We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Plaza Hotel Lacks Customer Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #109 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Plaza Hotel Lacks Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Booked hotel through for my adult son, wife, and myself. Paid for accommodations for 3 adults, one would expect sleeping arrangements for three adults. Room only had a king bed, no pullout sofa. Management of Plaza refused to provide a rollaway without a $75 charge per night or provide us a room with two double beds. Heard one excuse after another. If you are looking for customer service, you won't find it here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Don90_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,336
    390
    191
    114
    83
See reviews for
623
769
103
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have visited NYC many times, and each time we try to stay in a new hotel....until we stayed at The Plaza Hotel. Our first stay was in January 2012 and then returned in April 2012 again. This hotel exceeded our expectations. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, clean and the service is unmatched. It's luxury and elegance at its best. The hotel is perfectly located...close to Central Park, excellent restaurants and great shopping. You cannot go wrong with this hotel....

Room Tip: The first time we stayed in the Deluxe Room which was fantastic. On our second visit we stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMNS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Can't say enough about service, rooms and atmosphere. Yes, it is expensive but worth it. Only problem is the tourist traffic taking photos i lobby. There was one conceriege attendant that was rude and snobby. She apologized for her attitude but still will not forget this.
Lobby bar, the Palm Court and the bar upstairs are all great. The gift shop and Lindsey was wonderful as usual. Beautiful job in the remodel the rooms were fabulous.

Room Tip: I don't know our room was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

If you want a bit of luxury, have afternoon tea at the the Palm Court. We ordered the "New Yorker" to share, and it included miniature sandwiches, scones, mini canoli, and much more. You can see the menu here: http://www.fairmont.com/NR/rdonlyres/A6A15E82-2432-45F3-88BA-63F381194579/0/PLZ_Tea_Menu.pdf

I ordered the Japanese green tea, which was phenomenal. The menu says "hints of pear and cream" - yum!

Besides the food, the ambiance is wonderful, as the staff was highly accommodating. You are situated in a world famous court surrounded by fabulous baroque architecture and design. I will mention that we had wine at the Champagne Bar also at the Plaza Hotel, which I would also highly recommend as it is intimate and provides beautiful views out onto Fifth Ave.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I just got back from a trip there with family. We decided on The Plaza because of its history, how well known it is and its location. The hotel is beautiful and it has that old feeling to it...however, the service was less than amazing.
Our hotel room was fine but we had to wait about 10 minutes for the water to heat up to luke warm to shower. We had called for extra towels at one point and they took about 20 minutes to get to us.
We were in the lobby at one point and decided to take a picture when a staff member came and told us it was their policy not to take pictures. This was fine until we saw that staff member take a picture for someone else in the lobby. We heard him say they were his friends...but I dont think that matters.
Upon check out we then found $200.00 worth of extra charges (phone calls, bar charges, etc) on our bill that we didn't use and when pointing them out we were told in a snotty way that "someone must have snuck into our room and used our phone".
I am fine paying for these things if I have used them. I also appreciate we are at The Plaza and its not a low end hotel....however, I expect the same respect and courtesy no matter where I stay and to be made feel any less is unacceptable.
I would recommend staying at The Plaza if you want to experience it for all of what its known for...just be sure to double check your bill and don't expect too much of the service!

Room Tip: "View of the park" is really being able to see the park through buildings...I'd go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Ashley00002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#17 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#76 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#52 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#35 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $787 - $1,653
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Wotif.com so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing