We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #306 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was my very first trip to NYC and a friend had recommended the Hotel Edison. I was SO pleased with the location - literally around the corner from Times Square and walking distance to many major sites. We arrived at 1:30 pm and a room was ready for us, so we didn't have to wait until 3:00 pm to check-in. Very fast, efficient check-in process. Prior to arriving, I had originally booked a room with 2 single beds, but emailed a request for 2 double beds and a renovated room. I received an email response that my requests were granted. When we checked in, we were given a room with 2 queen beds - which was a nice surprise. The room was clean, roomy and comfortable despite the age of this hotel. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and provided us plenty with of towels. We ate at the restaurant, Sophia's, which was wonderful. Great food and great service. They have a cafe also which provided take-out - very convenient. If I had one complaint, it was the noise level from the street. We were on the 5th Floor and there was jackhammering in the street below from 12:30 am to 5:00 am. Thank God I brought earplugs. We considered asking for a room on a higher floor, but decided not to move. If I were to stay again, I'd make sure I had a room on a higher floor,. There were plenty of elevators that were fast and convenient. The hotel also has a small gift shop and fitness center. Overall I was very pleased with the Hotel Edison and would definitely stay there again - for sure. I would also recommend it to anyone who's looking to go to NYC and stay in the heart of Manhattan.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms on higher floors would be quieter from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. It was our sincere pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for your very kind words. I know our staff will be delighted to read them. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,266
    3,727
    2,022
    736
    487
See reviews for
2,626
3,015
395
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,704)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Brilliant location for sightseeing but after the lobby it's a little jaded.

Room was just about OK.

NY is NY but did the Viator city tour which was well worth doing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauloB_Tewkesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from discerning guests such as yourself. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have been staying at the Edison for the past ten plus years. Have always found it to be a great economical place to stay. Location is great for the theatre district. Rooms are always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anamae123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
We thank you not only for your complimentary review but for your loyalty and trust in us for over 10 years. We look forward to your next visit to your New York home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at this place as it was a great price right to Times Square; our next trip we will probably stay in a chain hotel in the city. We have yet to do so upon a visit and have once again seen why we should. The hotel, upon entry was great. The bell men were extremely helpful, the lobby is very well decorated in an art deco theme, and the sitting area is packed with guests. We came to see that the packed with guests were the people waiting for a room, which they didn't have available to us any early than our 3pm sharp check in.

We had requested a renovated room, as those were the better quality rooms as we had read in these reviews. We were told one was not ready, but gave us the option to see another room should we want it. We checked it out and it was nothing special and opted to wait. We came back at check in and our renovated room was thus not available, so we were just given any room. If that was the case to begin with, we would've taken any room and were thus discouraged they did not take our request.

The room was nothing special, a two bedroom "suite". Upon entrance, the only two closests are found as part of the first room. The second room has the only entry to the bathroom. We booked this room as we were told it would be two bathrooms and at that point, were happy to have a room to go back and request anything else.

Both rooms had outdated furniture and decor, lamps that did not properly work, but were equipped with flat screen tvs (if that's even a selling point). The bathroom was extremely small, no more than two people could fit in at once, and the water pressure in the shower was high, so it was not the most comfortable bath. The heat seemed to be central, or beyond our control, as we would get extremely hot on the cold days we spent there, thus forced to open up a window to cool down as we got dressed.

The overall stay was good, no complaints, as at the end of the day it was a place to sleep and shower. If you're looking for a cheap place near Times Square, we would recommend this location as its right there. For us and what we got, we could've stayed at the chained hotel next door for the same amount and got a better quality room, even if we had to share sleep space. Especially traveling with kids, we will next time look for quality not quantity when booking a hotel in the city.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room for quality. No guarantee to get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oooromyooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are sorry that you were not pleased with some aspects of your stay. We are a large property, with each room being different and unique. Though we would love to accommodate every request for a renovated room, it is not always possible and therefore never guaranteed as we do not pre-assign rooms. Guest satisfaction is very important to us, prompting us to pass your comments along to the relevant departments so that we can improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to gain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We just found out that until the outside temperature reaches 50 degrees that the boilers will not "kick" in. We have no control over the temperature in the room. Yikes! The front desk did offer us extra blankets.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srjdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. You did make us aware of the issues which we hope to correct in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,077 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#294 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,018 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,872 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,321 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#377 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $204 - $509
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing