We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!Stay here for GREAT service and LOCATION!”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #353 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay!Stay here for GREAT service and LOCATION!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Ok so the reason im giving a Holiday Inn such a high rating has several factors.They have updated/renovated the rooms making them more up to date,they are large for Manhattenn Hotel rooms and clean.The bathroom had not been updatd yet and needed some work but was large.Overall the rooms great value for the price at this location.The location is the BEST! You are three blocks from Times sq,three blks from Columbus circle subways,two blks from the best places to eat in Hells kitchen!! But what makes this rating overall high was the service.Starting with the front desk and their attentivness to our needs,the concierge who helped us with directions,the bartender at the bar who took GREAT care of us,lol,the bell boy who gave us an umbrella when it rained,overall you are treated right at the HI in Midtown! We did not try the restraunt,beacuse come this is NYC,sooo many places to eat,stroll down 9th ave,youll see!! We will be returning to this HI !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    1,862
    1,180
    370
    254
See reviews for
1,473
1,041
229
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel is what one needs when staying in a city like New York.It's by all the attractions of NY and although it's need some maintenance (shedule for 2013)it value for money.The rooms are larder than normal for a NY hotel and the service is quite good.Parking is available as well.The breakfast can be better if you are an European because the choice of food is limited and if you have children there is few cereals to choose of.The front desk is good as well.Internet is available but it's not free, you have to pay.Rooms as clean although some guests complained with bugs and lack of cleaness.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Dirty, old, ugly, rude staff at breakfast who steals through coupons, and the likely have bed bugs. We were totally surprised by what's called Hotel (4 star?). The price was too high for what you get. At the front desk were friendly, but breakfast (OMG)! Disgusting meal, lazy staff and waiters are trying to steal from us! Big mistake as some sort of breakfast coupons, which allow them to steal. I think the restaurant is outsourced, but still ... Maids did their best, but the rooms are too old and dirty. Disgrace to the Holiday Inn, it is a chain that I do not like, but this is too much...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marant72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear marant72,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

very nice twin bed room,very clean, actually it was huge and the beds were lovely n big and comfertable,huge flat screen tv with a large selection of tv,even bbc america,ensuite was nice,wi fi worked really well,even had a coffee machine with coffee and sugar ,free to use,rooms were cleaned to a great standard every day,very very close to central park,times square,lots of handy delis near by,didnt really speak to any of the staff as was hardly there. a word of warning tho,we checked out and paid to leave our baggage there,i was asked about would we want to private taxi to jfk,i said no as were going to use a nyc cab,when we came back to get our stuff i noticed that on my baggage tab some one had written jfk,the man i gave it to read this then started hassling me to take one of the private taxis,i said i didnt need one,as nyc were 15 dollars cheaper,because he kept on,i gave in and took one of the private taxis,it was fine although dearer.my problem with this tho is that it was wrong for these guys to be hassling customers like this.this was the only negative thing thing i have to say about our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fulf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This hotel has many positives such as being close to Times Square, Rockfeller Center, Central Park, Columbus Circle and many more. It also is relatively inexpensive as 4 of us stayed for under $200 per night. The lobby has also been updated and the rooftop pool is a great spot to take a break from sightseeing. However, the hotel needs updating - the elevators need to be updated and so do the rooms. The room we had faced 57th Street which is busy, so you get lots of noise even though we were 15 floors up. The beds were uncomfortable, the AC barely worked and the bathroom was small and in need of major renovation. Also, I had asked for a room that was away from high traffic/noise areas and I got a room right off the elevators beside the ice machine. Needless to say I wouldn't recommend this hotel especially for stays longer than a day or two. The hotel is scheduled for refurbishment starting in January 2013 - I hope that means ripping everything out and redoing the entire room and demolishing and re-constructing the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Stay in Tower B and in a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powelltbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#265 of 467 in New York City
2,517 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#266 of 467 in New York City
142 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#391 of 467 in New York City
6,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
6,101 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,884 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 467 in New York City
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): $172 - $454
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing