We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a luxury business hotel in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #321 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great choice for a luxury business hotel in Manhattan”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt in New York several times. This time I was lucky to be upgraded to a suite on the 32nd floor. I enjoyed the views, the space, my own dining room table, 2 large HD TV's. My bed was great and had one of the most comfortables bedding I experienced at Hyatt.

The check in service was fast and efficient. Having a lightning fast internet connection in the room is great. Like most Hyatt hotel the system does not allow to send emails using your own domain - what is a little bit of a frustration.

The location is fantastic. Public transportation to all airports is available right in front of the hotel.

The lounge was nice and breakfast was good. The gym was nice for a city hotel.
Overall I can recommend the hotel for a stay in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eTurboNews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear eTurboNews,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We see that you got to take advantage of all of our amenities in your upgraded room. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Lauren Schubert
Public Relations & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,661
    3,055
    1,754
    736
    476
See reviews for
2,065
2,281
416
2,310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

For Starters
The public areas look great and the designers really got this right.
They took the old Trump Hyatt Gold gaudy glitz and buried it.In its place is a world class dramatic lobby of today and tomorrow that clearly is in keeping with more of the Grand Hyatt architecture and design tradition more so of Hyatt International standards.

Check in Reception
Excellent and highly hospitable with can do anything attitude

The new and inspired club lounge inside and out is simply sensational looking.
It ranks up there with the slickest looking executive lounges I have seen anywhere in the world. In nice weather they even have an outdoor deck to enjoy the offerings outdoors. Brilliant! The silly dead butterflies on display seem odd to me inside the lounge and I'll assume some decorator’s weird idea of what would go well in the new lounge.

The club is now located on the 16th floor (previously the 31rst floor) and only there did they do really do a hard renovation to the hallways and immediate areas entering the club. It’s a welcome refresh. It would have been cool to follow through on every floor.....Relocating the lounge on the 31rst floor was a good idea as the elevators are poor and take a considerably long time to get up to that floor. Especially when the hotel has high occupancy.

The hotels elevators are looking worse for wear and they are the same small cramped elevators. One would hope they are slated for replacement or refurbishment.

The club lounge closes for breakfast at 9:30 AM in the morning
For those of us coming from other time zones especially International guests this seems uncaring and insensitive. The breakfast is satisfactory however the hotel should pay more attention to baking quality and variety of offerings as the previously did in the past. Evening offerings are now very minimal also compared to years past. The beverage selection is outstanding

Accommodations’
The folks at check in couldn’t have been more hospitable and welcoming
They upgraded me to a nice jr suite as a Hyatt Diamond long time guest
Unfortunately it was very noisy on a mid level floor facing 42nd street. I liked my room otherwise. The caring good folks here yet upgraded me further to a quieter larger suite where I had a wonderful one night stay overall after moving.
I really appreciated the small refrigerator that they now have in every room!

The unexpected upside here to the new rooms is though the bed is a platform (not a fan of such beds typically) it appears Hyatt has indeed found a mattress that can disguise how firm the platform bed really is. One gets a satisfactory enough night’s sleep. Housekeeping overall needs a little more attention to detail. It seems that they are rushed to finish their duties leaving some small unattended concerns. Mind you it’s still in the acceptable range

The Grand Hyatt New York Executive Club lounge was in years past the Gold standard of club lounge offerings they do need to step up their game less on presentation which is excellent and more on substance. It would bring me back more frequently.
Let’s hope for more continued improvement certainly the hotel has been made more desirable.My thanks to the hotel for recognizing Gold Passport members.
This is where the hotel still shines Guest Program recognition.

The Hyatt may not be the best choice in town but it still remains on my very possible list every time I come into town depending on rate which frequently can be wildly overpriced. The Grand Hyatt is dependable overall and the location can’t be beat.
Experiences will widely vary due to size of property and a very different array of room types.

While it’s far from a great renovation it’s an adequate one and a hotel after many years is now looking better. The hotels management has changed a number of times over the course of the years. What's great about the hotel is Hyatt finds some remarkable individuals that always seem to care about the customer with or without issues that can arise.

Even though challenges remain at this hotel at times I continue to return thanks to the caring team that helps you to forget this is a large convention hotel with 31 floors and over 1000 plus rooms.
Just think how hard it must be to manage all guest expectations.
They do reasonably well despite the service bumps along the road.

Thank You Grand Hyatt for many years of caring service at the end of the day and taking good care of me!
Kudos too for being interactive with your customers/customer service online and off!
We can be a hard bunch to please :)

Room Tip: Hotel has many rooms share what your hopeful preferences are as they have a can do attitude here.If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frequentstaydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here on business for two nights this week. I haven't been here in a while and they have totally redone the lobby. A bit too modern for my taste but not bad. Service checking in was quick and efficient. Concierge was very helpful. I had forgotten a tie and he helped me find a place (across the street - K&G) to find one at a really good price. They've also put in a small market place on the main floor which is nice to get drinks, light snacks, etc. Only one drawback was the hot water took a very long time to come up the first day - so long that I thought at first I was going to have to take a cold shower. Eventually it did come up and it was better the second day. The room was otherwise clean and well appointed.

Room Tip: If you're not used to noise at hight, pick a room higher up and away from the 42nd Street and L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiNut02760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The hotel has been recently renovated and it shows. The rooms are contemporary (in a pseudo Asian/bamboo way.)

You can see the old and tired portions of the hotel in the elevators, some hallways etc.

Being that the hotel is embedded within Grand Central Staition, it is very conven

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Located next to Central station. Walking distance to Park Ave., 5th Ave., Times Square, Rockefeller Center...etc.
The room is completely renovated except the carpet is a bit sticky. I love the contemporary headboard décor. Comfy bedding! Great price for a 4 stars hotel. Service quality definitely not deserving 4 stars; I would rate them 2 stars for service. Doorman do not greet to customer. Bell desk’s service was poor. The front desk’s service was average (don’t feel welcome). Other than the service, the facility vs. $$$ is well worth it.

Room Tip: Location! Location! Location! Located next to Central station. Walking distance to Park Ave., 5t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juicy8914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#189 of 467 in New York City
9,547 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,053 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
6,475 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $262 - $677
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing