We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with equally great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #133 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location with equally great staff”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My sister and I stayed here for one evening during a girls' trip to NYC. This is my second stay in this hotel and it was everything I remembered it from the first visit (about 2 years ago). The staff is very accommodating and very helpful with any requests or questions. We were upgraded to a suite due to a promotion. The bathroom was upscale and luxurious.

Complimentary breakfast was great. And the hotel also has free wifi.

A couple of con's, but it wasn't enough for me to demote a rating point:

Thermostat was truly controlled by the hotel, not the individual rooms. We couldn't get the temp above 68-ish, but it was warm enough.

Only one elevator was in working order, but it really didn't affect us any.

No extra blankets in the room, but I'm sure they would have brought us some if we requested.

And of course the most attractive feature about the hotel is the LOCATION! Walking distance to/from Grand Central. Couple blocks from Central Park and the great shopping on 5th Ave. We walked to dinner, a show and back to the hotel. Great overall stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennypenny12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    549
    113
    30
    16
See reviews for
412
498
48
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed here with my husband in Dec 2011. I liked the hotel for its location and cleanliness (room was small, but that's NYC). My husband wasn't as impressed as the elevators were too few and always busy. I'd stay again, but he wouldn't.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great hotel! We didn't book to stay here, we booked to stay at The Wellington (sister hotel) but on arrival at The Wellington our room wasn't ready due to a cancelled flight. After a long flight the last thing you want to hear is that your going to have to stay at a different hotel for one night, but this turned out to be a good thing! The Wellington is a good hotel but the Blakely is GREAT! It's only a small hotel but it is very nice! The staff are very helpful and the rooms are great. I didn't want to leave and will definitely be pricing this hotel up for my next visit! It's just across the street from the Wellington so it still has the great location but is a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmiiG_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We were upgraded to The Blakely from Wellington as they had overbooked & we got free complimentary continental breakfast. Was lovely. Staff very friendly & we booked our tours/trips with them. $89 for 2 days unlimited hop on/off day bus tour, night bus tour, top of the rock & the boat cruise. Worth every cent. Only a few blocks from central park, rockerfella center & Times Square. Rooms very nice, very comfortable bed :) Had a greats night sleep. Would highly recommend here, would definately stay again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolette150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I visited NYC for the first time in late November 2011. We chose The Blakely based on location and size of rooms. The hotel exceeded our expectations on both. The hotel is in a perfect location, very close to Central Park, Times Square, Theatre district, restaurants and shopping. The staff was very attentive and the concierges made wonderful recommendations. Always be sure to ask "where NOT to go" then listen. We reserved a suite and were very satisfied with our room, was a great size for NYC. The only reason I hesitate to give it a "5" is it is an older hotel with a few items that come with age; slower elevators, bathrooms a little dated, but NOTHING that would stop me from staying here again or highly recommending to others.

Room Tip: It is midde of NYC so if light sleeper you might ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OklahomaSherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
1,661 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#178 of 467 in New York City
3,497 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#117 of 467 in New York City
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
2,750 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#142 of 467 in New York City
640 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#203 of 467 in New York City
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $316 - $632
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing