We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent sized rooms for an NYC property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #319 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent sized rooms for an NYC property”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Rooms were very good sized compared to other NYC properties I have stayed in the past. Hotel didnt have a lot to offer beyond a small lobby bar and restaurant. Rooms seemed to have been somewhat recently updated. I wanted to stay in this neighborhood and would go back again to this property.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Hilton Manahattan East hotel and NYC. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    873
    442
    189
    109
See reviews for
406
698
171
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is cosy, friendly, clean and quiet. It is in an excellent location for exploring Manhattan, especially by public transport. The M42 bus stops directly outside the hotel and the bus links with all many bus and subway services. We never had to wait more than about 3 minutes for a bus in either direction along 42nd St. Our room was a double double on the 10th floor with plenty of space and a good sized bathroom. I can't comment on the bar or restaurant as we didn't make use of them, but there's plenty of eating places in the area. For some local colour with your breakfast, try the Townhouse Cafe, 696 2nd Ave.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to read your details on how our location is so good for all travelers. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit to the Hilton Manhattan East hotel. We are looking forward to your next visit to NYC and our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. the location of the hotel was really good, only about 5 to 10 minutes walk east of the Grand Central Terminal, and another 10 minutes or so walk to Times Square. The staff were helpful and the Concierge really knowledgeable. We didn't eat at the hotel, as we like to experience local life, so we went to a deli one block away, on 41st Street, which was really good. The subway from Grand Central took us to downtown Manhattan quickly and cheaply. The room was good, being clean and comfortable. I only rate the value as average as it was expensive by UK standards, but was probably very good value for New York.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjwNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our location and service while staying in NYC and at the Hilton Manhattan East. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Used to stay here frequently before the hotel switched to Hilton, then changed to Marriotts in the neighborhood. After a five night stay last week, I wil switch back to Marriott again. The rooms are ok; but small and can be noisy. Housekeeping was chaotic: no shampoo or bath towels provided first night. Second night I ran into a housekeeper in the elevator and finally got bath towels. There was some mold in my shower/tub. Restaurant is uninspired; front desk clerks don't seem to enjoy interacting with guests-they are brusque at best, don't answer phones frequently. Cheerful concierge was only strong positive. I have low expectations for service in Marriotts and Hiltons in NYC, but this hotel was notably mediocre.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing 42nd street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Pundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to read of these issues that you experienced. We are reviewing all comments with the entire team. We will recognize the Concierge based on your comments. We hope you will give the Hilton Manhattan East another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

It was my first visit back to NYC since moving to Singapore a year ago, and I wanted to stay somewhere near where I used to live. The Hilton Manhattan East fit that bill, and I'm pleased to say that it was a great choice.

The rooms are a bit small, but clean and comfortable (although it could have used a desk!). The staff was friendly.

The rate I received on Expedia.sg was excellent, which made this a very good value.

Room Tip: There are only 3 smoking rooms in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased to read that your chioce to stay at the Hilton Manhattan East hotel was a GOOD one. We are looking forward to many future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,225 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#328 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,524 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#358 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#229 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#198 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $235 - $605
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing