We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly disappointing - stay elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Ranked #292 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Having visited the Carlyle in the past, and being familiar with some of the great hotels of the world, I was looking forward to my recent stay there. My enthusiasm was misplaced. The rooms are extremely tired for the most part - and believe me, I know because I had the misfortune to experience several.

More disappointing was the abominable service. With one or two exceptions, the service was slow, indolent, and disinterested. When I first had to change rooms late one evening, it took over an hour for the porter to arrive to move the luggage. When he did arrive he hadn't brought a trolley. When eventually the move was made, a number of possessions were left behind. When this was discovered, not all of them made it back to me and I left New York in the unusual situation of having a suitcase that was lighter than when I arrived!

Even simple tasks like cleaning the room or replenishing supplies were not carried out efficiently, effectively or sometimes at all. Please, don't be wowed by the illustrious name of this once-great hotel. There are many places to stay in New York City. I have no doubt that most of them will be better than this dive.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank p1nkyandperky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear p1nkyandperky,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us as well as fellow travelers.
Although we are disappointed to read about your experience, it is feedback like this that we find most beneficial for improvement. We have been in touch with the appropriate departments to look into your notes further, as it does sound like the level of service you encountered was not at all up the standard to which we hold ourselves at The Carlyle. If you would be open to sharing more, we would very much welcome the chance to speak with you. Our Director of Rooms, Paulina Padilla, would appreciate the opportunity to make amends for what sounds like a visit full of frustrations. She can be best reached via email at Paulina.Padilla@Rosewoodhotels.com.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future for a better experience. Wishing you all the best!

Sincerely,
The Carlyle Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

I live in NYC and arranged for my family visiting from out of the country to stay at the Carlyle. I booked and paid for the room online and followed up with a call indicating that they would need an extra bed brought in for their young daughter. That evening my family arrived and they did not have the extra bed. I called the hotel and they wouldn't send a bed to the room without extra payment, and said they were not permitted to take payment over the phone. They refused to send the extra bed to the room (and it was past 11 pm). It was unbelievable. I have never had such poor service, and would have thought that i was at a holiday inn rather than a luxury hotel. I would not choose to stay or arrange anyone else to stay at this hotel again. Terrible.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank monicakarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Monicakarora,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. If you would like to share more feedback about your stay, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly at TheCarlyle@Roswoodhotels.com. We would be happy to hear from you. Wishing you all the best!

Sincerely,
The Carlyle Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 amazing days at the hotel. We received amazing service, probably the best we have ever had. The morning buffet was truly amazing and everything was plentiful and delicious. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite on arrival for free.
I cannot wait to go there again soon. It is worth every penny.
The toiletries were Kiehl's and included a facial moisturiser and lip balm which were full sizes. I am very pleasantly surprised and can't wait to go there again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Nora D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your phenomenal review with us as well as fellow travelers! We are delighted to know that everything from your interactions with our staff, to the breakfast offerings each morning, exceeded your expectations. It was our pleasure to have you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. Wishing you all the best!

Sincerely,
The Carlyle Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I have stayed in the hotel in June 2017. My feelings are mixed about this hotel. On the one hand it takes you back in the old times because it has kept its character -i.e. in each elevator there is a doorman who is dressed with black suite and white gloves and is taking you to the floor, the jazz bar is just amazing like the old times. The rooms are old, the floor the doors and the drawers are very old. It is a basic old bedroom. On the other hand the service is excellent. I must admit that the personell made me feel very comfortable even when i asked them to take me to a nwer room. The newer room was not really renovated but better than the previous one. If i remember correctly there is no gym. I wouldnt stay there again but i would definetly go again to the jazz bar and the
restaurant. The food in the restaurant is really good,. Also breakfast is really amazing, If you like spacious and modern rooms dont stay there. P.S. The location is in a nice neighbarhood of New York just two blocks from central park.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WorldtravelerCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear WorldtravelerCyprus,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us as well as fellow travelers! We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the service you received as well as your time at the Carlyle Restaurant and in Cafe Carlyle. Additionally, we are so glad that our location was well-suited to your needs! Your feedback is very helpful to us and we apologize that your accommodations did not meet expectations. It is feedback like this that we utilize to improve. To your note about the gym, that is located on our 3rd Floor in the Sisley-Paris Spa and open to hotel guests 24 hours a day. We will be certain that our Front Desk team is more clearly communicating that to guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for a better experience in the future. If not for a stay, we do hope you will join us again at the Cafe. Wishing you all the best!

Sincerely,
The Carlyle Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

I was surprised as to how large our room was. The lobby and entrance were beautiful. Staff were all very friendly. Good location on the upper east side. Close to the park and great shopping close by. Highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank vancity9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Vancity9,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us as well as fellow travelers! We're so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at The Carlyle so thoroughly and that our location was well-suited to your needs. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future. Wishing you all the best!

Sincerely,
The Carlyle Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#85 of 469 in New York City
1,906 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#33 of 469 in New York City
752 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#173 of 469 in New York City
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#157 of 469 in New York City
322 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#52 of 469 in New York City
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Address: 35 E 76th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
#190 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $553 - $1,867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side - from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury - The Carlyle has become a "home away from home" for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 193 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan's skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York's posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as "Museum Mile." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing