We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO SOMEWHERE ELSE IF YOU CAN AFFORD IT!!!”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #230 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GO SOMEWHERE ELSE IF YOU CAN AFFORD IT!!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We were at this place for less than a week & were not too satisfied.
We' ve had trouble with our WiFi connection & called the Front Desk for help. The woman & the supposed evening man supervisor/manager had a TOTAL attitude. The woman was very unprofessional and very unknowledgeable about her guest approach. Not very welcoming either by phone or personal. Not very content dealing with her so I requested for the "manager" which I thought was going to murder me for assistance about the Wifi. Listen you two, working in service industry takes severe professionalism. Do not make us feel like we are BURDEN when we call for anything. Oh & by the way, thanks for just hanging up when we called beforehand to make sure our reservation went through. You are awesome! This department needs to be thoroughly looked at by the owner.
On the other hand, concierge & the luggage guy are friendly and accommodating & I don't have a single complain.
My room was kept immaculately clean by our housekeepers which I am happy about.
NOW THE QUESTION IS WOULD I GO BACK OR RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ALL MY FRIENDS, FAMILY & CO WORKERS? NO, I NEVER WILL. I WOULD RATHER SPEND A LITTLE MORE FOR A BETTER SERVICE NEXT TIME I'M AROUND THE CITY.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianfarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    2,302
    649
    175
    141
See reviews for
466
1,526
1,065
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed in the Pod Hotel for 8 days. There was always someone at the front desk and all the staff were all very nice and approachable. Our room was small but it was a good size to just sleep in, as most of the day was spent exploring the city. We had our own bathroom and it was cleaned everyday! There was a TV in the room that had a lot of channels and an alarm clock. Overall, it was good value and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very modern hotel, I had a single with shared bathroom, this was not a problem as I never had to wait to use the toliets or showers. Rooms where small but I expected that. If you imaging a cabin on a cruise this storage under your bed & a place to hang your clothes. TV had looks of channels, an alarm clock with iPod docking station. Not too far from the tube station. But my only little criticism of this place (and maybe I was unluck as I had he neighbours from hell) is the walls are thin so you can hear everything next door & across the corridor. I would recommend this to my friends & would stay again.

Room Tip: Try get a room away from the elevators. Not need to book a private bathroom. The shared bathrooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We went to New York for a long weekend this past week and stayed at The Pod Hotel with a reasonable rate. The rooms are very small, which we were prepared for, but we were not prepared for the level of noise when we were trying to sleep. Doors were banging all night and we could hear normal conversations and TVs in the rooms next to us. People also left their doors open and talked to each other across different rooms or in the corridor - I guess because the 'pods' are so small. It's a shame the walls are like paper in this place! We deliberately stayed out late the second night so we'd have less time in the room! We won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I never thought I could enjoy a place where I had to share a bathroom ! Everyone in the hotel was very nice and very professional. We had the least expensive room with bunk beds. There were 4 bathrooms on the 6th floor where our room was located and 4 numbered lights above our door so that we could see which bathrooms were available and which were occupied. #4 was right across the hall from us and was available every time we needed it. The shower was really nice, a rainfall head above and two spray heads coming from the side. The bathroom was always clean. Slight problem with toilet leaking, I told front desk and they took care of it right away ! The room was small but it worked. Tv's and reading lights for each bunk with headphone jacks. Plenty of table top area for things. Sink with all our towels, bath mat and extra TP which we didn't need. Great location from Grand Central only 1 stop on the green line. I was really impressed and will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborahcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#192 of 468 in New York City
3,268 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 468 in New York City
1,531 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#302 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#343 of 468 in New York City
17,596 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Property: Pod 51 Hotel
Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#155 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $167 - $323
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing