We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - Great location”
Review of Hotel Carter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Carter
Ranked #415 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok - Great location”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Typical Downtown NYC hotel. I stayed in plenty around this area. The location is great, right near Time Square between 7th & 8th. Like most hotel it is old and worn down. But room was ok, reasonable clean, bathroom and AC working. While visiting NYC you will never stay on your room anyhow, so for be is a good location for a reasonable price the criteria. The Carter meets that. Its a little bit better then the other places in the same price range.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    966
    1,456
    568
    1,085
See reviews for
830
1,190
257
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I just come back from a six night stay with my sister. We booked the twins room and for some reason we were upgraded to a quads room (two queen size beds), so room space was obviously great. We asked for a high floor and renovated room and we got it. Back in April when I booked this hotel I did before I read most reviews and obviously I was very concerned before my trip. The below are my comments/impressions on the subjects that I have read.

Bedbugs - No, I did not find any and we expended quite some time checking the room and mattress. Neither we found cockroaches or mouses.

Room cleanliness - Out of six nights our room was "cleaned" only twice, and it was not clean on check-in. During our survey for bedbugs we found plenty of "stuff" such as toilet paper on the floor, bags stuck behind the television and food below the beds.... IMO it was not cleaned properly for months... And yes, the carpets are extremely old and dirt as many said... The bed sheets were also very old, and you can see it as you can see patches and they are obviously second handed, as in one occasion we got sheets with a logo from some NY hospital.

Prostitutes - No, there are no prostitutes (or homeless) on the lobby. The hotel just have an entrance to the strip club next door directly from the lobby but it was closed the whole time and it looks as it was blocked for years... I guess that in the past they used to have this access directly and got a bad reputation, but it is not true anymore.

Price - As many wrote... Unbeatable.

Hotel renovation - Yes, it is being renovated, we noticed as the bathroom obviously got a facelift (nothing too fancy, just basics) and we got a LCD TV with something around 20 channels. We also saw a couple of open rooms under works.

AC unit - It was very noisy and old, but it worked.

Shower - It did not take minutes to get hot water but just a few seconds.

Staff - They are obviously very busy and stressed but despite so I found them nice and friendly. We did not had a lot of questions but when we did they were always helpful.

To resume, if it was not for the location and price, nobody will book a room here, but IMO, if you are willing to overlook over the "defects" then this two positive aspects make the hotel worth the overall rating of Very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Cabeza2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

its not as bad as reviews was said it was very basic but clean and friendly carpet an deco out dated but liveable mattresses were spotless and comfy i dreaded going to this hotel because of reviews but already booked it so i worried all the way there apart from outside looking a bit shabby your half a block from times square not far from attractions an public transport

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leannedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My friend and I decided to go to New York for just an overnight trip. We have flight privileges that allow us to fly stand by for free :) we didn't want to spend a lot on a quick overnight stay. We figured we wouldn't be in the room at all except to sleep.

When we arrived we were not able to check in right away. My friend asked the hotel receptionist if we could have one of the renovated rooms and that we had seen some posts about bed bugs that we were worried about. He told us that we should be sure to be back right at 2 to assure that we would get a good room because they go fast. Funny! Who says that?! Like if we were late we might end up in a bad room. We decided we better stay close!

They said they would hold our bags for us, and a man gave us a ticket for us to retrieve them. We waited to watch him actually put the bag in the storage room. Maybe a bit paranoid, but the place was full of people waiting to check out and hanging around waiting for transportation. Praying in the corner, sleeping on the floors...

When we got back to check in the reception told us that we would have a good room. When we collected our bags I had to search through a room piled with bags to look for them. I think the man still thought I was going to tip him.

The room could not have been renovated. Well, I guess it could have but the paint job was horribly done, the carpet looked old. On one of the beds was a pillow case that just said "wanna ?". In pink. Only on one of the beds. funny, right? There was a mini-fridge though.

We looked for bed bugs, didn't see any. But to be cautious we left our luggage in the bath tub. I did take a shower and the water was warm and of a decent pressure.

Bottom line is this is a hotel only for staying in if you plan on not spending any time there. As everyone else has said, it is all about location. I would go back if we couldn't find a hotel on expedia or through a groupon type of deal. It truly is the worst place I have stayed. But I love New York and can't always afford a hotel when we want to go on a whim. Didn't get any bed bugs :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The Carter Hotel, located at 250 W43 Street in Manhattan, is right in the heart of the Theatre District. This makes it an excellent location and an excellent value for money. It also makes it good walking distance to many attractions.

The hotel itself is very basic, but it is clean and serves the purpose. The lobby is a long rectangle. A Tourist Help Desk is to your right as you enter and the Reception Desk is to your left after you enter the doors. At the far end and for a fee, there are computer access terminals and relatively comfortable upholstered chairs and sofas. The elevators were sometimes slow due to people arriving and leaving. You don’t spend a lot of time in the lobby or on the elevators.

We had a 4-night stay here from April 9 to 13. Our room was located on the 19th floor on the back of the building, looking out on 42nd Street from a distance. It was quiet and comfortable. The room had been freshly painted as we could still smell the paint, and the bathroom had been newly tiled and painted. The room was sparsely furnished: two twin beds, a night table between them and a wall-mounted flat-screen TV. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. There were no pictures on the walls, and, best of all, there were no bedbugs or vermin of any kind!!

The staff at the Reception Desk were very efficient and very helpful. Check-in was fast and easy, but we arrived at 9pm. They were always able to direct us to restaurants and other attractions we wanted to see.

The room you stay in will be cleaned every second day. Your bed sheets will be changed only after you’ve slept in it for two nights, and the trash bin will be cleared and towels will be changed at the same time. You may, however, request clean towels from Reception. Soap, shampoo, individually-wrapped plastic cups and toilet tissue are in good supply, and should you run short (which I seriously doubt) your can get fresh supplies from Reception. Our room had a full bath, so you could take a bath or a shower. I found the shower to be decent.

When you exit the hotel and turn right, you can access the 42nd Street subway station (to N, Q, and R trains) by crossing 8th Avenue. If you turn left, you gain entrance to the subway by turning right onto 9th Avenue and then crossing 42nd Street (to Trains 1, 2, 3, 7, N Q, R, and S; S is the shuttle direct to Grand Central Station.). Both entrances take you into the same subway station.

Turning either way brings to 42nd Street, and that means you have access to many theatres, good restaurants, shops and the New York City Tourist Office. It also brings you to Times Square and the TKTS booths where you can get discounted tickets for same-day/night shows.

Following 7th (Broadway) or 8th or 9th Avenues, you can easily get to Macy’s and Herald Square at 34th Street on foot. If you go along 33rd Street you can get to the Empire State Building. These sites are 10 and 9 blocks south of the hotel respectively. Going along those same avenues in the opposite direction (north from the hotel) you can get to Rockefeller Centre at 50th Street. Each block is 1/6 of a mile, so it’s easy to figure out distances. Many other attractions can be accessed by subway, bus or even on foot.

The price is right and the location is great. We’ll definitely consider staying here again on another visit to New York City.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor and at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travelcheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
#288 of 467 in New York City
195 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#177 of 467 in New York City
2,311 reviews
Midtown
No photo provided
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#144 of 467 in New York City
1,440 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Property: Hotel Carter
Address: 250 W 43rd St, New York City, NY 10036-3970
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): $120 - $190
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carter 1*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing