We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Hotels grows on you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #41 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location. Hotels grows on you”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We arrived at the hotel at one in the morning after a flight from Europe and are first impressions were of just how brown and unboutique like the hotel was. We had a std room which was small but once you got past the brownness of it, which I think automatically makes it look shabby, was very clean, we'll laid out and with a very comfortable bed.
We were ther three nights and by the end, the room we found the room ok. The big selling points for us were the location, which couldn't be better plus free wifi and that it was clean and quiet. We were with a couple in a superior room that seemed less brown probably because it was bigger and therefore less overpowering. Fair value for money, although might stay next door at the Sofitel if I got a good deal when we go back.
Staff very friendly and helpful

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank aMid-aSmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor I'm sorry you had an unenjoyable experience at check in, with our brown tone and while you were staying with us but I'm pleased that we were able to grow on you with our hospitality and make you comfortable for the remainder of your stay. I hope we can welcome you back on a future trip.



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,345
    882
    173
    59
    32
See reviews for
832
1,417
209
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Perfect location for a quiet night's sleep in the city~ but close to great shopping and activity~!
(42nd Street is a block away~)
Thanks to Leonore for recommending her favorite store - Barami~
Cant wait to return~

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your comments on the Trip Advisor community, it's a great tool to hear our guest's feedback. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel, and I will definitely let our restaurant hostess Leonora know that you took her advice as well! We hope to see you soon!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This hotel is all about the location. For a first time visitor to NYC it is amazingly close to about everything. We barely used public transport during our stay. Walking and a few taxi trips solved about all of the transportation.

The rooms are nicely appointed with a really comfortable bead, and a clean large bathroom. It is not overly large, but not small either. I would describe it as a good standard but not extraordinary.

Staff was both great and a bit of a miss. The concierge and the bell boys went above and beyond in helping us and really did a great job. I would recommend talking to them about restaurants, air port transfer, shopping etc. Though the fornt desk staff was more of a miss. They felt clueless in several requests and gave contradictory answers and did not feel that professional or knowledgable.

During our stay both the restaurant and the bar was being refurbished, something we were not notified of beforehand. And the breakfast was instead a box collected at the front desk consisting of yoghurt, a croissant and a banana. It was sufficient, but perhaps not something I would expect from a hotel such as this.

In summary, it is perfectly located and provides a good nights sleep. But it did not provide me with that feeling of a place that goes above and beyond, though the bell boys certainly do!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and enjoying the experience you had. I am pleased to hear our bellman and concierge were able to assist you on your city inquiries throughout your stay. I would like to apologize on both half of the restaurant for being closed and not notifying you ahead time. And for the front desk not being to provide adequate service. With that being said I would like to inform you that our restaurant and bar have now reopened, and I am confident that our front desk will be able to provide you with service up to your standards and beyond. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Nice size rooms, clean, very friendly staff, HOWEVER ... two of the four nights we were there, the A/C didn't work. When I reported it to the front desk, they just said "Yes, we knew it was out". Ummm, what? They said it would be fixed the next night, but the next night was just as hot. When we checked out and again reported the problem, she said "Did you alert the front desk" to which we said yes. And that was it, no mention of a discount, no apologies! I am disappointed because I really wanted to love this place, but unfortunately, even despite the great location, I will not be staying here again. No one likes to sweat while they sleep!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teachskool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your review, although I’m disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced with your air conditioning. I apologize that you experienced any discomfort at all, and while I’m perplexed by the situation, I can assure you that under any circumstance where we are aware of an issue with our HVAC units we will certainly accommodate our guests in a more comfortable room or resolve the issue. It seems there was a lapse in communication on our part and I hope you can accept my apologies for your discomfort. While I am unable to change what occurred your insight does offer me the information to prevent such occurrences from happening in the future, and if we do have the pleasure of welcoming you back, please contact me directly to personalize a future trip for you.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Iroquois and couldn't have been more pleased. The service was great, the rooms were very nice and very clean. Location is great. The restaurant (Triomphe) was superb. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here for anyone visiting NY.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Iroquois, I'm pleased you found our property comfortable and convenient. I am pleased to hear that you had a delightful experience at our restaurant Triomphe, it will be my upmost pleasure to pass on the compliments to them . We hope to welcome you back on a future trip!



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,441 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,302 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
6,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#67 of 467 in New York City
642 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,705 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $343 - $766
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing