We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Christmas in Hell - A Different Kind of Christmas Story

This delightful musical involves a father's love for his son, and what it takes to bring his son... read more

Reviewed 18 December 2018
Devorah33851
,
New Haven, Connecticut
Great Off Broadway Show

Desperate Measures was witty and well done. We purchased tickets same day and were not... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2018
Dreamer700297
Read all 13 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around New York City
from USD 107.13
More Info
from USD 98.75
More Info
from USD 139.75
More Info
from USD 57.00
More Info
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
10
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lyrics humour actors performance broadway tickets nyc
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Found the East Side in Midtown, the York offers high quality musical theatre performances of lesser known pieces. If, however, you are larger than the average bear, don't expect to sit comfortably.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank traveltradealum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The spectacularly talented Andrea Frierson interweaves her personal story with songs for which Ella Fitzgerald was famous. An engaging script in hand performance, Me and Ella runs only through July 23rd. If you're looking for something special to do in NYC, this is it. The theater is small, you'll have good visibility anywhere you sit.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Devorah33851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

What a MUSICAL TREAT for POLITICS BUFFS!! We went to see this musical for the 3rd time because we loved it soooo much that we wanted a close friend of ours, who loves everything about history and politics, to see it. We all agree that the cast is extremely talented, singing and dancing soooo well. And, that they clearly are good actors and interested in all the facts about Mark Felt and the Watergate scandal they present. Furthermore, we think that Joshua Rosenblum, the author, composer and writer of the lyrics of this musical did an amazing job gathering all the information and presenting them in such a catchy musical with soooo many little known facts about the man Mark Felt, who's name surely deserves to be more familiar to people than it seems to be these days. Finally, I would like to mention the 1st class treatment we received from the York Theatre Company: I should mention that our politics-loving friend was unlucky enough last year to have a stroke and that he is in a wheelchair ever since. And, that we had complimentary tickets. I went to the theatre the night before the show asking the Producing Associate, Amber Wallace, what we can do about this, namely that we had complementary tickets but on the other hand needed some special seating arrangements for our friend in the wheelchair. She solved it all for us and we had wonderful seats in the first row, which we all will never forget: Thank you soooo very much!! All 3 of us will definitely come back to the York Theatre Company, and then with non-complimentary tickets. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATIONS for this creative & lovable Theatre Company and Best of Luck to Joshua Rosenblum to establish his very well deserving musical on Broadway and/or in Washington!!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank LoveOfMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

just looking for something simple and found a great place. we wanted to see something different and found it. it was the first night for "THE TASTE OF THINGS TO COME" and WOW. the 4 star actors were great, it really brought you back to the 50's and 60's. got the tickets last min. and was surprised.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

If you love James Cagney, tap dancing and movie nostalgia, this is the show for you!

We saw the show in previews in late March.

Robert Creighton is spot on as James Cagney and the five other cast members are equally excellent and talented! The musicians were not overpowering. Nice costumes!

The story is easy to follow, no foul language and lots of tap dancing routines! There is more dancing in the 2nd act.

Quaint theater - in a renovated church from the 1860's - not too accessible for person with mobility issues - all seats were excellent - good audio and lighting.

Scene sets were plain but seeing all the Cagney movie posters was impressive! It was a nice experience hearing "Give My Regards To Broadway" knowing you were two blocks from B'way and one block from 42nd St.!

Five stars! Hopefully it will make it a bigger theater!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews