We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,358)
Filter reviews
1,358 results
Traveller rating
314
693
237
55
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
693
237
55
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom union square new york double bed stay there again manhattan heating
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,358 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Absolutely love this hotel. The staff were more than amazing and helpful, especially Syed! The service exceeds my expectations every time!
The hotel itself was clean and well worth the trip.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New York and will definitely stay here again!
Love from Sweden!H.M.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank unanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

For 5 nights there were no room service. I don't expect daily room service but in this case it was in total abscence. However, the hotel was pretty old with its typical New York charm. Shared bathroom was not something that was annoying. So that was ok. According to the price level, it was fair comparing to other hotels.
The location was great, just two blocks from Union Square.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiklosMalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I stayed here last week , nice ,clean, quet place. good for the price good location to union sq. Basic budget place. I would stay there again. Just don't expect breakfast or gym or any amenities. Front desk is not super friendly all about the business and that's it.

Room Tip: They are all the same
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This is my second visit to Hotel 17... the first one was three years ago... also a wonderful stay. This was a basic room with a very comfortable bed and basic television... of course NYC is not the place to hang around your room !!! This time I took advantage of the winter special and had a double bed in a larger room over the front door facing the quiet side street... two windows made the room bright and spacious. Shared bathrooms were always available and ALWAYS CLEAN. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

The staff seemed to be friendly, the place was very average, had a few problems though, i had no control of the heating it seemed to randomly turn on and off the bar heater and so i would have to use the window to cool room down if got too hot and couldnt turn on if it got to cold. When the heater was on though it sounded like there were people taking a shower in our room or outside our window was very loud and couldnt turn it off. Also the wifi was only working for half of our stay and we had to call the front desk a few times a day to get the router reset and eventually gave up and used the free NYC wifi outside the building.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Purewinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews