We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for a NYC visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
Ranked #8 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had the third floor apartment for a four-day weekend in November. Having a living room, kitchen and bedroom was so much nicer than staying in a hotel, especially since the bedroom was at the back where it was very quiet. There were family pictures on the walls, so we felt as if we were staying with friends, not in some impersonal spot. We already knew we loved the neighbourhood and this visit confirmed that; the proximity of the High Line and the Chelsea Market is a big plus. Other parts of Manhattan are easy to get to on the subway. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EllBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

My daughter and I stayed at A Garden in Chelsea over four days in November. We had the garden level double with twin beds. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. The room includes a kitchenette which we did not use, but would certainly serve for breakfast or lunch. The room was incredibly quiet--no traffic noise at all. The proprieters, Karen and Paul, could not have been more helpful regarding restaurant suggestions and sightseeing tips. The location was convenient to the subway and several good restaurants were within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My girlfriend and I have stayed twice at the apartment and both times we have had a lovely stay.

The apartment is situated in a wonderful Brownstone on a picturesque street in Chelsea. With a good sized bedroom and bathroom and large living area all beautifully furnished, it's a place you're happy to spend time and relax in. Karen who runs the apartment is a charming, friendly host and a fountain of knowledge of the city.

A Garden in Chelsea is always our first choice when we come to NYC and we hope to have many more stays there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patrick_irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was perfect spot for our New York Safari! Brilliant location close to some fantastic restaurants, easy access to Public Transport, yet in a quiet spot! Karen our Host knows how to take care of her guests. We were travelling from Tanzania and making deposits etc were a challenge, Karen was very accomodating and patient. The room and garden at the back, are tight but 4 of us managed very well for the 8 days we were in New York!

Room Tip: Karen communicates very well on Email and is good to contact for all those pre visit queries that on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeachBanditt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

A wonderful tucked away spot with all the comforts of home. The private courtyard is safe and a delight at the end of the day or a place to start your day! The owners have thought of everything that allows for a stay where you can settle into a safe and enjoyable room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 155hwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#280 of 469 in New York City
11,704 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#6 of 469 in New York City
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#14 of 469 in New York City
521 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#20 of 469 in New York City
496 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 79 in New York City
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Address: 439 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea District. Your studio apartment opens directly onto our private garden and offers comfort and relaxation. We are fortunate to offer a quiet oasis though only a block away from all the city offers, such as the elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, You couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing