We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Korean Cuisine”
Review of Jongro BBQ

Jongro BBQ
Ranked #440 of 16,093 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

We much enjoyed the table-top cooking: strips of pork belly and a luscious beef bulgogi. Yum. Typical side dishes and steamed rice were also very good. The young Korean staff are friendly and efficient for us. Jongro is a high energy, throbbing electronics and pop music environment. Caveat emptor. -- So we will go back to this eatery -- arrived about 3-4 pm on a Friday, it was busy but tables were readily available.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank ButchEkstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 109 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We had a large beef platter for 3. The quality of the meat was 10/10. We order also a pancake it was amazingly tasty! All the side dishes were incredibly tasty ! Delicious we are delighted. Thank you.

We recommend it for sure 10/10

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank lilyjova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Our family of 5 recently went to this restaurant after a Broadway play matinee. We arrived at 5 on a Saturday and luckily only waited about 2-3 minutes for a table. The menu is mostly in Korean but the wait staff was very helpful. We ordered the large beef platter (for3 3-4 people) plus the bulgogi and pork belly. The rice is additional. The food came out very quickly and was cooked expertly by the waitstaff. Standouts were the pork belly and kalbi.
Not a lot of banchan included but there were two hot appetizers as well as very good kimchi and condiments supplied and refilled as needed. We also had a kimchi pancake which was delicious.
The place does not have a big sign out front so was a little tricky to find, but judging by the line both in the restaurant as we were leaving and in the elevator lobby on the first floor word is out about this great place!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 624alicel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Went with the family, which allowed us to interact and have fun instead of the usually sit down dinner. Very tasty and fun. Loved the Kalbi and Glass Noodles. Ribeye was good too. Some of the meats were a little tough, but the sides, toppings and sauces made it better. Recommend for a date or a big group.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank JandJMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We have been enjoying Korean BBQ for years, all over the world. Unfortunately so many others in NYC area have learned to appreciate this tasty and fun cuisine, resulting in long waits, even at 6:00 on a weekday.

The great food is complemented by incredible , high speed service. My wife does not eat beef, so we ordered the pork belly and pork short ribs. Both were excellent. Don't worry if you are not familiar with this fun dining experience, the staff will coach you through and ensure you have a great and enjoyable meal.

On the negative side, the waiting area is so crowded it is difficult getting in or out of the elevator serviced second floor. It is so tight that I am looking to identify emergency exits. Also the restaurant is quite loud, to a large extent due to the very loud music.

A enjoyable place for dinner, but not for conversation.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 774steved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jongro BBQ also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Jongro BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing