that the location is absolutely perfect. You are a couple steps away from Grand Central Station, walking distance from 5th Avenue shopping, Times Square, and other attractions.

Me and my friend had a room on the 20th floor, with two double beds. The room was okay size with an okay view of a neighboring building. The bathroom wasn't as big as two girls with make-up and appliances galore would have hoped, but we managed. The first day we walked into a freezing room (temp was about 55) and tampered with the temperature dial yielding no luck. We went down to the lobby and within 20 minutes had a man come up and fix the problem.

Let me mention that this hotel is very business-oriented, so if you are 20-something year olds coming to New York to casually visit and explore (like we did) then this is probably not the place for you. One big reason for this: the concierge had no recommendations for us as far as nightlife went. Like I had previously mentioned, if going out in New York is not on your agenda then disregard this part, however, for the rest of you be rest assured that you will find no help from the workers at Grand Hyatt as to finding good bars, lounges, and nightclubs in the vast Manhattan area. Believe me, we asked a couple of employees in the lobby and the closest we got to a recommendation went like this:

Me: "Do you have a list of recommendations for bars and lounges in the area that offer delicious drinks and small plate meals?"
Grant Hyatt employee: "Just have a cab take you to Times Square"
Me: "Okay great, can you recommend a specific lounge that offers good drinks and appetizer-style dining on a Friday night?"
GH employee: "Just get dropped off at Times Square."
Me: Blinks. Waits.
GH employee: "Well, yea..." *walks away*

Of course we ended up managing to Yelp for a good hour and found a couple of excellent places but the process could have been much, much easier.

Overall I give this hotel 4 starts for location and room, but took off a star for a sub-par concierge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for what was supposed to only be 3 nights. But we were stranded bc of Hurricane Sandy and stayed for an additional 4 nights at the original nightly rate we booked it at. There was extra staff to make sure that only registered guests entered the hotel at this time (you had to show your room key when re-entering the building). The best was the hotel was right next to Grand Central Station so you can take a shuttle from either JFK or LaGuardia for a minimal amount of $13/pp. Location is the key. Walking distance to Times Square, Broadway, shopping on 5th Avenue, the Empire States Building, etc!!! Staff were pleasant. Rooms are small but it is NYC. Most importantly it's clean. Plus they gave us vouchers for free coffee. I'd stay there again, for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews