We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Luxury”
Review of Kitano New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kitano New York
Ranked #110 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simple Luxury”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Nice clean room, they have all the little amenities you would expect in a 4 star hotel. Check in, bell service and valet parking were all quick and easy. The room was quiet, could be the quietest, especially in NYC. I was pleasantly surprised to hear live Jazz when we returned from dinner. The lounge had a small crowd, good service and the live jazz was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greengoblins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    427
    107
    33
    17
See reviews for
248
435
80
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

If I hadn't won this room on Priceline for $110, I would be mad. It is not a 4* in our opinion. Honestly, because they are listed as a 4* in the Empire State Building area, I will not list that area as an option next time I bid on a room in NYC. Which is sad because there are other hotels in the area I would like to try to bid on. Hopefully Priceline will knock them down to where they should be.
The good was the bathroom & location of hotel. Good size bathroom and heated towel bar. Actual vanity not just a pedastal sink. Beds were comfortable enough. The walls are paper thin. You could hear toilets flush in other rooms, hear people talking, etc. Dark rooms. No coffee, just tea. They actually have smoking floors, which I guess might be a plus for some. Just not worth it. We didn't even take pictures of the room and we always do.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vitaminc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel isn't my favorite in NYC, but has a convenient location and reasonable prices. however, on my recent stay, the climate control on my room didn't work properly and the room was quite warm. Secondly, there's no on-premise gym, and the nearest one is over three blocks away. Lastly, there's no ammenities store on-site with water, etc. to purchase.

These are for me material drawbacks versus other hotels in the same price range. I'd go elsewhere next time.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

a very nice stay at the Kitano in NYC. On Park Avenue, about 4 blocks south of Grand Central Station and close to the Empire State Building/United Nations, this is a good value. Simple, clean accomodations, not too pricey (by NY standards), quiet rooms. This is a good choice if you're staying midtown on the east side. Downside is a $10 per 15 minute charge to use the business center (really?) and having to walk 4 blocks to use the gym

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is ur favorite NYC hotel. We've stayed a number of times, but hadn't been here for several years. When we arrived, the reservationist upgraded us to a suite. The room (on a high floor) was enormous, and the amenities were impeccable.

We also took in a show in their jazz bar, the most intimate jazz club in the city. This gem is walking distance from Grand Central Terminal.

Room Tip: This is Summit hotel, so their standards are quite high. Rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#51 of 466 in New York City
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,594 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 466 in New York City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitano New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitano New York

Property: Kitano New York
Address: 66 Park Ave, At 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016-3007
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $290 - $716
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kitano New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Kitano New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitano New York Hotel New York City
Kitano New York City
Kitano Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing