We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last, a NY hotel I would go back to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #40 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“At last, a NY hotel I would go back to”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed three nights at The Iroquois last week, on a business trip. Although on my own, I had one of the biggest NY hotel rooms I've stayed in - I could actually walk around it without bumping into furniture. Flat screen TV, complimentary half bottle of wine, water, truffles (sign up for their executive program - it's free), and NY Times in the morning, free Wi-Fi. Huge bathroom, totally modern, with lovely tiles, Molton Brown goodies, and lots of fluffy white towels. The room was the super quiet - I never heard anyone next door, above or below. And the bed and pillows were just right. Nice desk area for working, a decent sized closet. OK, my view was of the fire escape, but that's pretty much all you get in NY, so I'm fine with that. If I want a view, I can go out into the street! I ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was fine - although I'd like a stronger cup of coffee and less salt in my eggs. The first night I had a drink in the restaurant bar and had the best Cosmo I've had in years. The staff are all super helpful and polite, with one possible exception - a group of us was in the front 'Library' room having a meeting and were told very abruptly and with no warning that we all had to move immediately as they had to set up for a dinner. It was 4pm, so we were herded into the restaurant bar, where all the employees seemed to make as much noise as they could. I'd assumed the 'Libary' was a public room as it had computers in it - and it was empty when we walked in. Aside from that one issue, it was a great stay. And I'd definitely put it high on my list for a return trip. Super convenient location, far enough from Time Square not to be bothered by the noise, but close enough to all the things I needed to get to.

Room Tip: I was on the 9th floor at the back, I think it was 907
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurosweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to return. It is very rewarding to hear such kind words and I do apologize for the incident with the library, at times we do host private dinners in that space, however it is certainly unfortunate that you felt herded away and I do apologize for that, as I am certain that was not the intention of the staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future! -Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,399
    902
    178
    61
    33
See reviews for
854
1,445
214
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

As first time visitors to New York we wanted a mid-priced hotel with a central location and a traditional feel as opposed to the shiny granite and glass types. The Iroquois was it. Fantastic location - close to the sights and shops while nestled in a relatively quiet street full of hotels, clubs and restaurants. Decor is traditional but in good order.
The hotel has just 12 floors, (a cottage by NY standards) and we were on the top floor. The room was fairly small but quite clean & comfortable. Complimentary newspaper and free Wi-Fi was great plus an iPod docking station was available too. No tea or coffee making facilities but free coffee or hot apple punch available in the lobby. NY is known as the city that never sleeps and that sure is true. Even on the 12th floor there was an ever-present drone in the background. Bed was very comfortable though so not complaining.
Whatever your taste there is a bar or restaurant nearby to suit you. For breakfast, the Red Flame Diner offers great value in a classic setting, perfect for people watching and just 20yds from the hotel.
And so to the best bit - the hotel staff. Everyone at the Iroquois was extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. Special mentions go to Alan the concierge plus Bill and Anwar in the lobby who's attentiveness could not be faulted. Altogether a really nice bunch of people.
If we ever get back to New York we would certainly look to stay at the Iroquois again - thanks to all for making our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for you kind compliments, our staff is flattered and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again on a future trip! -Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Iroquois from Feb 17th to 23rd. Luckily, we contacted the hotel reservations beforehand and ended up choosing a suite (one of 12 only). So the room was of a good size, though the bathroom still required some exercise - it is not easy for two people to fit in it at the same time. NYC was not so cold when we were there, and it was good as the small bathroom window did let the cold air in. It was not insulated. The staff made an effort to help us w/ our requests, including complimentary tea on Sunday, when the hotel restaurants are closed. In the last day, we asked for a late check-out for which we paid about USD 140.00 and had to change rooms. Then we were given the opportunity to assess how lucky we had been w/ our suite choice. The room we moved to was next to the gym and it is tiny! I suspect all the rooms in that corner are the same size. No minibar as it would not fit in, the window opens to the emergency stairs outside and our oversized luggage did not make its way between the bed and the chest. It had to be lifted to be placed into the closet. The closed was slightly bigger than the tiny one in the suite, though, and although the bathroom did not have a separate shower and bath tub, it was almost the same size as the suite bathroom. Good location, specially if you intend to go to theaters.

Room Tip: The room next to the gym and the ones above this one are good enough if you are solo. If you do requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience, we are always thankful for such feedback from our guests, as it is such a great tool to better our hotel as well as our service. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Suite and I hope that you join us again! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I just completed another two night stay and honestly, I don't see a reason to stay anywhere else in the city. It's centrally located, always clean/friendly/quiet. I had a room on 12th floor and it was very quiet which is my preference. I don't usually care about the view so these rooms work for me. I find the rooms to be a bit bigger than standard NYC hotel rooms and if you join their frequent guest program, they leave you little treats like slippers. I really enjoy my stays at Iroquois and look forward to the next one!

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank puff007NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
I'm so happy to hear that you chose to stay with us again and we were able to provide you with the service you have come to expect from our hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lackawaxen, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel 2 nights and rented 2 rooms. The service from top to bottom was great! Friendly staff. The rooms were elegant and extremely clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Thank you for your compliments! I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you, not only with a comfortable room, but exception service. Thank you for sharing! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 468 in New York City
6,370 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,849 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,158 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#39 of 468 in New York City
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $297 - $749
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing