We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb find - Excellent unbeatable location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #260 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our first visit into the city of New York and have to say that staying here at this brilliant hotel made our vislt to this fabulous city all the more enjoyable. Quiet street in the best of locations. ALL the staff we met were superb, very polite and could not have been more helpful. Free internet 24 hrs a day, complimentary coffee and tea in the lounge area, free use of the gym and great complimentary hot breakfast, lots of seating outside on the patio area. We stayed here for 4 nights and could not have been more happy with our choice of hotel. Within walking distance of all the major attractions close to Macy's, Madisson Square Garden, Empire State building, (view from our bedroom window), Chrysler Building. Grand Central station, Times Square, and both the underground and Penn Station. Loads of places to eat nearby. We walked from the hotel to Central Park and to the other end of the island to the 9/11 memorial and Staten Island Ferry.
Twin and double rooms avaialble all with en suites which have baths and showers and complimentary toiletries available should you forget something, wi-fi in all rooms good quality beds and tv's.
We caught the airtrain from JFK airport to Jamaica, last stop on the airtrain at the airport and then the Long Island Rail Road train from Jamaica Hub to Penn Station about a 1/2 hr ride. Penn station is located 2 blocks from the hotel on 31st . So easy to access and very easy ride directly from the airport to the centre of the city. Cost $5 for the airtrain ticket, payable as you enter or exit the airtrain at Jamaica, and $6 for the LIRR train ride. We caught the underground from Penn Station on the E line back to Jamaica - Sutphin Boulevard $2.25 then airtrain $5 back to the airport, would recommend the LIRR train which was much quicker due to the stops on the subway, felt safe but was crowed on the underground.
Thanks to all at the hotel for making our stay so pleasant cannot recommend highly enough, we loved our stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room at the front if you are staying at weekends as there is a nightclub in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear PennyRon,
Thank you very much for sharing with all of us about your wonderful time in the “Big Apple” and in our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We love to see those five out of five ratings as we strive to provide the best possible service and experiences day in and day out; it’s always great to hear from our guest on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s stay a “Home away from Home” provide the best comfort, the friendliest service and the best of amenities. We are certain that all Tripadvisor visitors will take your excellent information and advises to heart and with them have the best possible experience they can have while in town. We hope that in the near future you get to see our great city once again and that you choose to share that experience with all, especially with us at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. From all of us at the Holiday Inn Express MSG we salute you and your love ones, have a fantastic day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 991 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stay for 4 days during the toy fair after a long and exhausting day it was wonderful to find our room and bathroom spotless. The area was close to many eateries. My daughter and I felt safe and enjoyed a good night sleep. The complimentary breakfast was great. I must compliment Frank Vick of guest services he was extremely pleasant, funny and yet professional. He was also very helpful with recommendations. Clone this guy! He is an asset to the company. Thank you Frank for making our stay A+.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Alina G,
WOW!! This is only but a small reaction that we here at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square are feeling after reading your awesome review. You should have seeing Frank’s face when he saw that you mentioned him, he lit up like the Empire State Building. We really thank you for your review and we hope to see you and your family in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

There is a nightclub near this place that is open on Thursday thru Sunday so each night I stayed here all I heard at night was loud music and thumping base. This is the case even though I was on the seventh floor.

Also, just like most Manhattan hotels, the rooms are very small, which was expected. My room, however, was so small that it did not even have a closet. The television, apparently, had been pulled from the wall, so there were holes in the wall. I reserved a double room, but when I got there, none were available so they brought up a cot for me to sleep on. This would have been ok but the cot was very rough and I am still feeling the springs in my back.

On the other hand, unlike several reviewers, I found the staff to be very nice and helpful. Also, the location is great. It is two blocks from Madison Square Garden so, if you are going to a Rangers or Knicks game, there is no better place to stay. It is also fairly short walk to shopping and a little longer walk to the theatre district and Times Square.

So, if you plan to be out partying all night yourself, disregard the noise and stay here.

Room Tip: I suggest that you demand a double if that is what you reserved. The cots that they will substitute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollyHenceforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Hello dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone in the Tripadvisor community. We are sad to see that your time with us was less than satisfying, please accept our sincerest apologies. We know that you have many options when it comes to lodging in our great city of New York; we try to provide the best possible service and reasonable prices in order to make your choice an easy one. We know that apart from the complimentary breakfast, Free Wi-Fi, free local phone calls, friendly service and our location that it is only but a small part of the reason you chose to stay with us, comfortable surroundings is a must for every lodger. We are working diligently with local merchants in order for them to assist us in being mindful of our guest. We appreciate the fair manner in which you have rated us, and we hope you give us another opportunity to WOW you if you ever find yourself returning to the big apple. We hope to see you again, from all of us at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden; we hope you have safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here four nights and it was like living in a gymnasium. Shouting, drunken sports fans from Madison Square Garden events and busloads of shouting, screaming high school kids made the nights terrible. We caught some time to sleep between 1 a.m and 6 a.m. then the noise started again.

The doors are noisy (it is almost impossible to quietly open or close them) and everyone seemed to slam them at every opportunity. The hallways are like sound amplifiers and it seemed like everyone on our floor loved to shout at everyone else on the floor.

The walls are paper thin, so there is just no escaping the noise. I've lived in quieter Army barracks.

The rooms are OK, but we did notice that the chest of drawers under the TV was only dusted in front. You could see layers of dust a hands length further back.

We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Hello William R,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience from the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. It’s disappointing to hear that your time with us was less than satisfying; we strive to provide the best possible service and the best possible product for our entire guests. Our proximity to Madison Square Garden makes our hotel a very popular lodging option for many travelers, on occasions they bring their excitement with them and forget that they are sharing a space with other hoteliers, we apologies for this inconvenience. We hope that this incident does not eclipse your view of our hotel and the service that we provide, we would like for you to allow us another opportunity to service you. We are looking forward to your next stay in order for you to enjoy our great city and our Holiday Inn Express. Sincerely the Holiday Inn Express MSG Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Just enjoyed a lovely 4 night stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It was my first trip to New York and loved every second. Hotel was in a fantastic location and staff friendly and helpful. Special mention to the young man on the door (wears glasses, not sure of his name sorry) who always went out of his way to help us, especially with hailing taxi's!
Room was cleaned everyday, toiletries and coffee making facilities provided and also a hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Also liked that there was a choice of pillows, firm or soft :)

Will definitely be returning... Thankyou for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Hello Clair K,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience from the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We are ecstatic to hear that your time in our great city and hotel was an amazing one. We post all reviews from Tripadvisor for all our staff to view and they were so filled with joy when they saw your comments about your stay. Thank you so much!!! It has made our day!!! Please come visit us again if you ever find yourself returning to NYC, we would love to have you here. From all of us at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden we again say thank you, safe travels!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#204 of 469 in New York City
2,055 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#149 of 469 in New York City
1,996 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#330 of 469 in New York City
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#110 of 469 in New York City
876 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 469 in New York City
1,915 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#294 of 469 in New York City
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $197 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing