We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice -clean- great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #130 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I just stayed at The Blakeley on 55th street on Easter weekend. Its really a great little place. Friendly well trained staff. Clean rooms. Nice ammentities and a great location. Really couldnt ask for more.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 8th floor.It has a nice layout -bathroom at one end bedroom on the other and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank windows1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 840 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The hotel was well located for our needs and a subway stop is nearby. It is a comfortable walk to Central Park. We stayed in a king suite which had a Keurig coffee maker and shower with a "rain-head." The only drawback was that our room faced the street and even though we were on the 10th floor we could still hear street noise. It wasn't a deal breaker, we were in NYC and expected it. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ld71000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Quite a pleasant, clean and comfortable hotel, after all, all we did was sleep there and make coffee in the morning. Helpful staff at front desk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erparf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I'm not an obsessive compulsive individual; however I do expect a few things to be done when I stay at a hotel. I had the gut feeling that the coffee cups weren't being washed, so I decided to put a dab of toothpaste on the bottom of the cup. They were also used. Needless to say, when we came back to the room after it was cleaned, I looked at the bottom of the cups, and the toothpaste was still there. My daughter and I were grossed out because all we could think of was how often do they do that? I called down to the manager and explained what I did. He was apologetic and offered to bring up clean cups. He also offered to clean the room more thoroughly the next day. I told him I just wanted to make sure the cups were put in the dishwasher or at least washed with soap and hot water. They didn't take the dirty cups when they dropped off the supposedly clean cups. We make coffee, and the next morning I expected to see just two clean cups left. The cleaning staff once again left the two cups with the dab of toothpaste in the room and placed them as if they had been cleaned along with the other two cups they had brought up. Again, I called the manager. He basically blew me off. I will not stay at this hotel again. What else are they pretending to clean?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Moreland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights in March 2012. The hotel is perfectly located, friendly, accommodating, & nicely appointed. The rooms are large and well supplied, with very comfortable beds. Cleaning service is thorough and helpful. All inquiries were answered with a cheerful attitude. We paid $225 per night which includes a continental breakfast ($2 tip expected per person). We stayed on a lower floor because of complaints about the elevator and street noise. We had no view, but we were usually only in the room at night when getting ready for bed. I have previously stayed on the upper West side for less, but the savings in taxi and subway fares makes up for some of the cost of the room. I would not hesitate to stay again. Only two drawbacks: the free breakfast was only average and the wifi internet is spotty and painfully slow. As for breakfast, I walked to the Westway diner (9th & 44th) about 1/2 mile away on two mornings and had an excellent NYC diner experience for $7.

Room Tip: Lower floor due to slow elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bronson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#112 of 471 in New York City
4,516 reviews
Midtown
The Lombardy
The Lombardy
#257 of 471 in New York City
498 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#67 of 471 in New York City
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#123 of 471 in New York City
1,340 reviews
Midtown
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#203 of 471 in New York City
97 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 471 in New York City
3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $192 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing