We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A ver good midtown Manglhattan choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blakely New York

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Blakely New York
Ranked #154 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A ver good midtown Manglhattan choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Spending 4 nights in this hotel at beginning of round the world trip. Found the location unbeatable and price good. Staff have all been very helpful ie. blown light bulb replaced immediately and more coffee capsules arrived speedily so would recommend this small hotel. Other reviewers have commented about the lifts/elevators. In January this has been no problem, so no long waits. Others have mentioned breakfast which, I would agree, could do with a little improvement. It would be nice to have healthier choice cereals for example and a wider choice of fruit. The staff there have been fine, no rudeness but we did find the tip voucher a little strange.

My only criticism of the place is that it does look a little tired and dark. The whole decor needs subtle lifting, both the lobby and rooms. Ours was a good size, as was the bathroom so good comfort feeling here but I did want to take the decor by the scruff of its neck! It deserves it ....

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Langalenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    519
    106
    26
    16
See reviews for
380
465
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
OSWEGO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hotel exceeds all expectations. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. Location, Location, Location. Half a block from subway. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrap53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This is really pretty picky to mention, but the elevator service in the hotel is really a bit of a problem. During our visit, only one elevator was operating most of the time. You really had to add an extra 10 minutes to any planned meeting times!

Elevators aside, The Blakely is outstanding. Spacious, comfortable rooms, well decorated and comfortably appointed; modern plumbing and bathrooms; free wifi internet access with really good bandwidth; breakfast included; wonderful Midtown location on (by Manhattan standards) a quiet street. Back in the "picky" department, the bath towels will soft and fluffy could have been a bit larger.

The staff was universally thoughtful, responsive and available. I had left my iPhone in my room when I checked out. By the time reached the ground floor and before I had missed it, housekeeping had found it, called the front desk and brought it to me!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My sister and I stayed here for one evening during a girls' trip to NYC. This is my second stay in this hotel and it was everything I remembered it from the first visit (about 2 years ago). The staff is very accommodating and very helpful with any requests or questions. We were upgraded to a suite due to a promotion. The bathroom was upscale and luxurious.

Complimentary breakfast was great. And the hotel also has free wifi.

A couple of con's, but it wasn't enough for me to demote a rating point:

Thermostat was truly controlled by the hotel, not the individual rooms. We couldn't get the temp above 68-ish, but it was warm enough.

Only one elevator was in working order, but it really didn't affect us any.

No extra blankets in the room, but I'm sure they would have brought us some if we requested.

And of course the most attractive feature about the hotel is the LOCATION! Walking distance to/from Grand Central. Couple blocks from Central Park and the great shopping on 5th Ave. We walked to dinner, a show and back to the hotel. Great overall stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennypenny12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed here with my husband in Dec 2011. I liked the hotel for its location and cleanliness (room was small, but that's NYC). My husband wasn't as impressed as the elevators were too few and always busy. I'd stay again, but he wouldn't.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#109 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $341 - $609
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4 Diamond Property, voted one of top hotels by US News 2014, Zagat Best Hotel 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Wotif.com so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing