We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #349 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I was sceptical after reading reviews on this hotel but was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. I traveled to NYC with my mom to do some sightseeing and we were expecting to walk into a run down small hotel that was far from the action. This was not the case at all! As soon as we walked in there were staff waiting to answer any questions and I was very pleased that the front desk checked me in at 10am! The hallways and elevators were outdated but the rooms were large for a midtown hotel and suited our needs just fine. The hotel is a couple blocks from Central Park and a 20 min walk to Times Square. We did not take a cab once! We enjoyed the location of this hotel and were pleased when we found a Dunkin Donuts in close vicinity :) The only complaint that I would have were the small elevators that would fit around 8 people...in the morning it was a challenge to get to the 11th floor to the lobby because of the amount of people trying to get on the elevator...it would stop at almost every floor and not be able to pick anyone else up!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieGnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    1,830
    1,160
    359
    243
See reviews for
1,429
1,024
228
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Hate to write this as maybe there are few people that are worth it at this hotel, however it was an awful experience. Hated coming back to the room at night. It was a good location and that is the best part of this average hotel. We stayed here during a medical stay second opinion. It was a quick trip with little planning and Spring Break. It was a few hundred a night as was all the hotels that week. The AC was to be seasonal. Well not sure exactly how it could be seasonal, because they just don't have. The concierge was the worst. He saw us walk up and grabbed his stuff. I asked him his name and he blew out his checks. We felt like we were in bizarro world. His name was Saddie. He didn't even know about the Diner down the street. When we asked the manager she said. "yeah, we have problems with him". WTHeck. Cleaning people were good, but there were such poor attitudes for the some of the bell people and the maintenance workers. Pool is also seasonal but they tell you every chance they had. We did not even bother to get coffee there. Wish we never stayed there, but again good location, but everything was packed that week. Maybe we have been spoiled at nicer places and expected just ok and received really poor service with poor attitudes.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel. Not worth a nickel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cdomsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We did not check in until midnight, when we got to our room our key did not work. We asked for help and the bellman was not able to get the door open either. A manager finally came and was able to get the door part way open only to discover that there was already someone occupying the room. After much loud talking between the manager and the occupant of the room we were sent back to the main desk and assigned another room. The room was adequate, could hear a lot of noise from the hallway and adjoining rooms. The sink area was very small but had a separate shower and toilet so made it a little easier. We had a rental car and had no problem parking and found the parking rates to be incredibly reasonable!

The concierge was very helpful and was able to help us get tickets to a couple of different activities. Really appreciated the help and suggestions.

We were two blocks from the subway and within walking distance to Central Park and we also walked to Times Square. Also right on the outskirts of Hell's Kitchen so a lot of great restaurants.

Not a fancy place, but was a good value and a reasonably comfortable sleep

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momlikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear momlikestotravel,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel and also found our concierge so helpful. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced when assigned your first room. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just beeen to NYC,we stayed here for three nights. Staff are really friendly. Like all NYC Hotels the rooms are small but clean and there is a lot of updating going on (not in our room unfortunately)l.The Lower Level gym is great. It is peaceful however and close to Central Park and Columbus Circle Underground which was excellent for getting round when our legs were tired. The local restaurants in the Hells Kitchen area are plentiful and just round thre corner. All in all a great spot if you dont want to be in the hustle and bustle of Tiem Sq etc. It only take 10 mins to walk there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Some of the reviews for this hotel on TripAdvisor were a little frightening (IE bed bugs, mold, etc....) and had me expecting the worst. A conference I was lecturing at was being held here....and since I was traveling alone, I thought it best to stay in the hotel where the event was being held.

The room was clean, but this place needs some updates! When I walked through the hallways, It kinda had a "shining" feel to it. Staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was good, but WAY overpriced (even for NYC). Do yourself a favor and visit the deli on the corner- you'll save a lot of coin.

All in all, a quiet hotel in a great location!

Room Tip: Make sure you say NON-Smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Chris B,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the condition of our hallways. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#278 of 468 in New York City
2,474 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#295 of 468 in New York City
116 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#312 of 468 in New York City
5,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#389 of 468 in New York City
6,105 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
4,987 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#324 of 468 in New York City
6,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): $214 - $477
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing