We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lock your doors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #311 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lock your doors”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location in midtown Manhattan. You are about:

- 1 block west of the UN building
- 30 minute walk from the East Village
- 10 minute walk down 42nd street from Times Square
- a few blocks away from Grand Central Station
- about a 20 minute walk from Penn Station

Everything else is easy to get to by cab or subway.

The room itself was nice, clean and comfortable. We asked for an upgrade on the bed and got it. The bathroom was also clean with good water pressure in the shower.

Now for the bad :(

When we arrived, the lobby itself was dirty. There were litterally broken pieces of cookie all over the floor in front of the reception desk, left over by hungry guests. The hotel never cleaned this up.

The corredors in the hotel are very tight and the elevator is one of the smallest i've ever been in.

The wifi in the hotel is fairly expensive, which is unbelievable in this day and age of virtually free wifi in all hotels.

Finally, I was taking a nap around 5pm after a full day, and the maid knocked on the door and rang the bell. I yelled out to hold on. She then opened the door and kept saying something like cleaning. I yelled out to hold on and wait. She come into the room all the while I was yelling for her to stay out and she walked into the room. I wasn't fully clothed, which I think she saw and quickly bolted out. Anyway, the short of this is to lock your door in this hotel. The maid service might otherwise walk in on something you would otherwise not want them to at any time of the day.

The other down side of the hotel is that the walls are fairly thin, and you can hear people in the hallway outside the room very easily.

For the price (quite high), I would pick another hotel in Manhattan in the future. This is probably a great hotel for around $120 to $150 a night booked in advance, but we picked it up for $260 a night which was almost twice what I felt a hotel of this quality should be charging.

Thats it :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger bed on a higher floor :) We asked and got it, you never know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all of your feedback and will review all of your comments with our entire team. We are glad that you enjoyed our location here at the Hilton Manhattan East hotel and the overall room experience. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the near future to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    865
    438
    181
    105
See reviews for
402
690
169
734
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed in room 703 for three nights in May. This room is in the south tower, and there are only about 4 rooms per floor, and with a slightly alternative layout...

The room was very small, but still had all of the things you needed - with the exception of a bedside table on both sides of the bed (there simply isn't the room). So my bedside drink had to stya on the floor, whilst my other half had the bedside table side!

I felt let-down by the following features:

*Size of room
* Poor TV reception (some channels unwatchable) and a remote control whicih didn't work well
* Wardrobe doors broken off at the hinges, so when you open them they sort of fall off in your hands!
* Small patches of mould in the bathroom (needs a bit of a refresh)
* Continental breakfast was more akin to a Holiday Inn Express motel
* Ice bucket not emptied and a fresh bag replaced in it at all during our stay

Plus points:

* Good location
* Quiet room
* Extremely comfortable mattress
* Small chocolates and wbottled ater placed in the room at night, on 2 of our 3 night stay

I'd stay again, but only if a very competitive rate was available.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your detailed feedback and will use it to review with the entire team. We are sorry that we did not meet all of your expectations. We hope that you will give the Hilton Manhattan East another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hotel was cozy, the room was small but who would want to hang out in a hotel room in the heart of New York?! Room was clean and well maintained. The staff friendly. Good location and walking distance from time Square.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mariane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are all very glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Hilton Manhattan East hotel and NYC. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Hilton Manhatten East is very clean, has a really nice bed, and it's close to Grand Central Station. We had a drinks in the bar, and although pricey (or maybe average for Manhatten), they were good. Hilton charges for WiFi, although there was a free AT&T WiFi signal. They also charge to print out airline boarding passes, so not freebees here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TallCool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to NYC and the Hilton Manhattan East hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Went here for a weekend getaway in May 2011. Property was very average... a bit tired and old looking

The room is clean but not much. The amenities in the bathroom are not good at all for a Hilton hotel. I expected more.

Service was just okay

Location is pretty good as it is close to Grand Central Station so it is comfortable to commute from there

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eas_Bandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#322 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,440 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#352 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $266 - $551
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hilton Hotels Direct, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing